Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


53 La Jolla, CA Woman


I’m looking for

  • Men
  • Ages 40–56
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 7:17am
5′ 6″ (1.68m)
Body Type
Mostly other
Not at all
Other, and somewhat serious about it
Leo, and it’s fun to think about
Graduated from masters program
Relationship Status
Relationship Type
Has kids
Has cats
English (Fluently), Spanish (Fluently), French (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
A motto I like: "You only live once. But, if you do it right, once is enough."

I like to challenge myself and usually have a few pet projects I'm working on. Cannot understand people who are bored, too many things to do for that. I have a full life but make time for the things that feed my soul, which for me usually involves experiencing art/music/film, creating something, time spent with family and friends, and getting out into the world for something physical along the lines of running, swimming, etc.

Enjoy people who are still excited about life's possibilities, are actively engaged in their lives, know what NPR is, and who have taken the time to figure out what delights them, even if that means straying from the beaten path and experimenting a bit.

I haven't outgrown going out to see shows (music), riding the Lambretta I've had for 20 years, or thrift-store shopping . . . and hope I never do. I'm drawn to quirky and original people who've crafted their own style and taste, rather than going with mass/mainstream/off-the-shelf.

Spirituality is important to me, as is living my values and treating others with love, kindness, and tolerance.

I think I'll bookend this little summary with a couple more mottos:

"If you don't dream, you'll never have a dream come true."

"Start before you're ready."
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Working and raising two kids consumes a good part of my waking hours, and I feel very fortunate for both.

Also sporadically plotting how to gather the funds/means to stop working and visit all our National Parks and circle the globe . . . . as a Plan B thinking about destinations for my next (much shorter) vacation.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Turning dreams into reality. And making a list of possible routes between the National Parks.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
That's a tricky question (people think things they don't say) . . . maybe posture?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: Sheltering Sky, Outliers, Snow Leopard, Knitting Without Tears, works by Joseph Campbell, Chekov, Nabokov, Camus, Borges to name a few.

Film: I lean toward Indie films . . . recently saw Boyhood and Der Tunnel. I like a lot of Herzog; French New Wave; Jellyfish; Spirited Away and other Miyazaki films; Dig; lots of documentaries; and so many more . . . films make me very happy.

Music: 60's garage, 70's krautrock, industrial and electronic, ambient, afrocuban and latin (early Os Mutantes)torch singers, early blues and jazz and R&B. A random sampling of my iPod library: Amon Tobin, Brian Eno, Robert Fripp, Radiohead, Daft Punk, Elliott Smith, Boards of Canada, Animal Collective, Nina Simone, Spoon, Dead Can Dance, Television, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, Martin Denny, Les Baxter . . . Music is my drug of choice!

Food: Fresh fruits and vegetables head the list for me - I actually like eating pretty clean, mostly "paleo". Sushi, Thai, and Vietnamese are favs of mine.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Puh-lease . . . only six? Well clearly there are more but music, film, family, fresh produce, my Lambretta, and exercise do hover around the top.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
The mysteries of life, enjoying this moment, how to continue to reach my potential and be the best mother/daughter/friend/citizen of the world that I can be.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Out and about or hanging out with my kids.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I have nary a tattoo.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You are a positive person, enjoy life, are fit and like to get out and about vs. spending copious amounts of time in front of a screen. Please note that by this I truly do mean athletic - i.e. hike, bike, surf, swim, workout, etc. (any one or all) and are outdoorsy.

In the event you missed it: I do not drink . . . but do not mind if you do.

You have young(er) children and/or enjoy kids. Parents just seem to "get it", whatever "it" is.

Feel like you're a little offbeat, possibly misunderstood, but kind of like it.

Have good hygiene.

Understand that chemistry and pheromones are mysterious and elusive, but essential.

Have a picture posted (that is reasonably recent and accurate!)