Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

_soccerdad

57 New York, NY Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 30–50
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 1:27pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Other
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has a kid
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly), Portuguese (Poorly), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Hi there! Thanks for stopping by to check out my profile.

My close friends would say I am young at heart and spirit, intellectually curious and adventurous.... always seeking to new experiences, new challenges. I would say I am an activist at heart, initially a bit shy, low key, more of a listener, and someone who takes the time to enjoy the simple pleasures of life like nature, an open starry night, an interesting conversation, and the artwork that surrounds us all the time but which we are too busy or distracted to notice. For sure, I never take anything for granted and always appreciate what I have. I am open minded, honest and loyal. I enjoy all kinds of outdoor activities such as running, climbing, biking, tennis, hiking, cycling, skiing, soccer, ultimate frisbee, and the ocean. I love films and am an aficionado of NYC's vibrant artistic, cultural, and food offerings.

I love traveling (who doesn't?) and have lived in seven different countries.

Professionally, I have been working in the NYC nonprofit arena for the past 20 years directing and developing programs that serve vulnerable populations for organizations that focus on social justice, reducing poverty and improving people's health.

My work, music, books, art, photography, physical activity, adventure, traveling, a lively conversation, and most of all - my son - are my passions.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Hopefully making a difference.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Conjuring up interesting and tasty meals (used to be a chef in a past career). Making a great cup of coffee. Listening. Making music compilations (used to be a DJ too). Photography. Getting along with people. Connecting people.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
You tell me.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
My favorites... I have so many...

Publications - New Yorker, Transition
Authors - Jose Saramago, Pramoedya Ananta Toer, Paul Theroux, Patti Smith, Kurt Vonnegut, Jhumpa Lahiri, N'Gugi Wa Thiang'o, Junot Diaz, Vladimir Nabokov, Ralph Ellison, Thich Nhat Hahn. Currently reading The Elephant's Journey by Jose Saramago.

Movies - I love foreign, documentary and independent films. Favorite directors - Coen Brothers, Jim Jarmusch, Tarkovsky, Scorsese, Tarantino, Miyazaki, Almodovar, Fellini, Lars von Trier. Some favorite films: Beast of the Southern Wild, The Graduate, Down by Law, Oh Brother Where Art Thou, Taxi Driver, Momento, The Sacrifice, Blade Runner, 8 1/2, Requiem for a Dream, No Direction Home, Night on Earth, Pulp Fiction, Stranger Than Paradise, Like Water for Chocolate, Mystery Train, Woman on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown, Ponyo, Spirited Away, Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind ....

TV - don't watch much but when I do it's usually Luther, Stewert, Colbert, Nova, Frontline, Masterpiece Mystery .....and the occasional English premier league, Barcelona, Real Madrid, and international football (soccer) tournament matches.

Radio/Internet - I'm an avid listener to all things NPR (WNYC), BBC, WKCR, WFMU, WBGO, Ted Talks, and radio stations from around the world through the internet.

Food - I love really dark chocolate. I also love exploring all different cuisines (although I don't eat meat) - especially spicy (not necessarily hot) food, and love exploring NYC's treasure trove of hole in the wall small neighborhood ethnic restaurants especially in Queens and Brooklyn. I just discovered this hole in the wall falafel place in mid-town. The owner (Israeli) said his falafel was the best in the world. I've eaten my share of falafel in my life, and you know, he may be right.

Music - I have a broad range in tastes. I'm a huge fan of Latin, African, Brazilian, Jazz, 60's and 70s Reggae, Indy, Blues, Jazz, Funk, Dub, Flamenco, Rockabilly, Punk... Some favorites: first and foremost - Bob Marley, John Coltrane, Miles Davis, Bob Dylan, Patti Smith, Salif Keita. Others...Fela, Antibalas, Yousou N'Dour, Bill Withers, Cat Stevens/Yusef Islam, Puccini, Mozart, Itzak Perlman, Maria Callas, Kiri Te Kanawa, Salma Habib, Joe Arroyo, Sinatra, Fairuz, Astor Piazzolla, Marvin Gaye, Stevie Wonder, LKJ, Manu Chao, U2, The Roots, Fania, Tico, Alegre, Buika, La Lupe, Celia Cruz, Elza Soares, Cassandra Wilson, Marisa Monte, Caetano Veloso, The Clash, John Lee Hooker, Big Mama Thornton, Black Keyes, Jack White, Lhasa, Joni Mitchell, Nick Drake, Norah Jones, Hank Williams, on and on.... Love going to shows in Brooklyn bars/clubs and at Linclon Center, Celebrate Brooklyn and Central Park Summerstage..

Art- If I had to pick a few favorites off the top of my head- Debuffet, Basquiat, Pollock, Francis Bacon, Egon Schiele, De Kooning, Kara Walker, Frida Kalho, Robert Mapplethorpe, Vermeer, Picasso, Rembrandt

Theater - love off, off Bway; anything edgy and challenging.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Aside from the usual, family, friends, fresh air and water....
Art
A camera
My passport
Good music
Good books
Stimulating conversation
Periodic silence
The ocean
The vibrant colors of New York's autumn

Yeah, that's nine.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
How I can make a bigger difference.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
I have no typical Friday nights. I enjoy spending the evening with friends over a good meal, wine and conversation; going on food adventures anywhere in the city; checking out an outdoor concert; going to a good film; or taking walks when the weather is nice and eating outdoors. Lately I have been going to MOMA fairly regularly for their free Friday nights.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
For me to know and you to find out!
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
If anything I wrote resonates with you. Hopefully you are physically active, inquisitive, passionate, love the outdoors, and the arts and see New York City and its surrounding environs as an opportunity for exploration and adventure on many fronts. Extra points if you love hiking, playing soccer and/or tennis, and surfing/body surfing.

Add a photo to:

Stay fresh with Instagram

Are you sure you want to delete this album?

Where's your photo?

Drop it like it’s hot

Photos must be at least 400 x 400px
Edit thumbnail
Add a caption

You look fantastic!