Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

_mattyc

43 M San Francisco, CA

My Details

Last Online
Apr 14
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 2″ (1.88m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly vegan
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Other
Sign
Leo, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Other
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I love making music, indulging in food and wine, hanging with my
eclectic group of friends, and thriving on newness. I've have a passionate spirit and a compassionate heart. I have been a voracious traveler for the last 10 years but am sorely overdue. One of the best things I've done that I'm most proud of is fund raise for and direct the rebuilding of a Thai village in the months after the '04 tsunami. The big gift for me there was the incredible insight into how people show up in times of great stress and challenge, yet no one has anything to gain (nothing like crisis to see what people are made of). I have loved and lost and loved, each time figuring out some new piece to teach me how I need to be to make it work well. I have a ton of different interests, with music being by far the crown jewel, both seeing and playing live shows. I get out every weekend but am equally a total dinner-couch-movie guy. I run my own business, I'm a reader, I'm an amateur political and public policy pundit (wow lots of p's there), my cooking is getting more sophisticated (and vegetarian, but I still eat everything), I have a huge list of restaurants I'm working my way through, and as of last week was Googling around for improv schools. Who knows, sounds fun. :)
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a software guy that in the last few years moved from engineering to working with patents. The difference between working with engineers and attorneys? Lots of remote work time and very little communication. This is good if you want to work from your livingroom in, say, Tokyo.

I've also been playing guitar most of my life. I don't watch TV so I can usually be found at nights practicing or noodling songs. I made a record and gigged a bunch last year with a blues band but this year I've been rocking out with a jam band. Such an indulgence, and way too much fun, really.
I’m really good at
Having fun where I am, my work, having a great conversation, making people laugh, playing guitar and singing, kissing, smiling and laughing, being a giver, and talking to almost anybody about anything.
The first things people usually notice about me
People tend to comment on my smile. Or my laugh. Or on a good day its general energy. If you're in shouting range, I'd say you'll love or hate my irreverent sense of humor, but you'll probably notice.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I love the classics, especially 20th century authors. I had my stint with Vonnegut and Bukowski. I love how Hemingway is punchy, I love Tom Robbins' eloquence and how both paint unbelievably imagery. Chuck Klosterman's Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs is def one of the funniest book I ever read. The daily reads are the NYT, Huffpost, and a zillion other sites. The weekly is Rolling Stone, and the nightly is my kindle, which is loaded with books for a year or two. I just got through "a short history of nearly everything". A-may-zing, if you like the mysteries of science ala Hawking.

Movies: I love going to the movies and really love Netflix. So many good ones...Limitless was awesome, can't wait to see Midnight in Paris and Drive. I also rent a lot of documentaries these days but that has to be tempered lest I start building a shelter for the armageddon.

Music: I have a degree in music composition, so I appreciate all music - good is good. I am a part of and love the local music scene. I do like to keep on the pulse. My secret source? KCRW via iTunes. The best, most hip, most fresh radio in the country. Serious. Some of my recent faves are SBTRKT, White Denim, Vetiver, and Portugal the Man. I saw My Morning Jacket 3 times this year, they figured it out and hit their stride. Ryan Adams is amazing. And love me some Grateful Dead, Phish, and most things jammy.

Food: Sushi, Thai, all nuts, blueberries, chocolate anything. But really pretty much everything, save for eggplant.
The six things I could never do without
My guitar, good health, my friends, my family, sleeping in on a lazy sunday, optimism.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Understanding my own mechanics, love, sex, people and how they are, reciting and singing music, politics, economics, patents, new technologies, what I want to do next.
On a typical Friday night I am
There is no typical. However I usually am out through the weekend. That can look like a show (my usual favorite), a new restaurant, a movie, dinner at a friend's place, a house party, a bar.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I can wear my favorite jeans for days on end. A habit from the days of traveling light, backpacker style.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 32–40
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
Things I like are being smart, funny, positive, undramatic, what-ya-see-is-what-ya-get, a giver, kind, generous, quirky, conscious, articulate, and sexy.