Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

angelwithane

24 Washington, DC Woman

Woman

I’m looking for

  • Everyone
  • Ages 21–29
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 5:45pm
Orientation
Bisexual
Ethnicity
Black
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Full figured
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Atheism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Aquarius
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Other
Income
$50,000–$60,000
Relationship Status
Open relationship
Relationship Type
Non-monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, and doesn’t want any
Pets
Has cats
Speaks
English, Spanish (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I beg your forgiveness for my somewhat middle-school-sounding username: my middle name is Ange'le (I was named after Maya Angelou, may she rest in power), and when I was a kid, I used to remember how to spell it by thinking it was "angel" with an "e".

Poking around my blog is a better way to get a sense of the kind of person I am than is reading any of these boxes: http://imsuchanafroholic.com

But if you'd rather have boxes, that's cool too. Some things about me, let's go: My name's Maya. I'm 24, a person who both loves to talk and loves to listen, a cuddler, a reader, a music-lover, and a person who is known to cry at just about anything. I prefer the term queer to bi, but I'm waiting for OkC to catch up. Also I'm pretty femme (6 of my 9 pictures feature me in a dress, lol), but generally speaking am not here for gender binaries or gender roles in any way, shape, or form. I'm a sociologist, a feminist, and I'm pretty into Blackness both intellectually and aesthetically. I drink wheat beers like they're water; Disaronno sour is my go-to "real drink," and I have recently discovered that I am old enough to turn down free shots. I love to laugh. I contain multitudes. Intersectionality is my jam.

Open relationship is also somewhat of a misnomer, but I'm proud of OkCupid for trying. I've been in a polyamorous relationship for a little over a year now. There's been a lot of growing and learning and changing and figuring out difficult/complicated stuff, but even more happiness and love and snuggles and pleasure. I want to make sure I'm really up front about it with new folks. So, there's that. I welcome all sorts of questions about it.

My house has a cat. She does not actually belong to me, though recently I've begun to feel like she has adopted me. Most days it seems like it's the cat's world and we just live in it... Anyway, if you're allergic, take note.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I graduated from Princeton University in 2012 with a B.A. in Sociology and a concentration in African-American studies. Moved to DC right after to start my grown-ass-woman life, working for a major social policy research center and rediscovering "me time". I like this city a lot and could see myself calling it home for quite a while.

You know, just your average socially-conscious Black girl tryna save the world, three or four very-well funded research projects at a time.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Baking! Cooking generally. Predicting major plot twists in TV shows. My job, according to my annual review, lol. Writing. Being a friend, so I've been told. Back massages. Getting caught up in the little things. Being dedicated to __________. Caring about people/things. Calming people down when they're freaking out about things. Needing to be calmed down when I'm freaking out about things. Scrabble/Bananagrams. (Words with Friends, too: the username is SuchanAfroholic if you'd like a challenge.) Paying attention to grammar when the situation calls for it; I almost majored in Linguistics. Along the same lines, knowing when your comma should be a semi-colon and vice versa. Spotting which drinks in a 1,001 Cocktails app will actually be delicious. Being timely. Having a good sense of direction when I'm walking. Finding indie and/or foreign Black musicians on YouTube. Writing personal/sensitive messages in greeting cards. Shopping a lot without spending much money. Accessorizing. Being cheesy sometimes.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
That my coat is some obnoxiously bright color. The "queercut". My titties, which will not be denied. My smile, and accordingly the gap between my two front teeth. That I tend to color-coordinate really well. My really "identifiable" laugh (most people love it). That I "don't sound like I'm from around here," whatever they might mean by that. My intelligence. That I'm frank. That I'm really open with my emotions.

Catcallers most often call attention to my walk, so I guess that means dat ass.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: I'm such an avid reader that it's just easier to link to my goodreads profile. So, here ya go! https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/21108578-maya-reid

But I guess for the sake of not making you click links unnecessarily, the last three books I've carried around with me: The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz (currently reading); Little Bee by Chris Cleave; and The Portable Promised Land by Toure.

If you're trying to figure out how soon after opening presents is too soon to ditch your family and go see Selma, we would probably get along. I suppose dramas are my favorite genre. I don't like horror/scary movies, though I can usually deal with psychological thrillers if there's someone to cuddle with when I'm scared.

TV shows: I haven't had cable for the past six years, so I watch all of my tv online. I like How to Get Away with Murder, Suits, Once Upon a Time, Scandal, Masters of Sex, Sleepy Hollow, The Knick, and The Flash right now. Netflix is the greatest $8 I spend every month, and boo and I got hooked on Friday Night Lights, so that's another show I spend a decent amount of time watching. The L Word goes on my greatest shows of all time list, as does Girlfriends.

Music: RnB/Neo-Soul is my favorite. Concerts I've been to since moving to DC: Musiq Soulchild, Morris Day and The Time, Angie Stone and Rahsaan Patterson, Rod Stewart and Stevie Nicks, Elle Varner, Chrisette Michele, Goapele, Raheem DeVaughn, Mary J. Blige and D'Angelo, Gregory Porter, Les Nubians, MeShell N'Degeocello doing a tribute to Nina Simone, Of Montreal, Amel Larrieux, Emeli Sande, Eric Benet, Erykah Badu, Mos Def, Esperanza Spalding, Solange, Lianne La Havas, Lauryn Hill, MeShell N'Degeocello doing her own stuff, and Janelle Monae. I'm seeing Stevie Wonder in a couple weeks. Rock/Alternative is actually what I have the most of in my library, most of which dates back to middle/high school but is still very much appreciated. I'm also into a lot of underground conscious/instrumental hip-hop: the likes of Mos Def, Talib Kewli, Phonte, etc. Generally dislike heavy metal and country, though occasionally a superb song or two gets downloaded.

Food: So once upon a time I wasn't very food adventurous. Then all of a sudden, I moved to DC where the ethnic food is actually good, and everything changed. Ethiopian food has likely become my favorite cuisine. But soul food will always have a special place in my heart.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
THE INTERNET, books, people I like being around, music, snuggles, and tea.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
I have this weird tendency to replay recent conversations in my head when I'm not doing anything. I'm not sure if it's just to commit them to memory, or to extract any pertinent details, or because I like being reminded that my friends and I are witty, but I do.

More generally: The ethics of afropolyamory. How surreal my life has become in the past year. What I want to blog about next. Social justice issues, most often surrounding race, gender, and sexuality. How people lived before the internet. Who I would have been/how I would have filled my days if I were one of them. The people that are closest to me/my interpersonal relationships. How to stop forgetting Spanish. Whether I *really* want to go to grad school, and in/for what. Why sexuality is such a taboo subject. Why norms are normal. How to manifest my ideals and values in my daily life and still be a successful functioning human in society. The 9394374973 things on my to-do list. What my reward will be for getting things done.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Honestly usually chilling at home. I promise I'm not boring tho.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I mean, I already gave y'all the link to my blog...
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
1. You are open to/interested in open/non-monogamous romantic/sexual situations, and
2. You like what you see and what you read, and you think we could get along, or
3. You are spontaneous and want to have an adventure with me, even a tiny one, or
4. You actually checked out my blog and read even one thing, or
5. You like to play word games (Bananagrams, Scrabble, and the 5-letter game are personal favorites) or want to see any R&B or neo-soul concert with me, or
6. You know something awesome I should do/somewhere great I should eat in DC (and, perhaps, would like to accompany me there), or
7. You're tired of living in theory/you can't think of a reason not to.

#1 is a requirement. Everything else is bonus points. But of course, combinations of the above options are highly encouraged. :)