Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

_econ_guy

27 M Oakland, CA

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 4″ (1.93m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly kosher
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Gemini, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on masters program
Job
Education
Income
$100,000–$150,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Speaks
English, C++ (Poorly), Latin (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm a nerd in his nascency. I spent most of my life in LA and came out to the Bay Area for my first job out of college.
I am the youngest of three with two older sisters. The youngest sister recently made me a proud uncle.
Beyond my job and school, I enjoy hiking, swimming, and golf.
My other recreational activities usually include theatre (movie & musical). I follow the NFL pretty regularly and go the ballet once a month.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a research analyst for a group of very eclectic economists in SF.
My average day could involve data mining Twitter or it could involve forecasting the next financial crisis. In short, most of my work life involves making or looking at statistical tables.
That being said, I have a genuine passion for my work and take pride in the fact I have been published in prestigious journals as well as prominent periodicals such as the Economist and the WSJ.
I'm doing an MS in Statistics at Stanford. Next up ... an MBA at Berkeley.

With regards to my physical activities, I am trying to branch out and try new things despite the occasional setback. My first year in the bay area, I broke my foot in two places rock-climbing. I am currently licking my wounds after tweaking my MCL running but am still planning on being in a human centipede for Bay to Breakers. I also recently started doing aerial silks and ropes.
I’m really good at
-Listening and being non-judgmental
-Math
-Trivia
-Lifting moderately heavy objects
-making a fool out of myself/laughing about it
- using really kludgy code in a bunch of different programs
-knowing when to stop and ask for directions
The first things people usually notice about me
-More recently, my vibrams.
I am tall and have a deep voice.( I've been told I actually do a pretty good Barry White.)
My sense of humor. I have strong tendencies for:
-self-deprecation
-esoteric references
-lame puns
The other thing people tend to notice about me is that , at least according to them, I have a near eidetic memory. I have a nasty tendency of quoting people to themselves.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Note (I consider these the basis vectors of my interests. By no means should they be deemed an exhaustive list.)
Books:
- Flowers for Algernon
-East of Eden
-Freakonomics
-Macbeth
-Dune
-BOMC
-Frequently Asked Questions in Quantative Finance
-The Economist
Movies:
-Anything Disney or Pixar
-Before Sunrise, Before Sunset, & Before Midnight
-Defending Your Life, Mother ( Almost anything pre-2000 with Albert Brooks)
-Pi
-The Day the Earth Stood Still
-The Adjustment Bureau
-Scott Pilgrim
-Zombieland
Recent Movies:
The Sessions, Looper, This is 40, Silver Lining Playbook
TV:
-Buffy,Breaking Bad, Mad Men, Farscape , Dexter, Chuck, Firefly,-Arrested Development, Scrubs, Burn Notice, White Collar, Suits, Once Upon a Time, House of Cards, House of Lies
Music:
Frightened Rabbit, Bon Iver, Band of Horses, The Ramones, Queen, Slow Club, Sam Sparro, Cake,Phantom Planet, Cassettes Won't Listen, Metric, Of Monsters and Men
-Sinatra
Musical Theatre:
-Wicked,Rent, Les Mis, and The Producers
The six things I could never do without
-avocados
-RSS feeds
-gym card
-foam roller
-friends and family
-my ethics and morals
I spend a lot of time thinking about
-Fake careers and aliases for dinner parties/ whether or not these careers have potential
-Optimization ( e.g. What's the best way to stack a group of cans)
-Arbitrage( How to make riskless profit)
-Math
-Economics
-The implications of things like this
http://www.smbc-comics.com/index.php?db=comics&id=2787
On a typical Friday night I am
Happy Hour and a Chocolate Tasting Committee with my coworkers. Afterwards, I will see a new movie, play, or ballet.
If it's been a rough week, I may treat myself to a massage.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
-For those of you who like Arrested Development, the Magician's Alliance is a real thing. My father and I are both lifetime. (Caveat: I am a terrible magician.)
Despite numerous attempts in my 20s, I still can't ride a bicycle.
*** Update I've finally learned how to ride a bike. I am now in training to complete my first triathlon.
-When I am really bored, I will start counting primes in my head.
- I go to to Bar Method/Dailey Method.
*******
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 21–36
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
Romantically, I am looking for something of substance in the medium term with the possibility of becoming more.
Preferably, you are tall, well-educated, and have an active lifestyle.
If any of the following resonate with you:
*****
-You are an order muppet. (see link)
-You are a bit of a nerd.
-You would like to play golf.
-You think Cake's "Short Skirt Long Jacket" describes you.
*****
I am also genuinely looking for new friends. So if you are looking for a brunch date, a hiking partner, or a theater companion, I am open to meeting new people.
I am learning how to dance. So if you want to experience your own version of Strictly Ballroom/Silver Lining Playbook, feel free to send me a message.
I've also become interested in the aerial arts ( trapeze, silks, etc.) If you'd like to learn acroyoga, I'd love to have a partner.
******************************************
-You'll show up.
-You feel comfortable saying no.