Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

ThgFc

33 M Honolulu, HI

I’m looking for

  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 29–36
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Oct 17
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Not at all
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Aquarius, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Japanese (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm from Kailua, graduated from Iolani in 1999, and then majored in music at UC-Berkeley. I was on a ROTC scholarship so I ended up becoming a submarine officer after I got my degree. I did the Navy thing for about 8 years (including the last 3 in Japan) until I got tired of it and decided to come back home and go to UH for grad school in geology. I guess my career/life trajectory probably seems pretty incongruous in short form, but I remember it all making sense at the time for the most part. My main hobbies are surfing and playing the tuba, but I also like doing pretty much any sport or outdoor activity, cooking food, and reading books.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I've been at UH for about 3 years now and am working on my Ph.D doing groundwater geochemistry stuff on Maui and the Big Island. I spend most of my free time surfing, playing tuba in community band, reading, and generally loafing. I've had pretty bad luck meeting interesting women my age since I got back to Hawaii so I figured I'd give this a try.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
-Remembering information, mostly useless
-Identifying and occasionally exploiting discrepancies in the standard procedures of life and work
-Making people laugh and feel confused at the same time
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I occasionally get asked by strangers out of the blue if I am OK. I think my natural appearance gives people the impression that I am angry or sad or some combination of the two even though I am generally feeling fine.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books - Catch-22 is probably my favorite if I had to pick (it perfectly captures how being in the military felt to me), but I like books of any era that are dense and psychologically nuanced. My favorites that I can remember reading in the last few years are The Brothers Karamazov by Dostoevsky, 2666 by Roberto Bolanos, Snow by Orhan Pamuk, and The Broom of the System by David Foster Wallace.

Movies - I don't see a lot of movies anymore but I do usually enjoy them for the spectacle and pretty moving pictures even if a lot of them are fairly vapid. I guess Repo Man (1984) is probably my favorite movie but I also own and like several of the old Kurosawa movies.

Shows - I watched a lot of Adult Swim as an undergrad and have a soft spot for a lot of the original lineup (Especially Space Ghost and Home Movies) and their spiritual successors (Archer, Metalocalypse, etc.) I don't have a TV anymore so I haven't seen much new stuff but I imagine I would like some of the newer long form dramas if I watched them.

Music - I grew up with early 90s pop and Hip-Hop and was really into Ska and Reggae in high school and I still like a lot of those kinds of music. As an adult I started like more mellow and indie/electronic stuff as well. I also like "classical" instrumental music of all eras, having had to study it fairly closely as an undergrad.

Food - I'm a reasonably competent cook and try pretty much anything. I prefer spicy food and dislike under-flavored stuff. I'll rotate through what cuisines I prefer at any given time but some of my favorites now are Korean, Indian, and Vietnamese.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
-The ocean
-Playing music
-Caffeine
-I guess the basic stuff like water, food, and shelter. Kind of a tough question for the literal-minded.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
The potentially sublime interaction of Bears and Boomboxes, thanks to a particular The Oatmeal panel several years ago. I'll often get silly abstract concepts of that nature stuck in my head for long periods of time by they generally don't cripple my overall cognitive function too badly.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Sitting around at home reading or watching dumb videos on my phone, stewing in my own juices and thinking about surfing dawn patrol Saturday morning. I'm not opposed to going out and having fun by any means but I just haven't had a good running crew for it since I got back to Hawaii.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I quit drinking several years ago because it became a problem and I was tired of being unreliable and hurting other people. I'm stable and comfortable with it at this point, but if that kind of thing bugs you, steer clear.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you are a relatively stable, intelligent, and physically fit woman who would be interested in getting to know me better after having slogged through my weird profile.