aroseinbloom1
28 Oklahoma City, OK
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
aroseinbloom1
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I've never thought of myself as an online-dating kind of girl, but here I am giving it a try. Am I skeptical? Yes. But hey, life is full of surprises.

I don't know how to put this, but I'm kind of a big deal... I have many leather-bound books, and my apartment smells of rich mahogany. Jokes aside, I'm a follower of Jesus and am living my life in pursuit of Him. My faith is foundational to who I am. I'm a huge adventurer and absolutely love experiencing new places and cultures. I've been fortunate enough to visit 28 countries and half of the US states. I'm not really sure where to call home. I grew up in Nigeria and Southern California, lived in Philly for 7 years, just spent a year in England, and am now living in Oklahoma- something I never thought I would do!

A few of my favorite things include: adventures, wearing cowboy boots, picnics in the park, road trips, random dance parties, anything miniature, and laughing out loud. I mean, seriously, are there many things better in life than laughing? (Bacon is a close rival). I also enjoy art, music, being grammatically correct, cooking/baking, white Converses, intellectual conversations, antique stores, Trader Joe's sweet potato chips (which have been discontinued...), and witty independent films.

I like my cheese extra sharp, my meat well done, my orange juice pulpy, and my tea with milk and sugar (it's an English thing).

I strive for authenticity and find honesty-the real, vulnerable kind-to be refreshing. I love people and am all about investing in lasting relationships with the people around me. I still don't know what I want to be when I grow up, but I constantly strive to be the best version of myself.
What I’m doing with my life
Living it to the fullest! I recently moved to Oklahoma City and started working at an international non-profit organization out here. It's been a pretty big change, and I'm still adjusting, but I'm enjoying it so far. I found an awesome church and have gotten plugged into a community group there. I'm interested in international development and passionate about social/economic issues like human trafficking, refugees, and poverty. I think about global injustice regularly, including how consumers/people in "The West" contribute to them, and hope to contribute to solutions to these types of issues through my career.

On the weekends, I'm a fashion consultant among family and friends and a thrift store connoisseur. I like to stay active, and am always looking for new places to explore, new restaurants to try, and new people to meet. I also spend a lot of time thinking about where I'd like to travel and live and planning adventures.
I’m really good at
Perhaps a more appropriate title would be "I like to think I'm good at":
Listening and offering advice
Finding random gems at thrift stores
Cooking creative dishes
Being sarcastic
Making people laugh

I'm terrible at:
Taking my own advice
Using chopsticks
Parallel parking
Pull ups
The first things people usually notice about me
If I were noticing me for the first time, I'd be drawn to my eyes, bold personality, and colorful clothes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: The Journey of Desire, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years, I Want to Go Home, One Thousand Gifts, Freakonomics, The Road to Hell, anything by Steinbeck or Grisham

Movies: Dan in Real Life, Crazy Stupid Love, Silver Linings Playbook, Kicking and Screaming, The Aristocats, To Kill a Mockingbird, The Proposal, Anchorman, Remember the Titans, Zoolander, The Philadelphia Story, Oceans Trilogy, The Blindside, What About Bob?, the Sandlot, Live at the Purple Onion

Shows: Arrested Development, The Office, SNL's The Best of Will Ferrell

Music: The Black Keys, Band of Horses, Alexi Murdoch, Heath McNease, Citizen Cope, Alex Clare, Pete Yorn, Brooke Frasier, Flobots, Brett Dennen, Gungor, Cake, the Civil Wars, Ray LaMontagne, Damien Rice, Kings of Leon, Derek Webb, Loud Harp, and Zach Williams, to name a few

Food: Bacon (and most other things)
The six things I could never do without
I'm going for seven:
God's grace
Family
Friends
Music
Sunshine
My Camera
My Passport
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Who I am and who I want to be
Where I want to travel
The people I care about
How much this world needs hope
The supply chain used for the products I purchase
What delicious concoction to make for dinner
My next art project
Photography
Ethical fashion
Conspiracy theories
On a typical Friday night I am
Doing happy hour with friends, having people over for dinner, or watching a movie at home with a glass of wine and carton of ice cream.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I sweat a lot when I work out. I also buy myself flowers on a regular basis. Oh, and I plan to blog about my online dating experience.
You should message me if
You're awesome; you have a personal and active relationship with Jesus Christ (seriously, this is a non-negotiable for me); you have a passport that isn't empty; you like wearing ugly sweaters in public; you're going to send me more than a four-word message; and you think there's more to life than being really, really, really ridiculously good looking.

PS: If you got to the end of my profile and thought to yourself, "Wow, this girl is conceited. She bragged about her leather and mahogany," please know that I was being 157% sarcastic (and also go watch Anchorman!). The only leather-bound book that I own is my Bible, and there's not a scent of mahogany in my apartment.
More