Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

WinterRye

29 M Pittsburgh, PA

My Details

Last Online
Apr 14
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 3″ (1.91m)
Body Type
A little extra
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Religion
Christianity, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Aquarius, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Medicine
Income
$40,000–$50,000
Relationship Status
Seeing Someone
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, and doesn’t want any
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Okay), Arabic (Poorly), C++ (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I like to think of myself as a kaffeeklatch intellectual. I love sparkling conversation and as an information junkie, NPR is my drug of choice. I have an encyclopedic knowledge of trivia. Activism in faith and politics is a passion, and being well informed is the first step in “Think globally; act locally.” I try to make green choices and love to go into nature to recharge. Rainstorms and fog are particularly awesome. When I was in school I learned to identify trees, bird-songs, animal tracks, constellations and edible plants and that is still a hobby of mine. I can be a geek or nerd, but can also put that part of me aside. I love scifi and fantasy or a good physics joke, as well as video and table-top games. I am decently versed in geek culture. Lastly, I'm spiritual. I'm devout, but not a “bible-thumper.” I believe in tolerance and altruism, and understand people who say they're more spiritual than religious, even though I don't really like that phrase.
What I’m doing with my life
I’m a licensed social worker, and I'm here to help. My undergrad was in child welfare and I worked a few years for local child protective services. For my graduate work I got a prestigious gerontology fellowship and worked in a geriatric clinic. Currently I work for a mental health agency in a depressed region of Pittsburgh. I started as a case manager but recently accepted a position as an adult outpatient therapist. It is meaningful work and I’m thankful I have the chance to make a real difference in people’s lives. I used volunteer at a local hospice and want to go back into that, but I also moonlight as a delivery driver and have no time at present. I also want to get back into activism. As for the future... clinical social work work, maybe hospice. I've also been considering going back for my doctorate and teaching. Lately I've been considering the idea of doing global mission work somewhere for a year or two, maybe more.
I’m really good at
In no particular order: academics,riddles, wordplay, research, empathy, critical thinking, listening, tabletop RPG's, trivia, logic, languages, conversation.
The first things people usually notice about me
I would like to think it is my rapier wit, although, I would have to say my height is another strong possibility.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books:Mostly nonfiction The Cloud of Unknowing, The Seven Storey Mountain, Paris 1919, The Prophet, Wisdom of the Desert, The Conscience of a Liberal, End this Depression Now, Freakanomics, Areas of my Expertise, Dark Night of the Soul, The Art of Fermentation, The first 20 Minutes, The Tipping Point, Outliers, Evil, 1491, 1493, The Medieval Underworld. Some favorite fictional works include Watership Down, Brave New World, Heart of Darkness, The Lord of the Rings Trilogy, and the works of H.P. Lovecraft,

Movies: Pan's Labyrinth, The Mission, Blade Runner, Legend, Boondock Saints, Dogma, Ghostbusters, 2001: A Space Odyssey, The Book of Eli, Harry Potter, Kingdom of Heaven, anything by Monty Python.

Shows:Firefly, Simpsons, Roar, MASH, The Daily Show, Archer, It's Always Sunny In Philadelphia, American Dad, Supernatural, The Big Bang Theory.

Music: Ethnic Electronica, Trip Hop, Indie Rock, World Music, Reggae, Polka, Gregorian Chant, Irish Punk, Bluegrass, Jazz, Classical, Big Beat, Gorillaz. Wagnerian opera

Food: Anything Ethiopian, Mexican or Indian, I also really like mint, apple, almond, pistachio, raspberry,vinaigrette, horseradish, gouda, iced coffee, herbal tea, marzipan, and cabbage.
The six things I could never do without
Again in no particular order:
Animals- I'm an animal lover and vegetarian.
SciFi/Fantasy- The geek in me.
a walking path- or a bike trail, or a dirt-bike trail, or a motorcycle, horse, snowmobile. Some way to travel scenically
the Internet- the sum total of human knowledge and ignorance.
Prayer/Meditation- Vital (incense optional)
Tabletop Games- a great way to spend a friendly evening
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Probably too much time on the big questions. Society as it is and as it could be. Human behavior versus human potential. History, current events, and the future. Byzantine Catholicism. What I should have for dinner. Cthulhu
On a typical Friday night I am
Ideally out with friends enjoying conversation or tabletop gaming. Slightly more likely is being on the computer reading, gaming, or watching a movie. It's also very possible that I'm working.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
This subject is too delicate a subject to talk about early in a relationship but too important to not be upfront about, so I'll stick it here. I believe in waiting for marriage, and am looking for someone who appreciates the same. I realize this cuts down the pool of dating partners drastically, but it is important to me. Also, I'm a romantic. I can be corny and saccharine, but I'm sincere to the core.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 21–29
  • Located anywhere
  • For new friends
You should message me if
You just should. I'll almost certainly respond, just give me some time, because my work schedule is hectic. It's always nice to make a new friend, and if you're in the Pittsburgh area and want to grab coffee sometime and talk about the absurdities of life even better.