Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

Wheatking62

52 M Calgary, Alberta, CA

I’m looking for

  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 40–50
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Gemini, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Has kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), C++ (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a thoughtful, fun, creative and caring person who has no emotional baggage or unrealistic expectations. I'm ready to share my life again with one special person.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I moved to Calgary in 1993 to do my master's degree in fine art. I now teach art to university students. I also make sculptures, paintings and drawings, many of which are housed in private and public collections around the world. I am working toward a self-sustaining career as an artist and as a tenured university professor (I'm closer to achieving the former than the later because most of the old professors are reluctant to retire).

I was married for 18 years until my divorce 7 years ago. I'm in a very good place now. I'm happy with my life and I have a lot of confidence in the way that my career is unfolding. I now feel ready to share my success with a partner, although I'll be just fine if I don't find the right person for me.

I have NO delusions about finding the "perfect mate" (I would be single forever if that were the case). Instead, I'm looking for a real human being, with flaws and all, who thinks she would like to spend the next few months, years or maybe even decades getting to know each other. Although it would be nice to fall in love again (actually, I think it would be AMAZING to fall in love again), I joined this dating site with the hope that I can meet new people and maybe make a few good friends. To be perfectly honest, I'm not a fan of Internet dating (it's like going online to SHOP for a mate) but life is busy and it's hard to meet new people without using these sites... sigh....
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
I think I'm really good at being attentive and listening to what others have to say. I'm also good at finding creative solutions to almost any problem.

It's fair that I also include what I think I'm bad at: I'm not a great traveller. I always have a good time when I arrive at my destination, but it takes me a very long time to work up the nerve to make my booking. I think it's because there are too many variables when you're traveling and being an artist means that I have an easy time imagining all the things that can go wrong. Short trips to the mountains are quite easy for me, even an extended stay at a beach resort in Mexico (all inclusive of course) is doable, but an overseas adventure fills me with dread! I guess I'm what you might call a "homebody".
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm perceptive and try to help others whenever I can. I'm gentle, caring and romantic, but I'm not a "girly-man" about it. I'm soft spoken, slow to anger and easy to get along with. My work as an art instructor has taught me to have endless patience with people. I have a sense of humour and like to make people laugh, but I can also be fierce, strong and protective when necessary (my Chinese astrological sign is the fearless and compassionate "Water Tiger"). You will always feel safe when I'm around.

Also, I realize that a lot of people on these sites like to claim to be younger than they really are, sometimes up to 10 years younger! Do they not care that every birthday card from here onward will be a lie? I on the other hand am eager to admit that I'm 52 years old and am in better physical shape and am more mentally agile than most men in their 40's. I like to think of myself as a really well-maintained classic, driven lightly and lovingly restored to "near mint" condition (all original factory parts). ;^)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I'm a big fan of the late Douglas Adams. I love his Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy series and Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency. I also like Ann Tyler's novels and, of course, Stephen King.

I like good movies, especially anything by the Cohen brothers. I also like sci-fi movies like Gattica, The Matrix and the Alien quadrilogy. Sometimes, just for laughs, I'll watch cheesy B-movies like Eight-Legged Freaks or Sharknado (I'm not too serious about B-movies, but I do now own Sharknado insurance!).

I enjoy well-written and exciting TV shows like Breaking Bad, Battlestar Gallactica, House of Cards, Game of Thrones and The Walking Dead. I really, REALLY dislike so-called "reality TV", especially the kind where young adults lounge around like lazy cats and scheme and gossip (I think the worst offender is Big Brother, but there are lots of other similar shows that make me want to never watch TV again -- The Bachelor, The Bachelorette -- honestly, I don't see the attraction).

My taste in music is eclectic, ranging from classic rock (like ELO, Supertramp and The Tragically Hip) to alternative music (like AfroCelt Sound System, Buddha Lounge and B Tribe).

I like simple foods, simply prepared and delicious.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
family, art, challenges, beauty, rest, chocolate
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
I spend a lot of time thinking about future artworks that I would like to make. I also like to think about the way things work: the expanding universe, quantum physics, M-theory, human psychology, religion, evolution and sociology. My "Personality" tab says I'm less spiritual than average, which I don't really understand.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
On a typical Friday night I would be relaxing with loved ones in front of the TV or doing something fun. If alone, I would probably be making art.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I sometimes worry that I may have gotten used to being alone (it's been 7 years since my divorce) and that it might now be difficult to share my space with someone else. The fact that I worry about it means that this probably won't be a problem at all. Also, as an art-maker I might be more flexible, more adventurous and more open to new experiences than your average guy.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
I've been doing this dating dance long enough to know that women are the ones who initially do the choosing, whereas men can only accept or reject being chosen. If you find yourself attracted to some part of my profile, I want you to feel secure knowing that I'm a very accepting person and that I would enjoy hearing from you. Or, if you're here to do a little "window shopping", go ahead and ask me any questions that you like and I'll be happy to answer them. :^)