Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

bartendwithaphd

28 M Buffalo, NY

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 8:25pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Skinny
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Sometimes
Religion
Sign
Taurus, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
$40,000–$50,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
I hate writing these things. How do you make yourself seem interesting in 100 words or less. Its so narcissistic. Anyway here goes....

First this... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Forer_effect

Then this...

I am a kindhearted, passionate, motivated person. Also, I am finishing my PhD so I spend a lot of my time writing, researching and teaching (or finding something to distract me from those things). My research on food and restaurants and identity, so I obviously love to cook, drink, eat, etc.

Some other nonsense I find joy in include being snarky, quick wit, goofiness, music (both production and appreciation), art of all kinds, interior design (mid-century, industrial, vintage), fashion, shoes, social justice, biking, short walks on the beach, mispeling words, sarcasm and whiskey, lots and lots of whiskey.
What I’m doing with my life
Oh so many things...but mostly finishing my Doctorate (Im not a boring academic though). So this means I spend my time teaching 19 year olds about social justice and American culture while trying my damndest to inspire them - or sitting in a library/cafe with a massive stack of books

or at a dive bar drinking and debating something that I am far too intoxicated to be debating.

However, I also make music & every so often bartend. And I have a pretty active group of friends who seem to always encourage me to get into pretty awesomely precarious situations.
I’m really good at
Making playlists/mixtapes, driving really far distances without stopping, Cooking, making cocktails, teaching (my students might say otherwise), being silly, knowing random facts, passionately working toward social and political justice, sarcasm

and....

Whiskey
The first things people usually notice about me
My hair and my blue/green eyes, well mostly my eye lashes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music - My music tastes really are pretty diverse, although when people say that it usually means they have no music taste. Its quite the opposite for me and I spend a great deal of time listening and discovering new music. My morning usually consists of scouring several music blogs I follow and illegally downloading about 3000 tracks. I like a lot of lo-fi, Electronic, indie and Hip Hop. Lately I am really into textured ethereal R&B (think How to Dress Well) and earthy visceral minimal jazzy electronic stuff (stuff like Dean Blunt, Grouper or Julia Holter, who is my secret crush), but there really is too much music stuff to list on this profile.

Books - I mostly read books on social justice and critical theory. But I also like art/art theory, design and a good fiction read every now and then.

Movies - I like a lot of indie films and documentaries, and I also like subtle and complex films as opposed to over the top stuff. Dont really care for horror films or movies where everything explodes.

Food - Anything and everything. I love to eat and cook. But gotta say the perfect food may be the taco (any and all varieties).

And whiskey.

TV - huh? Do people still watch those. Okay okay well I do like Mad Men and Parks and Rec.
The six things I could never do without
My vinyl collection/iPod

Goofiness

Tacos and my moms cherry pie (not necessarily together though)

Working against oppression and towards dismantling all social hierarchies...or something like that

my copy of Pedagogy of the Oppressed (If you either know what that book is or better yet have read it...boy oh boy) and other books about social justice/theory

good friends and family

And whiskey.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Social/Political Issues, solidarity and how I can be better at it, music, shoes, why the Bills cant seem to ever fucking win, what to cool for dinner, how to write you a message you will actually respond to

and whiskey.
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually at a happy hour that just rolls right though to the wee hours of the evening, probably grabbing dinner with friends or at a concert dancing.

And whiskey.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Im actually on OkCupid...ugh....please dont tell anyone that is how we met.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 21–38
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
If it tickles your fancy and you're awesome. You also are concerned that okcupid makes dating/relationships disposable.

You don't lack self confidence.

Oh...

And you have interests beside "working out."