Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

amethyst_haze

29 M Chicago, IL

My Details

Last Online
Today – 4:37am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Hispanic / Latin, White
Height
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Often
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Virgo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Open relationship
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has a kid
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I am a well-educated, egalitarian tech-head with a healthy dose of bon vivant and doddering mad scientist in there to boot. I enjoy getting excited about the world and doing something about it.

ENTP, for those playing along along at home.

I enjoy traveling whenever I get the chance, even though it is not as frequent as I would like. I prefer to see how people in other areas live and create culture, rather than go to a bunch of tourist attractions.

My main forms of entertainment these days are reading and music. My music tastes veer towards ambient/industrial, and and my literature towards science fiction. However, I am always interested in anything that makes me challenge my own beliefs, and strongly believe that is the best way to grow as a person.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I have transitioned from the point in my life where I am searching for meaning in my life, to the point where I am expanding to fill the roles that I have carved out for myself.

I am especially happy with my chosen career; as a software engineer I get to solve various engineering and math problems all day and get paid for it. I majored in Mathematics and Computer Science in college at the University of Chicago, so it was pretty probable that I would go down this path.

I am also a very proud father of a little girl. I spend a good deal of time thinking about how to arrange things best for her future, and as much time as I can being a Dad.

I enjoy creating things in whichever way I can, and talking about how to shape the future. I have been involved in community non-profit organization here in Chicago, and my personal interests still revolve around using technology to promote positive social change. I am looking for a good way to do this without getting too cynical.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Shuffling data from one place to another. I have managed to parlay this into my career, and I am quite happy about that!

I am not much of a planner, and this translates into my cooking being a chaotic experience. In conjunction with this, I am pretty good at assessing available resources and pulling off a good three-course meal off the cuff.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
That I'm one rapier short of a musketeer.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I have largely outsourced these to other sites.

Authors I am fond of include Gene Wolfe, George R. R. Martin, Richard K. Morgan, Terry Pratchett, Philip K. Dick, Charles Stross, and Vernor Vinge. Much more on my Goodreads profile. Always looking for a good recommendation.

Movies: I don't really watch movies much. Perhaps I should fix that.

TV Shows: Being Human, Archer, Batman Beyond, Twin Peaks, Stargate (SG-1, Atlantis, Infinity). I don't really worry about TV much since I've already read the books for the more popular stuff (Walking Dead, Game of Thrones). I am currently working my way through Battlestar Galactica because I live in a vacuum.

Music: My tastes revolve around ambient, indie rock, and industrial, including Coil, Throbbing Gristle (Basically anything Peter Christopherson ever touched), Roxy Music, Talking Heads, David Bowie (basically anything Brian Eno ever touched), Controlled Bleeding, Light Asylum, Crystal Castles, Prurient, Cold Cave (anything either Dominick Fernow or Wesley Eisold ever touched) and much more that I can't reckon right now. More at Last.fm.

Food: I love cooking. I'm grateful that my CSA prompts me to get a much larger variety of vegetables into my diet than I might otherwise, and makes me get creative. My diet consists mostly of roast meat over lots of fresh veggies, and it's surprising the amount of variation that still gets you.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
My daughter
The hive mind (i.e., internet)
Dynamic programming languages
A book or reading device of some sort
The Social Contract
Barley (hops implied)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
How much of my life is determined by the characteristics of this meatsack I call my body.

The increasingly cybernetic way we are living our lives, and just how much of a cyberpunk dystopia we've managed to get ourselves stuck in.

Various ways in which I can automate the more mundane aspects of my life.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Trying to find a cohort what hasn't been exhausted by the week's efforts that can keep up with my manic energy.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
on January 14, 2006, I appeared completely naked on page 5 of the Chicago Tribune.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 20–35
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating, casual sex
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You have a good book recommendation to give me. <-- Seriously, please do this.

You would like to go to any of these concerts with me.

You are an educated person who has managed to have some success in life, and are looking for companionship.

You are a (gender?)queer bio-female approximately 5 years older than me. Somehow this has been a combination that works well for me, and it's great!

You have a FetLife account and/or understand why that might be problematic.

You aren't thrown into abject terror that I have already procreated. I am not looking for a mother for my daughter; she has one of those already.