Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

WeAreAmused

30 M Palo Alto, CA

My Details

Last Online
Mar 25
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 2″ (1.88m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Leo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Hebrew (Okay), Spanish (Okay), Chinese (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
My friends say that I'm a lot like Hobbes (the tiger, not the philosopher), which I take as a compliment. Goofy and thoughtful; tall and with whiskers (at times); enjoys exploring the woods, playing silly games, and stretching out in front a fire with a cup of hot chocolate and a friend to talk to. I talk endlessly with close friends - about people, science, made up stories, and whatever is on my mind - but less with strangers. I love words and eloquence as much as science and simplicity, so the world is overflowing with magic.
What I’m doing with my life
Analyzing big data sets to catch bad guys. Designing, engineering, negotiating. Learning dialects of broken English while traveling the globe asking for direction and attempting to order at local restaurants through pointing & mime. Teaching, training, and volunteering. Through it all - learning, collecting stories, and having fun. Strangely enough, that's actually my job, or a fair distillation of it, excluding the coding.

On weeknights, you might find me attending a guitar lessons, drawing class (last year), a Mandarin class (two years ago), or a random lecture at the Academy of Sciences (anytime). Recent weekends have included picnics, craft fairs, ballets (watching), painting, rock climbing, board games, baseball games, oysters, hikes, long bike rides, sketch comedy, and tea. I often overbook myself, but spacing the outings with lots of couch time restores me. For all of the outings, the people I go with matter more than the venues we go to. The people don't change often.
I’m really good at
Exploring where I live and wherever I visit. Finding the best, strangest, most comfortable, most beautiful, most delicious: random playground slides sandwiched between SF houses (never too old for a slide), the Portland Chinese Garden (my favorite place to take pictures in the world), that one night market stand with the yummy oyster pancakes. Bringing my friends, so we can all share the fun.

I'm also pretty good at asking questions.

I am also very good at Name That Tune.
The first things people usually notice about me
I have been called "happy" and "a bit goofy." I sometimes say things that make people smack their foreheads and curse, so I guess people notice a lot of sore foreheads around me.

When we first meet, I will probably restrain myself a bit; the goofy part will emerge when we know each other better.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books
One Hundred Years of Solitude, The Great Gatsby, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Siddhartha, The Diamond Age, Heart of Darkness, For Whom the Bell Tolls, and many more. Good prose really does it for me. It's difficult for me to leave a bookstore without buying something - a vice I have failed to correct (hardly tried).

Movies
The Sting; The Shawshank Redemption; North by Northwest; Aladdin; WALL-E; The Good, The Bad and The Ugly; Lawrence of Arabia; Blazing Saddles. Last favorite in theaters: Argo. Via Netflix: MASH. Go-to Sunday TBS feature: Tommy Boy.

Music
Radiohead, The Beatles, Two Door Cinema Club, Paul Desmond, Dave Brubeck, Daft Punk, Bach, and more. Recently, I've attended the symphony (Bach Partitas - pretty awesome), a jazz set by Bela Fleck, and a concert by Justice. Favorites change, but something is often playing in my apartment to match my mood or set it.

Food
Just about everything - Mexican, Italian, and Jewish Deli especially appreciated. After spending three months in Korea, bibimbap is now comfort food, less potent than mom's grilled cheese but not by very much. My family, friends and I splurge on good restaurants, which we savor and search for, though home cookin' is best. I cook well enough to satisfy myself - a low bar, but I'm improving.
The six things I could never do without
Summer on the porch, friends and family to join me there, and a calendar to remind when I'm supposed to go to them. A notepad to patch the other leaks in my memory. I was born in LA, so I'd also have to say my car, but I'm willing to try to go without that one.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
...how to cram all of the fun things I want to do into the weekend.
...how to communicate more effectively with coworkers/friends/taxi drivers/others.
...if I feel like training more for the upcoming race or couch potato-ing.
...what to eat for lunch
On a typical Friday night I am
...doing a little of everything. Some weekends are meant for dancin'. Others are meant for sleep.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
That's tricky; okcupid profile aside, I usually don't volunteer much about myself, but if you ask me a question, I'll probably answer it.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 24–33
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating
You should message me if
You're smart and confident. You can go with the flow, but you can also channel it. You like activities that teach you something new - maybe something about yourself. What passes through your mind as you study a favorite painting, run the last half-mile in a race, or jump off a high cliff into a lake? If you haven't done any of these recently, let's try them together and see what happens.

(my answers are: depends on which painting; I'm going to tear up the track; this would probably be more fun if I opened my eyes)