Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

bestfriends2u

55 M Pinole, CA

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 10:02pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Cancer, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I must be an optimist because I’ve had a cat on a leash (on a road trip). A cat on a leash is a great metaphor for something about life. You know what I mean. Anyway, I once had a cat that would follow you on walks of her own accord. So anything is possible.

I have a great support structure of close, exciting friends of both sexes, and I’m close to my family. My 50th birthday party featured guests ranged from the fearless 3.5-year-old daughter of friends who I’d recently taught to dive in the pool, to an 81-year-old peace activist and former city council member who survived the fire-bombing of Dresden in Germany in her teenage years. A friend once told me, “There are two kinds of people; those you know would always be there for you, and those you don’t. You’re definitely the first.”

I could claim to be “diverse,” but that doesn’t quite capture it: I’m interested in everything: hiking Yosemite, interpreting dreams, reading Cormack McCarthy, providing TLC for 35 house plants, track-testing fast cars, wailing on a Fender Telecaster, publishing magazine articles and books, hacking the engine management systems of sports cars, SCUBA diving off Molokini, watching "The English Patient"—again.

I’ve given a fair amount of money to political campaigns because I care about the future of the world, and I’ve been known to take a Wi-Fi laptop to bed to read tomorrow’s New York Times (don’t worry, I’m not a fanatic about it). I’ve traveled as a delegate to the Maquiladoras in Ciudad Acuna, Mexico, and visited a good chunk of the planet. I’m at home with rich entrepreneurs and authors, but also with mechanics and farm laborers with busted knuckles and calloused hands living off the sweat of their labor. As a young man, I herded cattle by horseback and dirt bike, and helped grow 1000 acres of wheat, corn and Milo on my family’s irrigated ranch near Tombstone, Arizona. I still run or lift weights most days and I’ve completed two marathons. Take a look at my own hands—a little scarred, a little tender—and you’ll see the hands of someone who is fully alive.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm a widely-published freelance author/photographer, inventor, and investor. I'm a runner, a hiker, a reader, and a traveler, I'm a joker, I'm a smoker, I'm a midnight toker (JUST kidding about those last two!). I'm up to having a life that is invented and way more than what's automatic. I try to remember most days I should get down and kiss the ground for how lucky I am.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Writing books, shooting photos, inventing dreams, intimate conversation, playing guitar, talking and listening, riding horses, flying helicopters, anything mechanical, inventing and creating, cuddling, protecting, giving, loving.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Immediately: fit, nice smile, blond hair. Soon: Likes to laugh.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Fiction: All the Pretty Horses, Fight Club, Gone Girl, The God of Small Things, No Country for Old Men, Prince of Tides. Nonfiction: Mistakes Were Made (But Not By Me), The Denial of Death. Movies: Boyhood, Lucy, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Zero Dark Thirty, The Place Beyond the Pines, The English Patient, Dr. Zhivago, Apocalypse Now.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
*Evening sunlight on dark water
*Breakfast cooking at midnight
*Tears in the rain
*The look of love in the eyes of a good woman as she takes off her clothes
*The sound of laughter
*Great conversations in hushed tones
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
*People I love
*Gorgeous words and good stories
*What's up in the world
*What it is to be human
*How to have more play and fun
*How to live an invented life
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Having dinner with friends, watching a movie, working out, listening to music, reading, writing, driving (or riding), walking in the dark, in a great conversation, watching comedy...
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
A while back I read a book about how to write a good profile, but I forget everything. Yikes.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 40–60
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
I like all kinds of people, but my heart definitely melts for smart women who are activists about life: You'd rather be on the playing field than watching, and you're definitely not afraid to get your fingers dirty. You might even be a woman who runs with the wolves--at least soul-deep. Intellectually, you're bright and curious, with a rich inner life, you enjoy soaring conversations and intimacy, quiet times of togetherness, and solitude as well. You're comfortable in your own skin, and you touch easily. Your life is an examined life, and the older you get, the more there is to learn--which is good news. So of course you like to read. You can't help smiling at animals and children, but you may or may not have any yourself. You may or may not be religious, but spirituality interests you. You may or may not have much money, but you have dreams, and you can create money when you need it. You've definitely had some wins in life, but have experienced enough loss to have compassion, forgiveness, and flexibility. You have family and friends of both genders in your life, and you're excited about the new ones you'll gain from knowing me...