Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

bluegraytanager

24 F Oxford, UK

I’m looking for

  • Everybody
  • Ages 20–30
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Today – 12:47pm
Orientation
Bisexual
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Not at all
Drugs
Never
Religion
Catholicism
Sign
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Fluently), Indonesian (Okay), German (Poorly), Swahili (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a scientist with a degree in mathematics who speaks a bunch of languages (very badly) and who writes stories that mostly never see the light of day. I'm also super-organized, have played some very strange musical instruments, and have odd opinions about what constitutes enjoyable physical activity.

Some things I enjoy doing with my friends include trying new and often-disastrous recipes, playing board games, watching sports (especially cricket!), discussing books or world news, spending time outdoors, admiring cute animals, going to plays or museums, and pondering people's motivations. My friends tend to be adventurous, intellectually curious, emotionally intelligent, loyal, and generally competent, but it takes all types, so even if you don't think that you have any of those qualities, I promise not to hate you, at least not immediately.

Any of those activities sound like fun? Interested in getting to know a queer* American woman who gets overly excited about basically everything? Send me a message. I swear I don't bite.

* In my case, "queer" = panromantic asexual. Basically, I'm in the market for friends. And/or hiking buddies. And/or travel buddies. More than that can be discussed after we figure out whether we get along.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Trying to get a PhD, exploring as much of the UK as time and money permit, and finding a tenable balance between work, friends, and self.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Planning trips, baking pies, being loud and bouncy, and clumsily running into and/or tripping over stuff.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
The North American accent, sadly. Trust me, if I could do a proper English accent, I would.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: So many books! So many! Just about anything by Mercedes Lackey, Tamora Pierce, or Lynn Flewelling. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. The Passage by Justin Cronin. Room by Emma Donoghue. Garth Nix. Game of Thrones and Harry Potter, obviously. For mysteries, Tony Hillerman and Louise Penny. Classics: Dickens, Shakespeare, Wilkie Collins, Austen, Chaucer, and Spenser. Non-fiction: Andrew Solomon, And the Band Played On, Behind the Beautiful Forevers. And probably a million other books that have slipped my mind at the moment...

Movies: Des Hommes et des Dieux, Joyeux Noel, Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Schindler's List, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, Rent, Sweeney Todd.

Shows: The West Wing, Law and Order, Firefly, Dollhouse, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Downton Abbey, Orange is the New Black.

Music: I like world music, classical anything, Broadway showtunes, Welcome to Nightvale's "The Weather," and whatever was just reviewed on NPR's "Fresh Air."

Food: Just about anything! I love cooking, baking, and eating things that other people have cooked or baked, current favorites being anything with aubergine and/or cheese, anything Indian or Thai or Turkish or Moroccan, and anything chocolate.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1) My glasses.
2) Chai tea.
3) Sleep.
4) Physical activity.
5) Fresh air.
6) A good book.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Politics, how awesome grammar is, and how cute cats are.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Catching up on sleep! Or, these days, still in the lab. I have very boring Friday nights. :-)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I have prosopagnosia ("face blindness"), which means that I don't correctly process people's faces. And it's not just with strangers -- I've failed to recognize exes and even my own parents. So unless you have distinctive hair or clothing, don't take it personally if I don't know who you are!
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You like playing board games, you want to try a new and not-too-expensive restaurant in Oxford, you're in the market for a hiking buddy, or you want to geek out about something mentioned in my profile.