bayareahiker
36 Pacifica, CA
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
bayareahiker
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm an adventurer. I love exploring the world around me near and far, discovering new places, trying new things, and making meaningful connections. It's all about the journey.

I travel the world when I can, but the Bay Area is home. I am grounded in my life here, and the variety of the Bay provides plenty of opportunities for the new adventures I seek. I've lived here for just over 10 years and have a solid community.

I'm a loyal friend and an open book. And an independent introvert who loves one on one conversation and prefers small gatherings over big crowds. I keep a great balance between my downtime and being out and about. I'm a natural planner and have a great eye for logistics and details.
What I’m doing with my life
Learning. Teaching. Laughing. Growing. Exploring. Adventure-seeking. Finding balance between attaining stability and satisfying my wanderlust.

In 2011, I quit my corporate job and spent 5 months solo traveling around South America. It was a turning point in my journey and a realization that my wanderlust runs deep. There's a big beautiful world out there to explore.

Now I work as a bookkeeper at an SF-based tour company that operates small-group tours across the U.S. visiting National Parks and landmarks along the way. It's greatly satisfying to be a part of an industry dedicated to enriching lives through unique travel experiences.

I love my job, but I'm not married to it. And when I'm not at work, you might find me doing any of these things on any given day: hiking, camping, trying out a new restaurant, cooking, wine-tasting, soaking in hot springs, on a road trip, training in my martial arts practice, relaxing in the comfort of home.
I’m really good at
communicating, being honest, logistics, composting, trip planning, reading maps (i'm a great road trip companion), being your sous chef :)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Movies: Wild, The Motorcycle Diaries, Slumdog Millionaire, Avatar, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Tipping the Velvet, Touching the Void, Into the Wild, 180 degrees south, nature documentaries...

Music: The Waifs, Brandi Carlile, Old Crowe Medicine Show, Poor Man's Whiskey, Brett dennen, Michael Franti and Spearhead, Ani Difranco, the Wailin' Jennys, Iron and Wine, the Weepies, the Be Good Tanyas, Chris Pureka... will listen to anything at least once! Another good reason to take me on a road trip :)

Food: preferably local and fresh. Mostly vegetarian, but I make an exception for good sushi and local dungeness crab.
The six things I could never do without
downtime
family and friends
fresh fruits and veggies
a valid passport
my camera
time in nature
I spend a lot of time thinking about
my journey (internal and external)... my next road trip... where do I want to travel to next?... letting go... how can I be a better person?
On a typical Friday night I am
possibly any of these:
-at home relaxing with a glass of wine and netflix
-enjoying dinner out with friends
-dancing the night away at a bluegrass show
-at work
-on a moonlit hike
-heading out of town towards the wilderness
You should message me if
-you wanna chat
-you want to go on a leisurely hike
-you want to share travel stories
-you want to go exploring, anywhere
-you like road trips
More