Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


33 Dallas, TX Man


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 24-36
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Nov 21
Post grad
Doesn’t have kids but wants them
English (Fluently), German (Somewhat), Ancient Greek (Somewhat), Latin (Somewhat)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I like philosophy, literature, poetry, classical and country music, debating, helping, laughing, art, wine and scotch, woodworking, walking, swimming, playing bar games (especially air hockey), being outdoors, climbing trees, going to the symphony, etc.

If you are somehow against philosophical conversation, classical music, or being outdoors (whether bike rides or patio bars), probably we will not get a long very well.

I value loyalty, honesty, and intellectual creativity. I like a sense of adventure and openness to new ideas.

I'm not much into movies or bands.

I commute mainly by bicycle, but also have some motorcycles and a case--just in case.

I have a really neat job that's impossible to explain here, but I like to say I'm on the "action end of philosophy!"

I used to look like a Viking but now apparently I look like Philip Seymour Hoffman--upgrade, downgrade? You decide.

I am observant and I like to pay attention, mostly to people and ideas. I think a lot. I pray sometimes; I believe in God, and old-fashioned things like Great Books and Western Civilization. I believe in Saints and Heroes. Saint Augustine is my Patron Saint--as if he didn't have enough to do already!

I listen to poets before I listen to philosophers.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
"I once saw the Lords of Heaven grow visibly furious with me when I tried to be something instead of to learn." -Holderlin

I am simultaneously learning (or trying to learn) how to read, translate, write, teach, edit, build, manage, follow, lead, serve, and love.

I work in communications for a non-profit, and as a freelance writer, sometimes in politics; and manage a nascent arts non-profit.

And I tend to be involved in lots of organizations.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Telling people what they need to hear--in a good way. I'm also a good cook. And I teach well. I'm also a pretty good writer. And I build things.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
That Philip Seymour Hoffman is alive and well and living in Texas. Or my laugh. Or if I'm smoking a pipe, I've been told you can track me like an animal.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: Pindar, Rilke, Holderlin, Jeffers, Hopkins, Herbert, Donne, Dostoevsky, Tolstoy, Dumas, Faulkner, Flannery, Norman Maclean, Aristotle, Plato, Augustine, Goethe, Hegel, Nietzsche, Edith Stein, Bernard Lonergan, Eric Voegelin, Karl Rahner, Henri de Lubac, Ratzinger, Sigrid Undset, Victor Hugo, Dietrich von Hildebrand.

Classical Music: Brahms, Schubert, Dvorak, Mozart, Bach, Beethoven, Wagner, Gorecki, Shostakovich, Penderecki, Rachmaninov.

Other Music: Dylan, Mingus, Jason Boland, Hayes Carll, Wille Nelson, Waylon Jennings, Robert Earl Keen, Billy Joe Shaver, Otis Redding, Donnie McClurkin. Renee Fleming, Jessye Norman.

Plays: Aeschylus, Shakespeare, Miller, Guirgis.

Musicals: Rent. (yep, that category is only here for Rent)

Shows: Arrested Development, Slings & Arrows.

Movies: I don't watch a lot of movies. I think the best one is On the Waterfront. But I also really like Purple Rain.

Food: Tacos, Cheese, Cajun, Middle-Eastern, basically everything.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1. Sacraments
2. Music
3. Books
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Lots of things. But generally: God, Art, Essences, Nature, Human Nature, Love, Beauty, Truth, Service.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
At a play or symphony, or reading at home or at the bar, or hanging out at the coffee shop. Or working.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I have an okcupid profile.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You were anticipating my answer to that question.