Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

WordMechanic01

41 M Brooklyn, NY

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 6:09pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Asian
Height
5′ 4″ (1.63m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Buddhism
Sign
Gemini, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Entertainment / Media
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Happy, successful, honest, curious, equal parts geeky and athletic.

I’m looking to meet new friends to go out, have fun, and explore with, and hopefully find true love with the right person (why not aim high, right?). I believe in letting things evolve naturally, without following some script of how it should all happen.

I love this idea: In the movie Smoke, Harvey Keitel's character sets up his camera in front of his cigar store every morning and takes the same shot at the same time. When his friend says that all of his pictures are the same, he points out that each one is actually unique. Every day is different. This is how I try to live my life, being present and appreciating the magic in each moment, facing whatever happens head-on, aware that enlightenment can be found in the mundane.
What I’m doing with my life
Exploring the world around me, listening to music, reading books, going to movies and plays, riding the stock market, editing manuscripts, meditating daily and doing yoga weekly, living fat and staying skinny.
I’m really good at
Putting together playlists, getting lost in new places, arriving just on time.
The first things people usually notice about me
Hmm . . . people always mention how calm I am and how I don't look my age.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I read a lot of nonfiction and not as much fiction as I’d like, but some favorites include The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle, Everything Matters!, The Glass Palace, 1984, The Outsiders, The Palace Thief.

Movies: I love old movies, especially film noir. I want some theater to have a one-day marathon of Wong Kar Wai’s Days of Being Wild, In the Mood for Love, and 2046 (they're unofficially a trilogy but why are they usually not shown together?). My three favorite movies are Reservoir Dogs, The Godfather, and Blade Runner (which probably reveals a lot about my taste, but please don't judge me on this).

Music: I love all kinds of rock and roll and jazz. Current favorites include Wilco, Spoon, LCD Soundsystem, Matt Pond PA, the Sea and Cake, MMW, Sleater-Kinney, Yo La Tengo, Real Estate. I like this song.

Food: anything spicy and delicious. I love exploring and trying new things. I don't think I can give up bacon, ice cream, or red meat, but I'm trying to eat more healthy and vegetarian more often.
The six things I could never do without
One of the things I love about backpacking is that you only have to think about the basics: food, water, and shelter. Otherwise, it's all about where you want to walk to that day. I do like my things and love coming home after a good trip, but really there aren't that many things that I couldn't live without.

Having said that, six things that I love would be: stories, music, art, food that tastes good, being near water in all its forms, true friends.

If I could pick another, it would be soup. All sorts of soup.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The nature of desire, baseball statistics, travel destinations.
On a typical Friday night I am
Working out, relaxing at home, meeting up with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Don't tell anyone, but I'm actually a lot nicer in person than I am over email or online.

Oh, and about once a year I listen to Born in the USA while on the elliptical machine at the gym.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 25–45
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating, casual sex
You should message me if
You like to have fun and laugh and explore.

You like spicy food and checking out music and theater.

You enjoy running, hiking, riding your bike, and falling asleep on the
grass on a summer day.

You can teach me Spanish or how to be a better photographer.

You're unconventional, independent, curious about the world, and open to the possibilities.

You also prefer not to email back and forth endlessly, but rather meet up in person for coffee or a stroll in the park to see if there's a real connection.