50 Hillsborough, NC
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I enjoy hiking, camping, backpacking, paddling, rafting, skiing, gardening, playing with my dog, and working on home-improvement projects. I like my job and have a great recently-launched son. I'm certainly not perfect, but I'm getting better all the time. I'm not looking for perfection either, but I want to spend time with a man who is active, health-conscious, and intelligent. I expect a lot from you because that is what I have to offer. If honesty is not on your agenda, please keep looking.

I want to see pictures of YOU - headless abs, motorcycles, and fish do nothing for me (but pictures of your dog are great - you can tell a lot about a person by their dog). I also want to read your words to find out how you think and communicate. Empty profiles don't interest me, but if yours is empty, I wish you well on your search.

The right person for me enjoys time in nature and live music. He will be healthy physically and emotionally, not smoke, enjoy being active, and want to eat a healthy diet. He enjoys telling me about his day and wants to know about mine as well. He values his time with me, is affectionate, articulate, and acknowledges our need to be alone occasionally.
What I’m doing with my life
Sitting by the campfire, the Blue Ridge Mountain stars twinkling above the forest, listening to the waterfall down the trail and the chirps of the tree frogs. Watching the sun sink into the ocean, sitting on Sunset Beach with a glass of wine for me and a tennis ball for my dog. Hiking to the top of Hanging Rock to watch the sunrise. Rafting on the Ocoee or paddling on the Haw. These are the moments that are best when they're shared with the right person. "Life is for deep kisses, strange adventures, midnight swims, and rambling conversations."

Trying to be a good parent has been one of the most important things in my life. My son has recently left the nest and now it's my turn to fly as well. I want adventure, creativity, and occasional quiet times in my life.

I grew up in CT, and lived in CO and CA... always drawn to mountains, it seems. I'm thinking about where I might want to go next. It seems there are many more like-minded people either out west or up north, than there are here.

I'm (still) planning a thru-hike on the Appalachian Trail sometime soon and would really like to meet someone who would enjoy 4 months of hiking with me.
I’m really good at
giving and receiving backrubs, cooking breakfast, starting campfires, being honest, listening, being patient, taking my time to get to know someone...
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm a happy person... and I'm short
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My all-time favorite books are "A Prayer for Owen Meaney", "Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance", "A Walk in the Woods", and "The Tao of Pooh". I usually read Sci-fi or Fantasy genres, but Joseph Campbell, C. S. Lewis and John Muir are my heroes.

A few of my favorite movies in no particular order are Being There, Brazil, Bridesmaids, A Fish Called Wanda, Casablanca, Les Miserables, all of LOTR, all Harry Potters, Cold Mountain, Cloud Atlas, Terminator I and II, Dr. Zhivago, and Out of Africa.

I'm a Whovian (10 is my favorite doctor), also enjoy Breaking Bad, Lost, 24, 30 Rock, Arrested Development, Prison Break, Orange is the New Black, Fringe, Game of Thrones (and the books, too), SoA (no spoilers, please)... but only on Netflix - I can't stand watching actual tv.

Music is more important to me than any other entertainment, especially live music. I think musical compatibility is the best way to tell if we might click. The soundtrack to my life lately includes Ray LaMontagne, Avett Brothers, Mumford & Sons, , Patty Griffin, Bon Iver, Wilco, Nick Drake, Iron & Wine, Gomez, Alison Krauss, Grace Potter, Greensky Bluegrass and always Van Morrison... mostly Indie singer/songwriters and I'm always on the lookout for hearing them live. I also enjoy Baroque, Reggae, Blues, Jam, and EDM.
The six things I could never do without
Mountains, whitewater, rivers, touch, music, my [[dogs].
I spend a lot of time thinking about
how to stay in the present and still plan for the future...
On a typical Friday night I am
Getting ready for a weekend trip or out with friends, relaxing at home, or starting on my weekend renovation project.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
don't let me pick the wine... I have terrible luck with that.
You should message me if like dogs and cats, enjoy outdoor activities and live music, are politically liberal/centrist, don't smoke, have a healthy lifestyle, and have something to say. You may not be aware of this, but "form letter" emails stand out like a sore thumb and unless you've read my profile and you want to talk about something we have in common, I'm not likely to respond.