Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

TexasFrance

65 M Austin, TX

I’m looking for

  • Women who like men
  • Ages 40–58
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 7:24am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 1″ (1.85m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Often
Drugs
Religion
Other, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Scorpio, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Dropped out of university
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Okay), French (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
After 20 years in Europe, I moved back to the U.S. late last year to work on a couple of books and see what other mischief I can cause. Just getting settled here, and yes, a lot sure has changed.

I'm a healthy older guy with a bewildering variety of interests in life (which is okay: I'm a writer, so it's part of the job description), loves to travel, talk with brainy people, and cook. I decided at the start of '11 that the only things even remotely worth pursuing are love and beauty, and, with the uncertainty of the former, I'm hell-bent on the latter. And totally open to the former, of course.

Looking for a younger woman who can inspire me and whom I can inspire, who's also old enough to be an appropriate partner. (I believe in the "French number," which is half your age plus 7 as the youngest: most of my friends fit into that slot, and partners have to be friends, too, obviously). If the age thing offends you (as it does some folks) we won't get along anyway. It's what experience has shown me that works best. In short, job description here is friend, lover, and partner: personal, and maybe professional.

You also have to have your own life and interests. Having completed that search will make you the kind of confident, balanced person I'm looking for. The words "tomboy," "geek," and "nerd" are not insults here, either. Tall is good, and so is eccentric, within limits.

I think this is possible. It's almost happened a couple of times recently. It could happen again tomorrow.

So...what are you doing tomorrow? Up for a challenge? Don't be afraid to send a note: I'm an engaging correspondent if the person on the other end of the exchange fascinates me.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm a writer. I've been a writer since I was 16. I really don't see that changing. Along the way, I've done other things, of course: radio, for one, and I've run a couple of magazines. Remember magazines? I also seem to be good at connecting people, although I'm not even remotely interested in monetizing that.

Right now, I've sold a couple of books, which should keep me hopping for the next couple of years. Having written them in the past, I also know that's not a 24/7 proposition if the work's going to be worth saving, so there will be some free time.

I moved to Europe 20 years ago, and I liked it there for the most part, and I think I learned some important stuff about how people should treat each other. Unfortunately, Americans aren't terribly welcome in some places, including France, where I spent the last five years. In my case, I say that's their loss, but the U.S. isn't very friendly to foreigners, either. I'm happy to have learned how to navigate Europe, and look forward to visiting in the future. Wanna join me?
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Writing, cooking, playing with ideas, listening, observing, and translating my observations into words, which frequently form opinions. Listening to people and helping them discover ways in and around situations.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm opinionated. And I don't look like I sound on the radio. (Chances are pretty good you've heard me if you live in the U.S.)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I make my day-to-day living with everything but the movies and the food, so forgive me for not being too specific.

I read a lot of history, fiction (both genre and literary), and travel books. That's one advantage of moving back to the U.S.: English-language bookshops aren't awfully prevalent in Europe.

I don't go to movies or watch TV, although I'd like to remedy the movie end of that.

As for music, it's easier to say what I don't like: opera (for the most part), Latin and Brazilian music (just never got to me), most classical music between, oh, Mozart and Stravinsky, "indie rock," whatever that is.

Same with food. I like what I cook best (Italian, French, Cajun, Indian, Chinese) and what I can't cook I like to eat out (Vietnamese, Mexican, Japanese).
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Travel
Books
Art
Brilliant conversation
Indoor plumbing
Garlic
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
how all of this is going to play out, and what's coming down the pike.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
reading, sometimes listening to music, but generally staying home.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
is that, at the moment, I'm still trying to figure this one out.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
any of this sounds intriguing. Or you think you'd intrigue me. Because you might, you know.