Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

amicus700

46 Oshawa, Ontario, CA Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women who like men
  • Ages 32–47
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 6:58pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Libra, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on university
Job
Technology
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids, and might want more
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm fit, healthy, active, and have an array of interests and hobbies. And I've put in four decades of real living: good times, difficult times, heartache, love and loss, times of wealth and times of need. I've endured through painful losses, and enjoyed great successes, and I arrive at your door with a few scars, and some great stories, and with no time for anything but honesty and fairness. And I wouldn't change a thing about the life I've lived, so far; it's been a grand adventure, and I look forward to sharing the rest of it with someone special...
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Living it fully, with all my strengths, flaws and eccentricities. In no particular order:

I play hockey, rock climb, run, and like to workout at the gym. I'm reasonably fit, although after a year of change and new adventures, I'm looking forward to getting back into a more consistent routine.

I am also an epic nerd - video games, sci-if / fantasy novels, comic books, computers, D&D. If it's nerdy, I'm into it...

And, I am a musician. I studied piano for 15 years with the Royal Conservatory, and learned the craft of choral music conducting from my father.

I currently work in I.T., but have worked professionally as a: writer, musician, film critic, construction worker, voice-over-narrator, TV cameraman, tire salesperson, janitor, waiter, recording engineer, choir director and painter.

I am reliably 5 minutes late for most things. I lose my cel phone at least twice a week. I own my own house, know how to clean, but haven't a clue how to decorate.

I believe in chilvary: I am willing to hold the door, pull out your chair, and I believe being a gentleman is a high calling that is currently in short supply.

I do hand embroidery (yes, you read that right), and I am a decent tailor who sews historical garb from medieval patterns.

I currently conduct a 35 voice choir. I've performed (sang) in front of 15,000 people.

I'm absent minded, cannot multitask if my life depended on it, and routinely wear mismatched socks right out of the dryer. But at least I do the laundry.

Finally and most importantly, I want to be the best father I can to my three wonderful children, who deserve no less. I also have a strong and positive relationship with their mother, and we cooperate very well in raising them.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
...being myself. And at this point in my life, I should be -- life is too short and too precious to waste trying to be what others think you should be.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm kind-hearted and honest. I tend to instinctively like and trust people, and generally assume the best about them until I learn otherwise -- sometimes to my detriment.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
The Lord of the Rings (and all related books and movies, which I adore), Criminal Minds, King Kong (movie), Indiana Jones, The Great Gatsby (novel), Dean Koontz novels, Star Wars, Star Trek, A Distant Mirror (Barbara Tuchman's analysis of the disasterous 14th century in Europe), Kingdom of Heaven, Band of Brothers, Vorkogisan Saga (novels), I was into "Game of Thrones" before it was cool (I started reading the books in 1996, and have hard cover first editions of them all) and am really enjoying the TV series, The Road to Serfdom by Friedrich Hayek, anything by filmmaker Errol Morris -- a brilliant and honest film-maker who I often disagree with, but respect tremendously for his reflexive mode of filmmaking, and his stylish direction.

Current read: The Passage (novel - Justin Cronin).

In essence, I am a total nerd, a lover of pop culture, and a closet pseudo-intellectual. Or something like that.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
My kids, a good pair of boots, a goal in life, a good pair of track pants, a good book and my piano.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
My kids, my family, my next challenge, and good food.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Best summed up by a list of my recent Fridays, from the oldest to most recent:
1) sharing a glass of wine and some great laughs with a friend in TO
2) seeing a movie
3) quiet evening reading a book
4) taking my kids out for dinner
5) taking my two boys to Boston Pizza, and then to see The Hobbit
6) driving to the airport to pick-up a friend
7) playing hockey
8) rock climbing
9) helping a friend deal with a crises
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Well, it's not really private in the sense that its secret and personal, but I do have a hobby that could best be described as relentlessly geeky: I do historical reenactment, as a 10th century viking. It's a genuine passion, and a non-negotiable part of my overall self. If you can't bear the thought of hanging out with a guy who hand sews linen tunics and owns his own set of armor, than you and I are not meant to be. This doesn't mean a future partner of mine has to like it or participate in it. Not at all. They just have to accept my liking it - it's been a wonderful creative outlet, and the most fun I've ever had. Essentially, this means that on the "0 - 10 how-much-of-a-geek-are-you?" scale, I'm an "11". You've been warned...
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
...you are kind, honest, and honourable; you know who you are, and aren't afraid to be that person to the fullest. Beyond those basic requirements, I'm wide open to the possibilities...