New!   Incognito Mode. Now you can hand-select who sees you on OkCupid. That means total control of your visibility.

Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

anneshirley4u

33 San Jose, CA Woman

Woman

I’m looking for

  • Everyone
  • Ages 25–45
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Yesterday – 9:37pm
Orientation
Bisexual
Ethnicity
Hispanic / Latin, White
Height
5′ 5″ (1.65m)
Body type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Catholicism, and laughing about it
Sign
Libra, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Education
Income
Rather not say
Status
Single
Type
Monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Someone recently called me aquiline and articulate. I am a writer first and foremost, but various communications jobs in the nonprofit sector have been my bread and butter. I am that rare breed of human with deep roots in San Jose; my family has been here (and in ESSJ specifically) for more than 100 years.

My lone tattoo is of a semicolon.

Oh, and if it is meaningful to you, I'm an INFJ (which, according to the internet, is the official unicorn of the Meyers-Briggs).
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I write . . . a lot! I am currently working on 2 different manuscripts (my first-ever novel and my second book-length poem). I'm just finishing up a year-long research project about the lives of the Catholic lady saints, whose fabled existences were a lot more lusty, fantastical, and gory then you probably imagine they were.

I like being outdoors, and hiking and/or strolling in particular; my favorite nearby spots are Almaden Quicksilver, the Alviso Marina, Mission Peak, Fall Creek, and Wilder Ranch.

I work in communications at a university research center and I spend many of my waking hours crafting pithy 140 character poems also known as tweets.

I've been to 40 of the 50 states--including a four-year stint living in gorgeous Providence, RI--but I have never left the continent. Lately I've been fantasizing about visiting Portugal.

I am very close to my family and friends, and I consider myself to be moderately social. I pride myself in my loyalty to my loved ones because they're the greatest!
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
wordplay. word games. writing. knowing what word you mean when you can't find the right one. adventuring. honesty. being sophisticated and scummy at once. eavesdropping on strangers. listening in general. talking. keeping up decades-long friendships. lining my purse with half-finished crossword puzzles. pretending i can play badminton. getting excited about grotesque turns of phrase, desolate smoke stacks, and the ridiculous majesty here in CA. analyzing films, pop culture artifacts, and novels. remembering odd details. winning sighing contests. enjoying a hearty cringe.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I can be shy and quiet at first, but when I speak it is usually sardonic. I have a weird intellect (in a good way!). I am the proud owner of two eyes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
OMG BOOKS: I am a gigantic book nerd, particularly for fiction, poetry, and cross-genre writing. Some favorites include Querelle, The Piano Teacher, The Men, The Widow, Jane Eyre, Cruddy, The Driver's Seat, and anything by Bhanu Kapil. If you're into experimental writing and want to talk small presses, I will be SO HAPPY. I don't really read much theory or nonfiction (unless you count memoirs), but I extend many props to readers who do.

MUSIC: lately I've been listening to Kate Bush, Arthur Russell, This Mortal Coil, Angel Olsen, and Loretta Lynn.

MOVIES: Susperia, Badlands, Rebecca, No Country for Old Men, Working Girl, Don't Look Now, Raising Arizona, Arsenic and Old Lace. I watch romcoms, suspenseful movies, weird documentaries. I love a shocking expose.

TV: Mad Men, Intervention, Orphan Black, Les Revenants, Top of the Lake, The Leftovers, UK Skins, Teen Mom, Louie, etc.

FOOD: Favorites include burritos, thai food, brussels sprouts, carrots, clementines, coconut milk, chipotles in adobo sauce, kombucha, white cake with white icing, pungent cheeses, brewer's yeast, arugula, pureed soups, tahini, ethiopian food, deep dish pizza, etc. I am deep in the throes of perfecting the art of cooking for one!
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
my friends / loved ones (for real, i am so rich in friends)
words
humor
coffee
the sun
the sea
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
anagrams and the future. dorky puns. why there is no lowbrow.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Out, unless I'm in!

If out: I am partial to smallish gatherings (particularly if there's a fire pit!), low-stakes dance parties, shows, board games, movies, readings with free food, people watching, bookstores, etc. I recently did my first night hike, and it was v magical!

If in: watching a movie, reading, eating odds and ends, etc.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I can't whistle!
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You like to help out with crossword puzzles. You are brainy but not condescending. You are equal parts socialite and homebody. You can appreciate both cynicism and whimsy.

The most romantic thing to me is an A++ brain-level connection/feeling "lit up" around another person.

You're open to the possibility of meeting a life partner (since that's what I'm looking for in the long term). I'm not prowling for hook ups or into coupling with couples, but I'm always down to make new friends.