Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Wall_Dawg

27 M Oakland, CA

My Details

Last Online
Jul 26, 2013
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Asian, White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, and laughing about it
Sign
Virgo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
"A human being should be able to change a diaper(*), plan an invasion(*), butcher a hog(*), conn a ship, design a building(*), write a sonnet, balance accounts(*), build a wall(*), set a bone, comfort the dying, take orders(*), give orders(*), cooperate(*), act alone(*), solve equations(*), analyze a new problem(*), pitch manure(*), program a computer, cook a tasty meal(*), fight efficiently(*), die gallantly. Specialization is for insects." - Robert Anton Heinlein. I'm proud to say I've checked off quite a bit of the list so far.

I'm a self described Jack-of-all-Trades who lusts for knowledge and is lucky enough to be able to absorb information reliably from text and start employing it with my bare hands. I use this super power mostly to learn new skills that would be useful in a post-apocalyptic world, or to fill up valuable headspace with useless gaming knowledge.

I went to San Francisco State, and was lucky enough to successfully power my way out in exactly 4 years with a degree in History. I specialized in the late 700s to mid 1200s focusing on the Mediterranean culture exchange between the Abrahamic religions. I particularly enjoyed exploring folklore, superstitions, and fairytales for the time period.

After graduating I moved to San Jose and volunteered full time for two years with City Year, an Americorps non-profit organization that works with youth in schools. Both years I worked with middle school students in East San Jose on two brilliant teams. My first City Year was spent as a math tutor, kinetic science club leader (kites, mousetrap cars, hot air balloons, etc.), and lead program developer for a group of 5th, 6th, and 7th grade students for Spring Camps. My second year I was fortunate enough to be the team leader at the school I served my first year in, helping new corps members run tutoring sessions, their own clubs. As a team leader I tried my best to be the grease that kept the gears turning smoothly during the daily afterschool program (a tall order with 150 hormonal middle schoolers!). City Year was a fantastic part of my life, but when my two years with Americorps ran out, I decided to go it my own for a little while.

Now I'm in an instructor in for another non-profit organization called The Crucible in Oakland. We try to make the fine and industrial arts accessible to people living in urban West Oakland, giving youth and adults a place to learn welding, woodworking, forging, and a few dozen other industrial disciplines. I am the leatherworking department head and teach all of the adult leatherworking classes at the CRU. I also have a studio space where I try to create interesting art pieces from leather and end up just making bags and wallets to sell at craft fairs.

I am also a board game designer and publisher with SlugFest Games. We make quick to learn, fast to play beer and pretzel board and card games and are slowly turning into an actual somebody in the hobby gaming market. If you like table top gaming, you might have heard of us and our best selling game The Red Dragon Inn. If you haven't heard of us, well... now you have!
What I’m doing with my life
Right now I teach classes of 8-10 adult students how to make handbags and belts out of leather at The Crucible. I also work on my own leather shop and design and publish tabletop board games for SlugFest Games. Both of these jobs have me travelling to various trade shows or craft fairs around the country (especially during the Spring and Summer). I love talking with customers, and I love being my own boss. It's a unique opportunity to have an immediate idea of how much hard work results in a good pay off when you are elbow deep in every part of what you do.

If you are interested, you can check out the leather work I do here:
http://wallerleather.tumblr.com/
http://www.etsy.com/shop/RedDragonShoppe
I’m really good at
Cooking. I swore that I would teach myself how to cook when I started college, and have been stellar at scratch building meals from well paired components. Unfortunately I approach cooking more like an artform then a science (dashes and pinches rather than weights and measures) so baking is always a challenge for me.

I also have a knack for hand crafting gifts for people I like. I suppose it comes with the territory of working with leather for a living.
The first things people usually notice about me
When people see me they usually notice the hair before anything else. One time a waiter used a feminine pronoun when addressing me before he saw my face. Admittedly I was with a pair of lovely friends at the time and he did approach the table from behind my head. (Protip: I will not be the Sampson to your Delilah! My facial hair can stay or go, but the mane is a non-negotiable.)

Often people will hear me first. I have what I like to refer to as a "genuine" laugh. Very full, booming even, and just a touch maniacal. It comes with a great smile too.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Authors:
Spider Robinson
Terry Pratchett
Neil Gaiman
Joseph Conrad
Rudyard Kipling
Miguel de Cervantes
Mark Twain

Music:
They Might Be Giants
The Average White Band
The Seatbelts
Steve Martin
Noah and the Whale

Food:
Grass Fed Meat
Raw Salmon
Dim Sum
Spicy Food (Green Curry and Vindaloo a plus!)
Scratch/Homemade
The six things I could never do without
Tea
Feedback
Tools
Curiosity
Games
Internet
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How frustrating it is that you can't be baller at something you love to do right now. The design of my new leather briefcases. Writing for our funded KickStarter project! Why I can't find a genuine, frank, and classy lady to reel me back in and call me on my own bullshit.
On a typical Friday night I am
In my shop finishing projects to take with me to Peralta Junction!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I live for random appreciations and confirmation that folks like me hanging around.

I also have a horrid track record with cameras and photos. I have a great smile, and solid presence, but always look like a doofus in the lens.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 21–40
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You are keen on any of the above or are interested in grabbing a bite to eat or a cup to drink and talking for a spell. If you are also a maker of things. Welders, metal sculptors/forgers, mechanics, and people who make their own clothes get a gold star in my book.

If you're willing to throw down in a game. Scrabble will do nicely, though I am vicious at it. However, if you're a eurogamer all the better. I don't often agree with Plato, but I do live by one of his opinions:

"You can discover more about a person in an hour of play than in a year of conversation."

Or if you are a great communicator and want to fall madly in love, even if for a short while. I love communicators.