Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

annoyingsmirk

35 M New York, NY

My Details

Last Online
Today – 5:56pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Often
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Education
Dropped out of Ph.D program
Job
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I drink whiskey, write and hack.

Even though the blog-turned-book-deal craze ended years ago, there are two Google Docs with half-thought-through notes that I still update. At this point, they mostly taunt me.

Right this moment, I don't know where my keys are. Probably.

The best window view I know is the view from seat 10A landing at Washington National. Somewhere in this city is the roof deck that has an even more dramatic view, and will not rest until it is found.

My favorite starting poker hand is KQ, and I riffle my chip stack incessantly. Do not take this to mean I am actually good at poker, though in one friend group it borders on religion.

I believe details matter.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I've been a hacker, an actor, an engineer, a spy, a bar manager, a pilot, a jetsetter, a baker, and, a very long time ago, a gas station attendant. Right now, I am a cliché.

That is: I'm a brand new New York resident on OKC. I've moved around a lot; since 2010 it's been mostly DC (notable for its concentration of grad degrees), a good bit of Atlanta (better than you think, Yankee! There are porches and neighborhood festivals everywhere), a fair amount of small-town England (and a life bookended by curry and sausage), and a little San Francisco (to visit nerds and spend time in nature).

Betting on this being stable for a while, though. I’m at my best when helping something new be built, and playing some part in its construction -- even if it's a small and non-obvious part. For a while that meant startups, but after three in a row, it's time to apply that elsewhere: working with creative types instead of just technical/analyticals, contributing to a new city and neighborhood. It's gonna be great.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
More often than not, indulging a bad Hulu habit (though, man, has their selection fallen off a cliff). When I have the patience to watch a movie, the "offbeat black comedy" section usually satisfies. Mostly Internet radio, indie channels; the loss of turntable.fm hit me hard but Songza picked up the slack and helps me get through the day cleanly. I don't know the venues up here yet; if you're a DC exile as well, help me translate: I spent a lot of time at RNR over 9:30, and some of the best shows I saw recently were at Tropicalia. What does that make me now?

Hands-down, no-apologies, current top book: The Four and Twenty Blackbirds Pie Book, Emily & Melissa Elsen. I'd name others, but why do you need anything else?
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
A good knife.
A great whisky.
Exactly one cup of coffee a day.
Airplanes.
Grammar. Go ahead, criticize my use of em-dashes.
And of course the Internet overbrain, in all of its many bright and pulsating delivery mechanisms.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Out somewhere with friends, not out, or in another city. So in short: this question gives you no information.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
You'll get the child actor story in good time. But it's one of my better ones, so I prefer telling it in person.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 28–39
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating