Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

benjammin_1986

28 M Atlanta, GA

My Details

Last Online
Dec 8, 2013
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Christianity
Sign
Taurus, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Well hello there stranger, seems you've found my online profile! Before I go forgetting my manners, let me introduce myself. I'm Ben, and I'm a researcher and grad student at Georgia Tech. Yes...that means I'm a professional nerd, but I try not to let it put me in a box. Honestly, I'm a pretty easygoing kind of guy, and I try to see the funny side of life whenever I can. I think life's too short to take things (or yourself) too seriously. However, I'm also an extremely self-motivated person, and am passionate about my goals and the things I enjoy in life. If that sounds like a paradox to you, what can I say, I'm a complex fellow :-).

I have a somewhat unusual family background - my mother is from England and Switzerland, so I'm a passionate observer of strange customs of "over there" such as drinking tea with milk, celebrating Guy Fawkes Day (to the best extent the law will allow), and enjoying a cheese fondue with Schwarzwaelder Kirschwasser (black forest cherry brandy). I had a British accent till I was 5, but lost it to the corruption of my peers at school (one of my greatest regrets!). I've been fortunate enough to go "over there" a good bit, and I love traveling to new and interesting places as a general rule (and eating delicious food when I get there).
What I’m doing with my life
For a living, I am a researcher and programmer for Georgia Tech, and am studying there for my PhD in Electrical Engineering.
I’m really good at
My primary hobby is music - I play the piano and guitar (and sing sometimes). One of my short term life goals is to finally get a real piano (been stuck with an electric one my whole musical career so far).

Another pastime of mine is collecting and shooting old military rifles. I own several WWII era pieces including a Mauser K98 and Schmidt-Rubin K31. I think it's really cool to be able to experience a piece of history and practice the discipline of marksmanship at the same time. I don't know if I rise to the level of "really good at", but it sure is fun!
The first things people usually notice about me
That I'm friendly, easygoing, and have a good sense of humour. Possibly my mad scientist eyebrows too. :-)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I enjoy music of most kinds except perhaps rap, but especially classic rock, 80s hair metal, 90s alt (Radiohead, etc), and classical.

Books: Sci-fi, historical novels, classics, pretty much anything - I love to read

I don't always watch TV, but when I do, I prefer the Walking Dead, Game of Thrones, Dexter, and Breaking Bad. I've backslidden somewhat in the following of them recently due to the end of our free HBO/Showtime subscription and the reading of many books. Did I mention I like books?

Movies: There are so many, it's really hard to identify favorites. The usual guy epic things like LoTR, Nolan's Batman movies, James Bond, etc are certainly on the list. I also enjoy a cheesy horror flick from time to time.
The six things I could never do without
My faith in God.
My family.
A piano.
A good book.
Interesting people and scenery.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My goals in life.
Solving problems.
What to do for the weekend.
On a typical Friday night I am
Getting drinks with friends, watching movies, meeting new people.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I grew up without a TV in the house, which explains why I'm such a tech/book/music nerd instead. I enjoy watching TV sometimes, but I wouldn't consider it a primary passion of mine.
I’m looking for
  • Straight girls only
  • Ages 20–31
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
Between work, school, church, and life, I keep pretty busy, so here I am on online dating, looking for someone to be my friend, jam to some sweet tunes, have some deep conversations, go to some interesting places, share a good beer (or glass of wine), and simply enjoy the ups and downs of life with me. If that sounds like it could be you, feel free to message, and we'll see where it goes :-).