Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

bklyn691

43 F Brooklyn, NY

I’m looking for

  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 35–50
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Sep 14
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 6″ (1.68m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Pisces, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Other
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has a kid
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Poorly), Spanish (Poorly), Swedish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
After a bit of a break I am back online to enjoy the challenges (frustrations?) of internet dating. Some thoughts about who I am and who I am hoping to find out there:

I’m an independent person who is comfortable being on my own, but would love to be with someone who makes me feel lucky and who makes me laugh.

Affection is almost always a good thing.

I am generally attracted to people that are different than me in some way – culture, upbringing, profession, etc. – but need to share core values with the person I’m with.

How someone treats waiters, cab drivers and cashiers is a good indication of the kind of person they are.

Intelligence and curiosity can be very sexy.

Being single is not always fun, but it’s much worse to feel alone in a relationship.

As for the logistics, I'm definitely a city girl - I've lived in Brooklyn for over 20 years, in Crown Heights for the last five - so if you're settled out in the suburbs we're probably not the best match.

And loving to dance is good – preferably salsa or tango – but that’s a bonus, not a requirement.

Hopefully the rest we could figure out.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I work in child welfare and care a lot about my work, but try to maintain balance. I became a parent to a young woman in foster care six years ago - although she's now living on her own she's still very much a part of my life, and has made it immeasurably more full.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Dancing, for the most part, though I don't do enough of it. Making up summer salads and winter soups. Rooting for the underdog. Hosting friends. I notice details and see the beauty in small things. I'll befriend almost any dog who's waiting for its owner to come out of the store and untie it.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm generally letting my hair do its curly thing these days.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Most of my reading time is filled by the Times and the New Yorker, but I have happily also had some time for novels recently; old favorites are Song of Solomon, All the King's Men, Poisonwood Bible, John Irving, Garcia Marquez, the Rabbit books, almost all Faulkner and Salinger, among others. I like both smart movies and John Hughes teen flicks, and avoid horror or anything with more digital people than actual people.

I love going to see live music, especially at BAM Cafe or somewhere with a dance floor - I don't know all the coolest bands but will happily go see them with you. I DVR Mad Men, WNTW and DWTS (guilty pleasures) and miss Friday Night Lights (maybe the best network show since Homicide). Eating out and cooking something together at home are both fun - while I tend towards healthy I'm definitely not a dainty eater.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Family and friends. Sunlight, the beach, music, something to read on the subway.

Hopefully most material things end up being unnecessary, but I'd also put up a fight for my photographs, the things my grandmother left me, my house, my elephant bell, and the fossilized mastodon tooth I got in New Orleans (which I do believe is an actual FMT even though I have no documentation to prove it - isn't believing better than not?).
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Where I am in my life right now, and what's next. Balance. My daughter. My frustration with this country's politics. House stuff. Hoping that there will be a parking space on my block when I get home.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Happy it's Friday.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Part of me believes that if I paint my toenails red it will help the Red Sox win.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
Something about what I've written strikes you. If 'Where the Streets Have No Name' makes you want to roll down the car windows and sing at the top of your lungs. If you'll get up and dance, even if you're not good at it. If you're willing to write more than "hi" or "what's up?" and know the difference between its and it's - but please, no endless emails back and forth... the point of this is to actually meet people, right?