Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

anabee

31 F Astoria, NY

I’m looking for

  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 30–40
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Sep 13
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Sign
Gemini
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Recently back to NYC after an 8-year, quite awesome, detour to the Bay Area. For most of that time I was in graduate school (I know, gross). Family and a real job brought me back east. Happily settled into New York life (though I am desperately missing the mild summers/winters, gorgeous scenery, and of course epic Mexican food of the Bay).

I started out as a professor at a small college nearby last fall. So far so good! Work is filled with teaching and research. Two of my most favorite things. Outside of that?

Having fun reacquainting myself with the food scene here. I scored a rad apartment with a huge (by New York standards) kitchen and have loved making use of it, along with all of New York's bounty.

I wouldn't call myself a crazed fan - but I definitely enjoy music: live shows, festivals, new bands, old bands. Depending on my workload, however, my frequency of getting and seeing new music varies. Sometimes I find it a relief to take a step back and just enjoy the tracks I already have, or rediscover some band I've long forgotten. That probably describes me more generally in fact. I'm often overwhelmed with the pace/turnover of technology and culture. Yes, I only recently upgraded from my reliable qwerty flip phone. Missing its epic battery life.

Other random interests: finding/painting furniture, sewing things, yoga and running (sometimes), hiking (upstate), exploring neighborhoods, potlucks, yard sale-ing (should I reconsider now that I am in bed bugs land?), staying in touch with people (though I'm not big on Facebook - see note above), reading (book club and all).
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I just finished 6 years of graduate school. Hallelujah! I study delay of gratification in children, among other things. Beginning an assistant professorship now.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
finding good places to eat, waking up early and functioning with out coffee (just kidding), searching out furniture on craigslist, being a good daughter, organizing birthday festivities, sharing music, apartment hunting, making panzanella, home-made tamari croutons, and a mean ny cheese cake (props to my mom for those), parallel parking, teaching
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Always evolving, but some musical fav's: m83, daft punk, kurt vile, the arcade fire, wye oak, talking heads, james taylor, beach house, the tallest man on earth, the beatles, neil young, yeasayer, miike snow, the yeah yeah yeahs, the decemberists, the stones, camera obscura, fleet foxes, why?, the xx, kings of convenience, jack white, alabama shakes, best coast, jake bugg, strfkr, etc.

Jeez, I should be able to remember my favorite books, a few selections from memory and my bookshelves: the beatles, life, the marriage plot, the book thief (ay, so sad), the brief wondrous of oscar wao, animal, vegetable, miracle, omnivore's dilemma, from beirut to jerusalem, this is how you lose her, into the wild, winter's tale, tale of two cities, unbroken, reviving ophelia, atlas shrugged, persepolis, atonement, world according to garp, (all) harry potter, call of the wild, truth & beauty, the outsiders, american pastoral, norwegian wood, for whom the bell tolls, the plot against america

Food: CHEESE, pesto, strawberry shortcake, crispy veggie tacos, lobster, cheeseboard pizza, fesenjoon, chips, roasted veggies, kale...delicious, fresh, homemade food!
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
In no particular order: cheese, email access, comfortable shoes, family, live shows, relaxation time
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
research questions, old friends, money, what to do this weekend, papers that I am reading, what movies are playing, what's on the news, men, my graduate advisers, what my friends are up to, what restaurant to try next or what recipe to make, when is a good time to get a pet, what the weather is like in California
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
No typical Friday night in NY just yet. Reconnecting with high school and college friends. Trying to see live music. Watching something useless online.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My (ex)car is purple.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You should definitely message me if you are fun and can make me laugh, you love your field whatever it may be, you like actively engaging with the world, you love art, music, movies, design etc., and want to share your expertise, whatever that is, with someone new.