Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


29 Cambridge, UK Man


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 24–36
  • Near me
  • For new friends

My details

Last online
May 25
5' 10" (1.78m)
Body Type
Atheism and laughing about it
English (Fluently), Italian (Fluently), German (Somewhat)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Hi there, I am an Italian 4th year PhD student.

Disclaimer being at my fourth year, I do not have much time for holidays, and it is likely I will leave Cambridge (maybe UK) by the end of this year. Read the rest only if you are still curious and/or interested. (or skip to "you should message me" for further explanations)

Atheist, open minded, with socialist political views and an irrational attachment to foolish ideals. I like to discuss and argue a bit more than advisable: sometimes I just speak out what I have in mind and this might lead to disasters... but I do enjoy my intellectual freedom!
I am a bit more hesitant when it comes to take action: I do like adventures but not the ones that may lead to broken bones and composite fractures.
I like simple and healthy food, and every now and then I try to cook some dish. The result is usually edible.
I dislike the idea of cultural roles, in this sense I agree with feminists. Instinct pushes me into thinking in terms of stereotypes, but I always do that with high self-irony.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
PhD in Computational Neuroscience.
I struggle with my research, yearn for publications on scientific Journals, travel around, and try to figure out what to do with the rest of my life (always open to advice).
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
... learning, I guess, since I am student over here. Secondly I try and do my best in listening and accepting others for what they are... with deep sympathy for those who, despite intelligence and inner richness, just cannot fit in this mad society. I love to understand concepts and reasoning, I am a bit worse in accepting feelings and hunches.

I have a good level of resilience, once I commit to something.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I guess I appear friendly and open, but at the same time somehow introverted and a bit awkward. I am not sure on how geeky I look: probably not as much as I picture in my mind. But I can work on that. ;-)

I hope that, being Italian, people notice that I am a bit more passionate and straightforward regarding many issues... try and ask me about politics :-P

However I don’t look as Italian as I should: for example, you will hardly see me drinking coffee or watching a football match.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Here is a very a random list of authors I liked that come into my mind: Fjdor Dostojevski, Robert Musil, Umberto Eco, Daniel Pennac, James Ellroy (LA Confidential), Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Isaac Asimov, Alejandro Jodorowsky, Neil Gaiman (American Gods, Stardust), J R R Tolkien, Ursula Le Guin, John Irving, Cormac McCarthy (the Road), Haruki Murakami etc

Movies: I enjoy horrors, sci-fi and thrillers full of action and special effects. I also like movies with gloomy atmospheres and the ones related to the dark side of human mind. For example Tim Burton’s films, or movies such as Black Swan, Batman the Dark Knight, V for Vendetta and The Watchmen (but please read the comic, first!)

TV Shows: I like the unconventional ones, with a full storyline rather than episodes. I fondly remember Six Feet Under and The Shield . Lately I watched a bit of Breaking Bad. In general I like inner conflicts and characters struggling with their identities.

Music: a bit of this and that. In the past I really liked melodic Gothic, bands with chilling female vocalists like Nightwish, Tristania, Epica, etc. Now I tend to listen to folk, rock, indie. I don’t really have favourite bands or singers.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Critical sense
Food and (comfortable) housing
State-of-the-art Science
People to talk freely and open-heartedly to
My Camera
( I own a Canon 60D: photography is yet another hobby I’d like to cultivate, any aspiring model out there? )
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Human mind. Not only for my PhD subject, but mostly because I happen to have a mind, and so most of human and non-human animals around me. ( I love how “non-human animals” sounds, it has quite deep implications in it). I like to read about psychology research and understand how does it translate in my everyday life, what it implies and what I should be aware of.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
... I am not clubbing. I don’t like that. I would prefer an open air concert, a folk festival, or a nice dinner and a decent movie to watch... probably a walk under the stars with the right person.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
One of my worse flaws: when a friend is having a fight or struggling with someone else, I do not take sides automatically. Sometimes I try to mediate by putting myself in the shoes of such "enemy".
Also, being a feminist, I do not see dates as entertaining events in which to show off all the best I have (and much more) in order to impress a potential mate. I prefer authenticity and equality.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
Unfortunately this is the part of my PhD life in which I have to focus on my work... but I would still like to chill out and meet nice people. I am open pretty much to anything (platonic friendships included) as long as it is of the low-commitment-no-pressure-no-drama kind. If you are looking for the same, just drop a line, and let's see where it goes !