Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

atropa777

29 F Ann Arbor, MI

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 4:58pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Hispanic / Latin, White, Other
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Full figured
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Gemini, and it’s fun to think about
Education
University
Job
Medicine
Income
$30,000–$40,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Has dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Latin (Poorly), Italian (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I agree to an extent with the personality traits that okcupid says I have. I like that they think I'm kind, anyway. And they're right about my being less traditionally romantic. I'd much rather have a good (and I mean good) beer and go morel hunting than a dozen red roses any day.

I'm in love with my bike, but swim and use the stationary bikes at least 3x a week at the Y when I can't take my Trek out on the road. My best friend and I recently started taking a pilates class at the Y, and it's surprisingly fun and challenging. I'm looking forward to taking the next one.

While all of this taking myself too seriously stuff is good, it leaves out the fact that I love to play - with my dog (and really, any other willing animal), board and card games like Settlers of Catan, poker, and many others, the (violon)cello, and so on. I'll even play with crying children on planes if it keeps them in a good mood.

Enneagram type 6 is a slightly better description of my personality type than ISTJ if that sort of thing is important to you.
What I’m doing with my life
Working on having a full and happy life, gardening in a community garden, swimming at the Y, riding my bike - preferably with other people, exploring Ann Arbor and Michigan.

Doting on my husky/german shepard mutt.

I think I'd like to eventually go back to school with the goal of obtaining a degree in health physics or genetic counseling, but I'm not sure when that will happen at this point. I like school and learning, but I don't like the rhythm of academia.
I’m really good at
Being accident-prone,
reading a road map and navigating,
enjoying Michigan wines and beers,
following clear directions,
pouring liquids,
maintaining good lab technique,
being nice to waitstaff,
sucking at whirlyball. (but I love it all the same!),
remembering things you and I would rather I could forget.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm comfortable in my own skin and tall. Other women say nice things about my hair, which I find very flattering. The patients who meet me at work have nicknamed me 'smiley.' Lately, a lot of people meeting me for the first time have been saying that I'm very sweet, down to earth, happy, and fun.

In general, people outside of Texas and the southwest take for granted that I'm white (usually some sort of "ethnic" white like Italian or Jewish, neither of which is quite accurate) because they notice my pale skin (in the winter), dark, curly hair, and decidedly un-WASP-ish nose. I'm not white. I am mixed/mestiz@. Frankly, it makes no difference to me what your ethnic background is as long as you're not a traditionalist.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
books: Alas, Babylon; The Painted Man, Dandelion Wine and a few others by Ray Bradbury; A Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood; Dr. Tatiana's Sex Advice to all Creation by Olivia Judson; Prodigal Summer, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle & others by Barbara Kingsolver; Pride and Prejudice; The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins; The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo/Millennium trilogy by Stieg Larsson.

movies: Bringing Up Baby, other Hepburn movies, the Batman Begins/Dark Knight/Dark Knight Rises trilogy, The Bourne Identity, Guess Who's Coming to Dinner, Munich, Stranger than Fiction, the new Star Trek, Pride & Prejudice (the 1995 BBC production), Run, Lola, Run, X-men 1 and 2, Cool Hand Luke, Bull Durham, and who doesn't love Up or Despicable Me?

music: Imogen Heap, Nickel Creek, Susan Tedeschi, the cuban and brazilian programs on WEMU, Maria Rita, Rodrigo y Gabriela, The Beatles, Norah Jones, Lauryn Hill, Feist, Regina Spektor, motown, Beethoven, Vivaldi's Winter, Shostakovich, Hindemith, Aaron Copland, Mendelssohn's Hebrides Overture, and anything with a good beat, strong (hopefully non-misogynistic) vocals, and some danceability if that's what I'm trying to do at the moment.

foods/drinks: Fresh fruits including but not limited to blueberries, prickly pears, michigan apples, nectarines, strawberries, bing cherries, raspberries, plantains, grapes, plums, and pineapple; puerto rican food (though I'm not Puerto Rican), corn on the cob, green beans, artichokes, mushrooms, chicken, turkey, crab, lobster, shrimp, clams, mussels, pasta, sushi sans wasabi/horseradish, dark chocolate, Icescapes (sadface), the very occasional coffee, green tea, iced tea, limeade.

tv shows: Revolution, Scandal, Parenthood, Once Upon a Time, Modern Family, Venture Brothers, West Wing, ER, Star Trek (TNG, DS9, and Voyager), Dirty Jobs. I watch a lot of PBS. Antiques Roadshow, Masterpiece Theater, Nova, Nature, etc.
The six things I could never do without
Someone/thing to talk to, science & curiosity, a good pair of shoes, a comfortable bed with lots of pillows, singing while driving, and access to the outdoors.

I could live without most of these... maybe not the first and last items, though.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What will my life look like in 6 months, a year, five years.

What do I want to grow in my garden next year? How many ways can you prepare green beans?

The way we're all made of stardust.
On a typical Friday night I am
probably going to sleep early-ish so I can go for a bike ride or get in the garden on saturday morning before it's too hot out, weather permitting.

From November to April, there's no routine.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I read your profile, then look at your match questions before looking at your pictures.

Blaring samba & terrible dance/house into my headphones is the only thing that gets me through my workouts at the gym, I'd much rather be outside.

My friend bird_house said "Your feet are firmly on the ground but you are much more romantic than anyone would guess upon a first meeting."
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 27–38
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You:
  • are kind & communicate clearly, preferably while bantering,

  • are on the left end of the political spectrum and have a high drive,

  • want to bike, kayak, canoe, or otherwise get outside in washtenaw county,

  • think our dogs would like to play together,

  • would like a gym buddy to go to the Y,

  • live in Ann Arbor, Ypsi, or elsewhere in Washtenaw County, and are between the ages of 27 and 38.


  • You agree that no means no and yes means yes, unless we negotiate other safewords.

    You should NOT message me if you


    • use the phrase "politically correct" in a derogatory manner,

    • are (politically) libertarian, (a philosophical) objectivist, posivitist, realist or capitalist,

    • or hate everyone equally (that is, you're a misanthrope).


    Thanks :)