Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


35 M Chesapeake, VA

My Details

Last Online
Oct 6, 2009
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Atheism, and somewhat serious about it
Leo, but it doesn’t matter
Graduated from university
Relationship Status
Seeing Someone
Relationship Type
Likes dogs and likes cats
English (Fluently), German (Poorly), C++ (Fluently), Chinese (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
und ja spreche ich deutsches wenig, aber ich bin nicht an ihm sehr gut.

Every time I try to summarize myself I find that it is either to short to get my point across or its wordy enough to qualify as an autobiography.

I graduated from Old Dominion University with a degree in computer engineering and am working full time as a system administrator. I'm a major bibliophile (I'll read through a good book in a few hours unless I'm careful). I'm also a geek/nerd, though I like to think that I'm the classy or otherwise cool geek/nerd. And yes, I'm very much into Science (all branches, but with a special fondness for physics).

Cooking is something that I've really come to love over the past few years. I like experimenting with different foods while still trying to perfect a small number of core dishes(spaghetti, sauerbratten, beef stew, chicken marsala, chicken / beef stir fry being the core... India is my current experimental focus)

I study Aikido (a Japanese martial art which focuses on locks and throws). It's something I deeply enjoy and has brought me some amazing opportunities. I recently went to Kyoto, Japan for a demonstration and to test for my black belt (which I have received).

I play Chess (reasonably well) and Go (not very well at all). Video / computer games are great, but have their place (I don't like to play them for days on end).

Philosophically I find I have a very Zen outlook, does that make sense?


I am intellectual, spiritual, and halcyon
What I’m doing with my life
Moving forward I hope...

Right now I'm working as a system administrator, running the back end of the system I've been working on for the past two years. It's a bit of an adjustment, but everything I've seen so far is at least a little understandable.

I've been studying Aikido since 2004, and just received my black belt (Oct 2008).

Education wise I'm looking to start my Masters within a year or so, I just need to figure out how to get my work schedule to comply with classes.

I've reached a point in my life where many of the goals I've set for myself (education wise and job wise) have been met, and I've realized that in pursuit of those objectives I have missed out on some chances for love.
I’m really good at
Reading through a book in an unbelievably short period of time, and remembering what I read months (or years) later.

Focusing on a problem for hours at a time.

Not getting upset over things that happen, and otherwise keeping my head on my shoulders.
The first things people usually notice about me
Hopefully its my confidence, but since I've never met myself I can't say for sure. Otherwise it's probably the way I dress, I'm usually in a suit/tie (for work).

I've been told that I come across as reserved, and sometimes overly formal.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Well I'm very much a nerd, so that gives a good idea as to what I'm into culture wise.

I've found that my tastes in books/movies/music/food can be quiet eclectic.

As far as books go I'm partial to fantasy/sci-fi fiction such as Robert E. Howard, H.P. Lovecraft and modern writers like Dan Abnett, William King, Dan Simmons, Mike Mignola, Stephen Baxter and Lian Hearn. I've read some poetry, mostly John Keats but also some Lord Byron.

Non-fiction books I enjoy cover many topics...
science/engineering: any subject, from Psychology to Quantum Mechanics.
Politics: Anything from the Right / Left (even the dogmatic books, which are great for a laugh)
Philosophy: Just about anything... Kahlil Gibran, Pierre Teilhard de Chardin, Saint Augustine, John Muir
History: Any era, though I've been rather interested in Middle East / Central Asia as of late.

I also enjoy web comics... XKCD is a particular favorite, as is Order of the Stick, Dinosaur Comics, Saturday Morning Breakfast Cereal, and Dr. McNinja.

Movies are equally hard to quantify... Action, Thrillers, Sci-Fi / Fantasy, and martial arts movies (the older the better) can all be good. I also enjoy a good 'bad' movie (think MST3K). Some favorites: Ronin (has the best car chase every), Hero (with Jet Lee), Kingdom of Heaven, Pulp Fiction, Braveheart, Anchorman, Walk Hard, Oceans 11, 12, & 13 (though I think 12 is the weak link in the series)...

TV shows:
Firefly, Babylon 5, Burn Notice, Monk, Law and Order (the original, not the spin offs), Survivorman, Dirty Jobs, Battlestar Galactica, Dr. Who.

Music is to diverse to begin to classify. I've yet to encounter a broad group that I didn't like at all. My all time favorite song is "I am the man of Constant Sorrow", which most people find very strange (I know I do). I'm also partial to Bag Pipes, which is probably a genetic condition (owing to my Scotch / Irish heritage).

Some bands / groups I like are:
Apocalyptica - a German string quartet that does covers of metal.
Sarah Brightman - Perhaps the best Soprano I have ever had the joy of hearing.
Linda George - who's song Shabbakh L'Marya is the most sublime musical numbers I have ever heard.

I also enjoy opera(mostly comedies), musicals, and plays.

Food? I like all of it (except fish, which I'm not a big fan of). I like to cook, and so far have had reasonable success (pastas, other Italian foods, pot roasts, potato pancakes). Ethnic foods I've enjoyed include Thai, Indian, Italian, Middle Eastern (their pastries are amazing) and good ol' American. Also, spicy food... but not spicy for the sake of being spicy.

And my morning cup of coffee...
The six things I could never do without
That's a hard bit to say... I'd like to think if I was dumped naked in a strange city without any way to get back home that I'd get along fine. Things in my life that I really value are the Dojo I attend (well the people at the Dojo), the books in my personal library, and the friends I have.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Much of what I think about depends on what I'm currently reading. A good book can inspire my imagination for days or weeks at a time.

If I'll ever find someone to share my life with is another thought that's been making its way through my head as of late.
On a typical Friday night I am
Friday night I'm usually reading a book or watching a movie. Clubs are alright... but I'd much rather spend an evening in a small coffee shop or a bar listening to some live music.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have an unexplained love of lolcats and elephant jokes...

I find it incredibly strange that people call me 'Sir' or 'Mister'... when I watch cartoons and still think that playing with Lego's is fun.

I'm slightly OCD, which only really comes out when I am deep into a project.

I sing along to Viking Metal when in my car.

I'm a sucker for the song "Can't help falling in love"
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 24–56
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
If anything you've just read seems interesting to you.

If you like Science!

If you enjoy trips to museums or art galleries.

If you are a fan of Opera or musicals, or theater in general.

If you like reading a good book (or a bad one) and talking about it.

If you'd like to talk about science, philosophy, history, literature, or just about any topic under the sun.