Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

_affineur

30 Pasadena, CA Man

Man

Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 24–34
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Today – 1:22pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism, and laughing about it
Sign
Aquarius, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Rather not say
Status
Single
Type
Monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Hi! My name is Trevor. I like my beer hoppy. I love the rain. When asked what I wanted to be when I grew up, I would always reply "MacGyver." I’m always trying to improve myself and I love nothing more than learning. I have always loved music, so a couple of years ago I started learning to play the piano. I love food so I have also started curing my own charcuterie, making my own cheese and doing a bit of pickling. I love to swim.

Right now I’m enjoying life as much as I can. I love what I do every day and it keeps me busy, but I still make sure that I keep balance between work and my life outside of work. Although I can be a bit of a homebody at times, I still go out often and enjoy a variety of activities like a culinary adventure at an out of the way ethnic restaurant, a baseball game at Dodger stadium, a day at the races at Santa Anita, or a jazz show at the Blue Whale.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm finishing up my Ph.D. in Bioengineering at Caltech. A bit more specifically, I use light to interact with biology in many ways, and I'm developing technology to better understand how the brain works. In an interesting past project I was attempting to utilize light to stimulate neurons in mouse brains (essentially, working on mind control), but now I'm developing probes for measurement of proteins in deep brain structures.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
A lot of things, including:

making preserves. Pickling, jam making and curing (you've got to make your own bacon, so much better than store bought),

accents. I can produce many convincing accents, but my best by far is my Indian accent,

coming up with that obscure fact which allows us to double down in pub trivia (yes, I do know all the flavors of pez),

cooking, old school braising, sous vide, barbecue,

building fantastical things. Once I built a set of mind-controlled Rockem' Sockem' robots for an outreach event at my university (the kids loved them, until someone tried to take over the lab with them).
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I have a distinctive white spot on the right side of my beard. I've been told it's "mesmerizing."
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Food: Food is very important to me... I love to explore new types of cuisine and try new restaurants around town. DineLA is pretty much a holiday for me and my friends. I'll happily eat pretty much everything, but my favorites are Chinese, Japanese, French and Mexican (mmmm... tacos al pastor).

Music: I mostly listen to Flamenco, Latin, Jazz, Classical, and sometimes a bit of Funk. I've been playing Latin and Jazz piano for a few years.

Books: I have a tendency to read two or three books at once. Right now I'm reading a bunch of non-fiction with an occasional foray into Cooking with Pomaine.

Television: I have a weakness for sitcoms and food-themed reality shows (Top Chef, Hell's Kitchen, most anything Bourdain). My favorite TV show of all time is the Prisoner (it's something about that 1960s-era fear and mystique of communism and mind games that I love).
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
* My family & friends,
* My library (including my kindle),
* Something delicious on the grill,
* Something sour from the Lost Abbey (the greatest brewery in the world, Tommy Arthur is a beer genius),
* My electric piano,
* And of course, my Global chef's knife.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
what I'm going to have for dinner, why Garfield hates Mondays so much when he doesn't have a job, and pedestrian things like the inner most workings of the universe.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
typically at home relaxing and catching up on TV after a busy week. I'm usually more adventuresome on Saturdays.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I trade jam recipes with my mom.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you swoon at the sight of a man in a lab coat *wink*

Seriously, though, you should message me. Waiting for the guy to send the first message is so 20th century.