Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

TravelinWriter

59 F Roxboro, NC

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 6″ (1.68m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Buddhism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Aries, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Monogamous
Offspring
Has a kid, but doesn’t want more
Pets
Has dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I took a break from dating, but I'm thinking that it might be nice to have someone in my life, so I'm looking again.

Here's a little about me: I am a creative person -- in every sense of the word. I write, love art, dance up a storm, can create a new meal with only a few ingredients and admire anyone who can create music (but admiring is the only thing I can do . . . other than to keep the beat). Give me a new experience rather than the same ol' same ol'. But when it comes to relationships, I'd rather have the person I can count on than the one who's going to shock me after I think I've got everything figured out :-)

I'm a big basketball fan and love to go to the games, where I scream and stand up and make a fool of myself when the cameras pan the crowd. I love baseball, too, but confess that I don't understand football or have the stomach for hockey. Personally, sports-wise, I ride a bike, love walking/hiking, do yoga on a nightly basis, and really like paddling a canoe along a quiet river as much as I enjoy the whitewater rapids in a rubber boat. I have played on a softball team but must admit I wasn't the star player and have been part of a bowling team, but I'm a better Scrabble player than a bowler!

I'm totally color blind and appreciate others who are the same. I feel that we are all enriched by each others' differences, so I welcome the opportunity to get to know those differences.

At this stage of my life, I appreciate new and different trips to parts of the world I haven't yet visited (I've been all over Canada, Mexico, the islands, Europe, Thailand, and Pakistan -- Africa is at the top of my to-do list) and hope to find someone to travel with, to be active, to explore the best of what life has to offer. I would hope that the person I'm with would respect and cherish me, tell me the truth, and find my company so charming that there is no need for any others :-)

In the future, I hope to be barefoot and windblown as I walk along the ocean shore, my mind full of what I'll write next and what I'll cook for the man I love who's waiting at home, watching for me to come in the door, the edges of my jeans wet and sandy, a glass of wine in his hand for me.

Still hopin' . . .

NOTE: IF YOU DON'T HAVE A PROFILE PIC, I will not answer emails. What's fair is fair, gentlemen.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
working as an academic administrator, writing, traveling, and learning how to be a grandmother :-)
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
writing, photography, dancing, yoga, cooking, gardening, and taking care of other people (I volunteer a lot)
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
my self confidence, my blue eyes, my apple cheeks, my hands, my intelligence
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: Anything by Shakespeare, Virginia Woolf or the Dalai Lama, the poetry of W.B. Yeats. What's on my bedside stand right now: Gone Girl, fiction by Chris Bohjalian, books on writing.

Movies: Out of Africa, Casablanca, The English Patient, Les Miserables, Star Trek, Trishna, The Scent of Green Papaya (I love foreign movies)

TV shows: Downton Abbey, Game of Thrones, Camelot, Merlin, The Bougias, The Amazing Race, The Tudors, House of Cards

Music: Bonnie Raitt, The Beatles, Jack Johnson, Adele, Coldplay, Maroon 5; classical (Liszt, Mozart, Beethoven); jazz (Dave Koz, Euge Groove, Rick Sanborn, Fourplay, Boney James); blues

Food: Though I'm basically a vegetarian, I do eat fish and I LOVE to cook! Lobster, crab, anything chocolate, homemade soups, anything with potatoes and cheese, fresh pastas. And pairing with wine (especially pinot grigio) . . . I could go on and on.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
my grandson!; the love of family and friends; the belief that tomorrow will be another day; the joy of writing/reading a good book; music and the ability to dance; the ocean; the sight and smells of spring (okay, that's more than six)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
life, liberty and the pursuit of happYness!
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
either at a movie ot the theater or at dinner . . .sometimes out listening to blues or jazz and dancing . . . sometimes home, cooking myself a good dinner and playing in my garden . . . sometimes babysitting my grandson
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
is that I drive way too fast
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 45–65
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you are an honest, loyal, active person who is ready for a face-to-face visit.