Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

augustfifth

30 M Chicago, IL

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Leo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Technology
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
I moved to Chicago from Norfolk, VA. I was stationed out there while I was in the navy, which I just left. I'm from Illinois, but not the city. Addendum: I've been here a few months now, and every time I do something that feels "big city" to me for the first time I feel like Mary Tyler Moore - I linked the Joan Jett version because she's a badass.

I have a degree in philosophy. I loved studying this, and chances are if you talk to me for more than five minutes I'll start pestering you on topics ranging from personal identity to free will or any specific philosophic questions that might apply to a field of study of your own.

But I'm also pretty geeky. So philosophical questions will - at the drop of a hat - take a decidedly geeky turn - When The Doctor regenerates does that constitute a different person? If you have super powers, is it immoral NOT to use them for good? You know, things like that.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a manager at an IT company.

Outside of that, I love to cook, read, write, and explore. I'm a homebody and an introvert, but still social enough that I enjoy throwing parties at my place. Small cocktail parties. Lately I've been making simple games in various game engines (mostly point and click adventures - if you're a fan of old LucasArts games).
I’m really good at
Cooking simple but good meals.
Roasting coffee beans.
Management.
Hacking things together.
Knowing where I'm going - literally and metaphorically.
The first things people usually notice about me
the look of vague concern furrowed across my brow. I don't know.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books:
Fiction:
The Time Traveler's Wife, Pride and Prejudice, Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, Short Stories by H.P. Lovecraft, Anything by Jorges Luis Borges, House of Leaves, The Name of the Wind, A Song of Ice and Fire series, stories about Sherlock Holmes (mostly by Doyle, but I have been known to read trashy/literary "sequels" to the Holmes canon).

Nonfiction:
The Lost City of Z, Harry Houdini: America's First Superhero, The Autobiographies of Harpo Marx, Bertrand Russell, and Giacomo Casanova.

Graphic Novels/Comics:
Locke & Key, Fables, Bone. - Vertigo/indie stuff in general.

TV Shows:
Spaced, Doctor Who, Community, Arrested Development, Buffy, The Twilight Zone, The Venture Bros, Veronica Mars, Better Off Ted, The Simpsons

Music:
Elvis Costello, Pixies, Talking Heads, Sufjan Stevens, The Protomen, Klaus Nomi

Movies:
Miller's Crossing, The Big Lebowski, and pretty much every other Coen Bros. film, The King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters, Millennium Actress, Brick

Food: Sushi, Irish (shepperd's pie mostly), Chinese, Japanese, Italian, I put jalapenos on just about everything. Lately I've been pan frying a lot of peppers, onions, and various meats. That's what I eat like 90% of the time I'm home.
The six things I could never do without
Coffee

Something interesting to read.

Dogs - though I don't have one right now :(

A fully stocked kitchen. I *need* to cook good meals.

A fully stocked wine rack. I *need* to drink good wine while cooking. And eating.

Friends.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What constitutes "knowledge" as opposed to a "belief" (specifically Gettier problems), determinism vs free will, logically possible worlds, the problem of evil, empiricism. Numbers - not doing math, so much as are numbers "real" things? Sometimes I think they're just clever word games we're all playing together, and other times I think they're way more real than we are.
On a typical Friday night I am
probably cooking a nice dinner for myself and some friends. There's usually a generous supply of wine involved as well. And board/card games.

Otherwise alone. Voluntarily. I like quiet nights by myself.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I met a girlfriend of two years on this site. Another of six months. And a roommate I lived with 2 years - we only stopped living together because I moved halfway across the country. I hate online dating - it feels like applying for a new job - writing a cover letter and resume - and just doesn't feel romantic at all - but I will say I've had some good success from it.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 22–38
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
you're a cross between Irene Adler and Liz Lemon.