Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

_MrDarcy

43 M Brooklyn, NY

My Details

Last Online
Today – 3:28am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Aries, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Other
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I am a native New Yorker, born and raised in one of the cooler neighborhoods in Brooklyn back before it – or even Brooklyn for that matter – was remotely hip. Now I live in Park Slope and couldn’t be happier with my neighborhood. My family means the world to me and I have dinner with my parents (still together after 45 years) at least once a week. If we’re lucky, one or both of my younger brothers will be in town and they’ll join. I’ve followed a type A career path dating as far back as junior high, but in my heart of hearts I have always been a writer and I’m pleased to say that I’ve recently become much more serious about pursuing that particular passion. (Apparently, I have also become a big fan of alliteration – not to mention parenthetical comments – along the way.) All in all, I'm pretty happy with life these days; all that's missing is the right partner to share the journey.

I am also: equal parts nerd (another thing that I could claim long before it was remotely hip) and sports-loving boy; an English major (can’t you tell by my username?) who got my MBA right out of undergrad; and a cynical, sarcastic city boy who can’t watch certain sitcoms because I feel too much empathy with the characters.

Politically I lean left, but half my friends are dyed-in-the-wool Wall St. Republican types.

For years, I thought of myself as Catholic due to my roots, but one of my brothers came out ten years back – and if the church isn't down with him, I’m not down with it. "Agnosticism" it is!

Perhaps most importantly, I like to think that over the years I’ve learned to focus more on the journey and less on the destination. I find life’s a lot more fun that way. (Who’da thunk it?)
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
It's been an interesting journey so far. I started out as one of four white kids in a Brooklyn public elementary school, then rode the subway for an hour each way to a magnet school on the UES, completed an Ivy League English degree, got my MBA right out of undergrad, doggedly worked my way into I-banking and... hated it. I mean feel-your-soul-oozing-out-your-pores hated it. So, I left to join the NY startup scene back before it was the cool thing to do (I'm starting to think being a few years early is a trend with me...) and worked on two different ventures before leaving late last year to hang up my shingle as an independent consultant to early-stage businesses. Recently, one of my clients asked me to join as CFO on a part-time basis and things couldn't be better - I spend half my time working with an exciting team at a fast-rising company (that also happens to be making a real difference in the world) and split the remainder between a few other projects, including my writing. I think it may just be my ideal mix.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Writing, listening, providing sarcastic commentary to other drivers/players on the teams I root for when they do something infuriating (much more cathartic than yelling), problem solving, giving tours, kissing (I would offer to provide references, but that would be creepy), Scrabble, quirking one eyebrow, noticing things, parallel parking.

Making lists.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Hmmm. Well, I don't make it a habit to survey everyone I meet, but those who have chosen to share generally mention my broad shoulders or my blue eyes.

Then again, my most recent girlfriend thought my eyes were green (I mean they change depending on the light and what I'm wearing, but not THAT much) until about three months into the relationship, so who knows...
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books (well, really authors): Dickens, Austen, Carr, Pearl, Tolkien, Rowling, Jordan.
Movies: Pride & Prejudice (both the Garson/Olivier and the Ehle/Firth versions - NOT the Knightly version), I Know Where I'm Going, The Shop Around the Corner, Goodbye Mr. Chips, 12 Angry Men, North by Northwest, The In-Laws (Falk/Arkin version, NOT the Douglas/Brooks version), Raiders of the Lost Ark, Swingers, The Big Lebowski, Old School, Wedding Crashers, the Lord of the Rings trilogy and of course the Harry Potter films - they're cinematic comfort food.
TV: Masterpiece Mystery!, Downton Abbey, The Wire, The Daily Show, the Colbert Report, Law & Order reruns, the Big Bang Theory. Honestly, I tend to watch more movies and sports than "regular" TV.
Music: a surprisingly wide range from classical to big band to 80s pop to hard rock to electronica.
Food: not a big fan of most seafood (although I do like tuna and scallops) or squash, but other than that I'm not too picky.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Since this section would be pretty boring if we all simply repeated the truly important things like family, friends, oxygen, water, food, shelter, etc., I'll go with:

- My white noise machine. I am a very light sleeper.
- All things Apple. After years of shaking my head at the self-important hipster fanboys who worshipped at the iAltar, my brothers eventually convinced me to switch. God help me, I even use Excel on a Mac now.
- Wash & fold. It's not even that I mind doing the washing; it's the folding that gets me. I don't know what it is, but something about that particular repetitive task drives me up the wall.
- Sunblock. It's pretty bad - I may be part vampire.
- Good food and drink. Hey, this counts - GOOD food and drink is different than the basic sustenance I was describing above.
- A gym membership. Keeps me sane. (Also allows for more frequent enjoyment of good food and drink.)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Work and my writing (after years of saying "I'll do it when I have time" I'm now actually working on it - I'm up over 200 pages on something I really like).
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Having drinks with my old finance buddies. Meeting my former business partner for dinner. On Metro North headed upstate to my parents' country place. Out on a date. At home sprawled on my couch recovering from my week. Hunched over my laptop jamming away on my book, because I'm on a roll. (Thought I'd list a sampling of the possibilities rather than go with the clichéd "there is no typical Friday night".)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm pretty open - you can ask me just about anything and I'll likely give you an honest answer.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 31–37
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You are: smart, sweet, sarcastic, and occasionally silly (I did warn you about the alliteration!); kind, loyal, and driven in your chosen field (whatever it may be); and, because at the end of the day none of this matters if there's no physical attraction, fit, reasonably active and cute as a whole sewing basket full of buttons (to me anyway).

I should also probably add that if you don’t want kids, are a religious fanatic, practice an extreme diet, vote Tea Party or have lied about anything in your profile/posted deceptive photos, we probably aren’t a good match – and if that’s the case, I absolutely wish you the best of luck finding someone who is a good fit for you! (For the record, my age, height and everything else are all accurately represented.)