Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

WeAreBorg_

51 Collierville, TN Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 20–54
  • Near me
  • For new friends

My Details

Last Online
Today – 8:40am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 6″ (1.68m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Aries, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Monogamous
Offspring
Has kids, and might want more
Pets
Has dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a passionate and affectionate man that enjoys an evening at home cuddling with my partner, drinking wine, and watching a movie. I'm equally comfortable being social, and spending the evening with a group of friends. I prefer a more quiet venue, where I can hear what people have to say: a dinner party, house party, or meeting at a cafe's for example. Small talk is fine at work, but socially I prefer witty banter, dry humor, and keeping a keen eye for whats funny in a situation (like that resturant scene in 'When Harry met Sally ;) ).

At other times, I pursue serious topics of conversation, which is why I attend book clubs, debate groups, and attend lectures. Most of my friends are well educated professionals; that's because those are the people I tend to meet. However, there are exceptions andI don't believe class or education level should divide us. I keep myself fit and muscular, running (as a warm up) and lifting weights at the gym 3 to 4 times a week. In addition, I tend to follow a healthy diet, but I don't believe in a strict adherence to one. When i hear the calling of coffee ice cream or Cadbury mini eggs, I come running.

My favorite form of art is ceramics; I'm proficient at throwing on the wheel (Yeah, think of that scene during the movie 'Ghost'). In case you haven't figured it out yet, I sure do love movies, I catch one every few weeks during the summer months.

I've read online that OKC is a general purpose dating site, and that Match.com is more serious. So, let me take a moment to be clear about my intentions. I'm on the serious side of the dating spectrum. Sure, there's nothing wrong with keeping things simple and light; I did include short term dating, it can help pass the time (say no more, say no more, wink wink, nudge nudge). However, my focus is on finding something long term. If you've ruled that out, do me a favor and please go find someone else.

Its been almost 2 years since my ex and I parted ways, and I consider myself ready to date. Please be ready to put your past where it belongs, and be ready to move on with your life. I could ramble on endlessly with a self description and my musings, but instead, I'll end by listing off some of my favorite things.

Favorite candy: Cadbury mini eggs
Favorate romantic comedies: When Harry met Sally
Favorite old romance movie: The African Queen
Favorite superhero: The flash (He's the only one that's having a good time!)
Favorite comedy: Fish called Wanda, The ref, Monty python movies, pink panther movies, woody allen movies like sleeper, so many more...
Favorite sci fi movie: Blade runner, The Matrix, Aliens, Avengers, Sixth sense, oh my, don't get me started
Favorite horror movies: the shining, the exorcist, jaws, seven, Kalifornia, psycho, alien, the ring, the evil dead
Favorite vices: coffee, chocolate, ice cream,
Favorite Hobbies: ceramics, weight lifting, health and fitness, book clubs, debate groups, movie groups, hiking group, investing.
Favorite pet: My Golden retriever, my cats died of old age at 18.
Favorite crazy inconsistent facts about myself: I'm an odd mix, with a PhD in engineering, and a history of competitive body building, wrestling, and power lifting. Spiritually, I'm agnostic/atheist, and yet I served on the board of my congregation and cherish my heritage. I'm considered very thought provoking and intellectual by my peers, but they haven't seen me cheer developments on the walking dead, or giggle at silly jokes on the Daily show.

My circumstances: Divorced, employed, professional, non-smoker, light social drinker, very healthy, just starting to get back into the dating game.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Besides taking care of my kids, I stay fit by running and weight lifting. At work, I have establish warm friendships; we go out together for lunch every work day. On the weekends, I enjoy my book club and discussion group. I always join these groups for dinner, so my weekends are typically busy. I also tend to catch at least one hike or movie as well. I think being alive at this point in history is a blessing, and most people don't realize how fortunate we are. I've chosen a profession that affords me the opportunity to give back to society. I turned down a higher paying position to take the one I have now because I feel so much satisfaction with what I'm doing to make life better for the patients I serve.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
I'm good at finding the humor in a situation and pointing it out. I attend a book club and debate group, and I'm told my contributions are widely appreciated. I've received complements on my skills at massage, and I could mention one more thing, but before I do, I'd need to confirm that you're over 18 ;)
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm very fit and muscular/thin, I like to laugh, and I prefer stimulating conversation, but not work related. I'm told I have a dry and witty sense of humor.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: I'll just mention a few authors; there are too many books: Steven king, Isaac Asimov, Ann Rice, Tom Clancy, Steven Pinker, Richard Dawkins
Movies: soooo many, when Harry met Sally, Aliens, The Shining, Jaws, Sixth Sense, shawshank redemption, misery, blade runner, The African Queen, Lifeboat, 12 angry men, On the waterfront,
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
My kids
My dog
My friends
My health
My mind
My vices: coffee, chocolate, ice cream
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
The topics discussed at my book club and discussion group, my kids and their activities, what to do next with my life, and the nice lady I'm going to connect with here on OKC.

There are stunning cosmic mysteries to contemplate. In addition to some of the simpler topics, such as string theory, dark matter, dark energy, and unified field theory, there are also these quandries:
Why would a woman go to the trouble of filling out a OKC profile, specify that she's wanting a relationship, and when the question comes up, "How willing are you to meet someone from OkCupid in person", she answers "Hesitant". Why is it typically 3-5 dates in theory, but not in practice? Why is that "Special blend" filter option so lousy, it's "Special" in the same way that the "Special Olympics" is "Special".
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
It varies. On most Friday nights I attend a book club and we all go out to dinner together after the discussion. On occasion, I'll have alternate plans, which may involve a date, movie, or house party to attend.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm single, I was married. Oh, there's so much more I could say, but you'll have to get to know me better first :)
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
Ohhh, if you've gotten this far, just be bold and give me a "poke". I'll take it from there if we seem compatible; that said, you can omit the rest of my musings below:

You're a woman that prefers stimulating conversation over small talk. Like me, you have both the time and desire to develop a relationship. Lets take things nice and slow. Ultimately, you want a steady partner, and you'll look forward to savoring the evening hours, the way playful lovers should.

I am admittedly a bit new to the dating scene. My ex and I parted a couple of years ago, but I've only started to try and date seriously over the last few months. If you have advice for me on how to improve my profile, I'd appreciate the input. Thanks for reading.

Oct 30th add:
Very long distance relationships are proving to be a heartache for me. If you're more than 3 hours drive away, then we better have awesome chemistry, and I think it will take an heroic level of effort to make this work. If you're far away and not ready for that, then don't bother. In my estimation, long distance partners often find a local partner and bolt. I don't blame them one bit, but it does take a toll. Yeah, I'm new to dating, I'm making silly mistakes, making the flawed assumptions, but I am learning.