Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

beardlyone

23 M New York, NY

My Details

Last Online
Today – 1:30am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Native American, White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Christianity, and laughing about it
Sign
Capricorn, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on university
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Poorly), C++ (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I grew up on a small family farm in the Thumb of Michigan (*right here* as I point at my hand, like a true Michigander should). I lived across the street from cows, and I know how to drive a tractor and shuck corn. Spending my formative years on a farm has influenced me a great deal, though you'd have a hard time telling it, depending on the context we met in.

I dress fancy (suit and tie most days), but I still wear my combat boots; they're just so comfortable. I carry a briefcase, stocked with a leatherman and a set of screw drivers. The emergency toolkit in my car is better stocked than many full toolchests. I drink my whiskey neat and my beer ice cold.

I'm spending the summer working in the Financial District doing complicated math for a financial firm and living in the north end of Harlem.
What I’m doing with my life
I really enjoy being able to build things, so I've taken classes at my local community college in welding and machining, in my free time. I'm planning on going back for a few more to get truly proficient. I'm currently collecting and repairing insanely expensive office equipment. It's like a giant puzzle: figuring out what's broken and how to repair/replace parts, and it's complicated by the fact that buying replacement parts is nearly impossible.

I also really enjoy eating delicious desserts, so I try to bake at least one dessert per week. On top of that, I've been pretty good lately about baking the sourdough bread that I use for the sandwiches I take in my lunch. It's a little time consuming, but *so* worth it.

Now that I'm living in a place with actual culture, I'm trying to explore that in my off-hours, particularly the live music scene and the museums of so many kinds.
I’m really good at
Really good is a relative term, in the eye of the beholder and all, but we'll skip over that. We'll also skip over things that I do for a living, so I'll leave you with the following (incomplete) list:

Baking, welding & machining (fabrication), woodworking, jazz trombone, brewing a really good cup of coffee, typography...
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably a mix between my opinion being expressed about something or other and my distinctive style (beard, haircut, suit, combat boots, etc.).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Since it's too much to list everything individually, I'm just going to list my favorite in each along with my preferred genres.

***Books***
Favorite Author: Robert A. Heinlein because his writing makes me think more than anything else I've ever read.
Genres: Science Fiction, Urban Fantasy, Cyberpunk, Super campy fiction in general.

***Movies***
Favorite: Pulp Fiction has that undefinable quality of entertainment that makes it so quotable and so very rewatchable.
Genres: Usually towards the comedy end of the spectrum, but art films, thrillers, dramas and such all make the cut if they're well written and well made.

***Shows***
Favorite: Arrow has been wonderful lately. I've made it a weekly thing to watch and mock it with my roommate.
Genres: Comedy (HIMYM, Community), Drama (Castle, Person of Interest), Cartoon (Archer, Southpark), Terrible (Bones, Beauty and the Beast), etc.

***Music***
Switching back and forth between Rockabilly, Punk, Jazz and Ska which makes for an interesting personal soundtrack.
Favorite Artist: Urbie Green
Genres: Jazz, Ska, Punk, Rockabilly, Electroswing and Circus Marches

***Food***
Mostly, I eat America style foods, though I have been attempting to branch out more in the last year, particularly through Ann Arbor restaurant weeks.
Favorite Meal: Bacon-onion cheeseburger, though I have to make mention of the only classically Michiganian food, coney dogs.
The six things I could never do without
1) Math, particularly complex and stochastic analysis
2) A good suit and my combat boots
3) Cheap shot here, but I really couldn't do without my computer.
4) Making music, which in my case means playing my trombone.
5) Good, homemade food, which means my kitchen (it's quite well stocked, and I'd miss my food processor and stand mixer).
6) Building things, which means that I need my tools.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How hipster a given decision is. For example, I recently had a dinner: coney dogs (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coney_Island_Hot_Dog) and somewhat pretentious coffee (french press, fresh ground, etc.). Fortunately, I wasn't doing either one ironically, so I think I'm OK.
On a typical Friday night I am
Listening to some kind of live jazz somewhere in the city, though likely right in my neighborhood. Possibly, sleeping off the week.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have a deep-seated fear of green foods, much like Commander Keen. This leads to something of chicken-and-egg conundrum with my meatatarian lifestyle: do I eat meat because I'm afraid of greens, or am I afraid of greens because I eat meat.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 21–40
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, short-term dating, casual sex
You should message me if
*) You have a line on some great music somewhere in the city and want company to a show.
*) You want to give a newby a tour of some cool neighborhood or museum.
*) You have a recommendation for a great bar and would like to show it to me.
*) You like what you've read so far and want to know something more.