Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

bigislandlove

44 San Ramon, CA Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 32–38
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Sep 30, 2013
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Scorpio, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
$100,000–$150,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), Japanese (Poorly), Spanish (Poorly), Romanian (Poorly), C++ (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Today I live and work in the Bay Area, but my longer-term goal is to return to my community and tea farm in rural Hawaii, with the right woman, to live well and raise a low-carbon-footprint child.

(Apparently, that scares some people away, so let me underscore I am really open and flexible; if my partner is deeply attached here, we could also raise a child here, or in both places, with the Hawaii farm as a second home.)

I am geeky enough that there is an xkcd comic about me, if you are geeky enough to know what that is. I have studied the arc of the world closely enough to see that the conventional (fossil) economy will shrink, so I am preparing for the long transition to come (a big plus if you've heard of the permaculture, transition, or resilience movements), not just materially, but with a loving community. I am affectionate, outgoing, stable, mature, and emotionally available.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Getting ready. Working hard, (remotely) building the second house on my Hawaii land, so we have a place to go, in case we need to leave the rat race; so that no matter what happens or where in the world we go, or our children go, there is always a Home to return to.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
writing code, making maps, 3d geometry, bicycling, growing food, sequestering carbon, nurturing soil, conversation, seeing the big picture, trusting, being honest.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My long hair. I know, it's completely out of fashion for men. I'd probably let it go if a serious partner found me more attractive without it.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Slow, arty movies - Kurosawa, Jarmusch. Documentaries. I find some of Werner Herzog's work hysterically funny.
Music, particularly melodic trance as I was a raver in the 90s, but also ambient, idm, synthpop, shoegaze, techno-tribal and bits of everything across the spectrum. To toss out some names: Slowdive, Boards of Canada, Flying Saucer Attack, Loop Guru, Aphex Twin, FSOL, Orbital, MBV, Shpongle, Swirlies, William Orbit, Blonde Redhead, Dead Can Dance, Freescha, Massive Attack, (early) Stereolab, Mermen, Ulrich Schnauss, Beats Antique. I'd be impressed if you've heard of Durutti Column. I'm also a child of the 80s, so it's difficult not to sing along with any cure/smiths/police/neworder/depeche/etc. song.
Food: I'm a locavore omnivore foodie.
I like everything about language (wordplay and puns, humor like engrish, etymologies, foreign languages), geography, world history, and so on.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
the arc of worldwide energy sources, how this will affect everyone, and how to prepare... you know the cliche about considering the next 7 generations? I don't think anyone can do that, but I can at least try to make things livable for the next 2-3 generations or so, and (hopefully) limit the fraction of the biosphere we (as a species) are going to take down with us. This stems from my deep, spiritual, heart connection to the earth.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Probably online, doing something geeky like improving Wikipedia articles. That would change if I had a partner to do things with - perhaps that's you!
In the past two years, I have been often attending ecstatic dance in SF and Oakland (although those aren't on Friday..)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I write erotica, published online anonymously. I hope you'll take that the right way - that I am literate and imaginative, not deviant.

I own a plush vampire squid (Vampyroteuthis infernalis).

Sometimes when I'm tipsy, I speak in a vaguely British accent.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you are a statistical outlier. For some sociological reasons, it seems that women don't message men on okcupid, but please, defy the conventions and send me a note.