Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

asoloway

27 M Seattle, WA

My Details

Last Online
Today – 1:07pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Education
Working on masters program
Job
Student
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), Hebrew (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm Alex. I'm originally from Boston, but I went to school in Montreal, worked in Toronto as an engineer, and I've been in Seattle for about two years now.

I love to be outside and have trouble going more than a day or two without getting out. I spend a lot of my free time biking, rock climbing, hiking, and generally just finding any excuse to not be inside. It's been great living in Seattle since you can be outside pretty much all year. Montreal winters and Boston summers make the weather here pretty easy to deal with by comparison.

I like to be around people who challenge me and who help me look at the world and myself in new and different ways. I also enjoy laughing and making jokes. I like to think of my sense of humor as being quick and witty, but there's a good chance that it's just sarcastic and inappropriate. Either way, I laugh a lot, and it's a nice bonus when other people laugh too.

My favorite board game is Settlers of Catan and I will gladly stay in to drink beer and play. I also can solve a rubiks cube, and I am really good at tying knots.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a grad student at UW in Mechanical Engineering. I'm currently doing research on underwater acoustics, and it's impact on the environment and marine life, and studying how it travels in shallow water. When I tell people this their eyes usually glaze over. I really enjoy what I do and get very excited talking about it, but I'm aware that the general public might not share my feelings. To try and salvage the conversation my follow up is something along the lines of "we're trying to protect whales and stuff." People seem to like the save the whale answer a lot more. I am waiting for the day when I tell people what I do and they get as excited as me, but for now I'm not holding my breath.

Outside of work I'm just trying to enjoy life, meet new people, try new things, and generally just be happy.
I’m really good at
Packing a car. When I moved out of Toronto I fit everything I own into a honda accord which included two bikes, four winter tires, lunch for the drive, and I could still see out the back window.
The first things people usually notice about me
When I have a beard they notice that I have a red beard. When I shave that's probably not the first thing they notice, but since I don't like shaving, and don't do it very often it's usually the beard.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love to read. Two of my favorites are Lord of the Rings, and A Confederacy of Dunces. I also like most books by Kurt Vonnegut. I recently read Invisible Man which I would recommend. If you have any good book suggestions let me know!

Music: the Grateful Dead, bluegrass, folk, Blind Boys of Alabama, Rage Against the Machine , Yo Yo Ma, Bob Dylan, Bela Fleck and the Flecktones, Stan Rogers, Richie Havens, Phish, John Butler ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jdYJf_ybyVo )

Movies: Breaking Away. I still hold my breath at the last scene even after seeing it a hundred times. The Big Lebowski is second on the list, followed closely by the Lion King.

I don't know if this counts as a movie, but I think Planet Earth is just the best and every time I watch it I want to quit grad school and join the camera crew. I also have a small crush on David Attenborough because of it.
The six things I could never do without
1) my bike
2) green leafy vegetables
3) waterproof jacket
4) wool socks
5) bike helmet - I crashed once and broke my helmet. Other than a few cuts and bruises I was fine. Wear a helmet when you ride a bike!
6) I'm pretty flexible so I could probably do without number 6
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Math and rock climbing... and that I should probably think about stuff other than math and rock climbing.
On a typical Friday night I am
Either enjoying a few beers with friends or camping out for a climbing trip on Saturday.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I keep the stapler when I leave a job. Every time.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 22–31
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
-You are happy being you and confident in who you are.
- You know that the key to a good conversation is asking questions and wanting to hear the answers.
- You say "I can't" but try anyway.
-You're passionate about something. It really doesn't matter what.
-You've found any errors here with my spelling or grammar