YesAndMe
37 Toronto, Ontario, CA
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
YesAndMe
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm looking for someone who will entertain me as much as I entertain them. This really is the number-one criterion.

Specifically, I'm entertained by guys who are funny, smart, observant, and playful (and I'd like to think that I have these qualities, as well).
What I’m doing with my life
Balancing career, family, friends, and finding my statistically-significant other.

Personally: Always interested in meeting new people and have new experiences – even better if I can do both at the same time. Recent examples:
Jan 2016: G Adventures' "Peru Multisport" tour! It was my first G Adventure and it was incredible.
July 2015: First time participating in the Friends for Life Bike Rally from Toronto to Montreal (over 600 km in 6 days of riding).

My main creative pursuit is an album I've written which is slowly gathering dust while I see if I can find time to put together a band and rehearse. (Former creative pursuits include improv/sketch-comedy... which is not to say that I'm not still interested, but I've put a lower priority on them because they used to DOMINATE my free time.)

Professionally: I'm a project manager for new medical imaging devices. It's interesting and stressful.
I’m really good at
- Making (most) people laugh
- Organizing things
- Getting out of my comfort zone
- Following through
- Rocking out
- Eating out
The first things people usually notice about me
1. I'm "funny". Whether it's "funny ha-ha" or "funny peculiar" is up to your taste in humour... if you like a dry, near-deadpan humour, then you will think I'm "funny ha-ha"; if you like your humour campy and obvious (or would prefer someone who's completely humourless), then it will be the latter.

2. I talk a lot. It's true: I like talking, and I like hanging out with people who also enjoy conversing, especially about interesting things (i.e. not small-talk, gossip, or celebrity news).

3. That I work out! (I'm part of a bootcamp class that meets three times per week and is 10 mins warmup / 45 mins hell / 5 mins stretching, so this is what I hope people notice.)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music:
After losing track of new music for a few years, I'm committed to keeping up with it again (made easy with reviews and music streaming services). Despite listening to a bunch of albums in 2015, not much has stuck! I did go to Osheaga for the first time this year, so that's something.

FWIW, my favourites from 2014:
- Nux Vomica – s/t) (an album comprised of 3 epic metal tracks)
- Sun Kil Moon – Benji (honest, acoustic rock)
- D’Angelo and the Vanguard – Black Messiah (an incredible album that dropped just before the end of 2014. Beatlesque hooks.)
- Helms Alee – Sleepwalking Sailors (sludgy, heavy, melodic rock)

(And here are some of my all-time favourite bands:
Sloan, Fucked Up, Ben Folds Five, Sufjan Stevens, Weezer (Pinkerton #1, Blue Album #2, then... that's it), Andrew WK, The Decemberists, and The New Pornographers.)

Books:
Full disclosure: I currently don't read any fiction, as my reading is focused on work. I'd love to read more – I just don't take the time, right now. Would you like to recommend anything?

I have started making a bit of time for comics. I bought trades for the first time ever, this year: Saga, Sex Criminals, and Deadly Class.

Movies + Shows:
Okay, more disclosure: I don't watch any TV and rarely watch movies.

But what about Musicals?
- Book of Mormon is great.
- Avenue Q is amazing.
- Hedwig and the Angry Inch, which I saw on stage and then as an excellent movie.
- [title of show] is one of the most inspirational/funny things I've ever seen.

Food:
I don't cook. But I like to eat. Out. A lot.
The six things I could never do without
In no particular order,
1. Friends and family
2. Creative outlets
3. My glasses (really, I'm extremely myopic)
4. New experiences
5. My iPhone (in addition to communication and life-savers like Maps, I do a lot of creative/productive stuff on my phone)
6. NEW: Bootcamp class! (Formerly "Squat racks", I've put weightlifting on hold for now.)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Whether I'm doing the right thing right now.
On a typical Friday night I am
Instead of answering this question, exactly, here are some experiences I would like to share with my guy (any day of the week):
- Going to concerts at small venues around Toronto (e.g. The Garrison, The Phoenix, Lee's Palace, The Horseshoe).
- Canoe-camping.
- Going to hipster-ville (e.g. west Queen-west, Dundas-west) for interesting beers/locales.
- Seeing musicals/theatre at big or small venues.
- Competing in a City Chase (a low-budget Amazing Race around Toronto that happens every summer).
- Riding bikes around Toronto for business and pleasure.
- Playing board games.
- Getting dressed up for a night out (e.g. at the Reservoir Lounge).
- Spending an afternoon in Kensington Market.
- Cuddling.
- Travelling, with a preference for adventure over tourist traps.
- And, sometimes, getting suuuuuper drunk at a bar/club/karaoke.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'll tell you in person! (Or, "IRL", if that's how you roll.)
You should message me if
1. You like this profile, you like the looks of me, and you are any of stocky/hefty/chubby/burly (with facial hair as a bonus): wanna go on a date?

2. You like this profile and do not fit that physical description; I am still completely interested in meeting like-minded people for a non-date.

To all respondents: I just ask in advance that you follow through on whatever gets planned/decided. I know that sometimes it can't be helped, so, if you do need to cancel, it will make me very happy if you do it like this: "Hey, really sorry, something came up! But how about [suggestions for alternate days to get together]."
More