Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


37 Portland, OR Man


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 26-42
  • Near me
  • For new friends

My details

Last online
Jan 27
5' 9" (1.75m)
Body Type
Average build
Agnosticism but it’s not important
Doesn’t have kids
English, French (Somewhat), Latin (Somewhat)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Disclaimer: I'm a few days away from getting shoulder surgery as a result of someone rear-ending my car at a very high rate of speed. Thus, I may not be the most outgoing person for the next few weeks. However, you may end up getting some deliriously hilarious responses if your timing is right.

Portland has been my home for most of the last eight years, except for a calamitous detour to Big Sur, California for part of 2011 and 2012. I've been back in Oregon for about a year now, but I still feel pretty distant from this city. I'm working on fixing this, and I'm a pretty good tour guide of this wonderful place.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Debating whether to finally publicly post my pinball-related Kickstarter project. Working for a big boring company preventing 6000 Macintosh users/employees from fucking up their computers. Saving my money to buy a house in southeast Portland.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Surreptitiously using movie quotes/song lyrics/lines from The Simpsons in normal conversation. Drinking/recommending Imperial IPA's. Making Bloody Mary's and a consistent cup of coffee. Pinball. Sitting at a bar by myself (this is an underrated skill.) Fixing your Mac (it pays the bills.) Convincing people to switch to credit unions and biodiesel. Destroying diesel Volkswagens (I'm on my third.) Making friends with bartenders (another underrated skill.) Losing all of my worldly possessions to catastrophe (Big Sur fire, Virginia basement flood.) The barter system.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
That I'm terrible at making eye contact.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Music: Grandaddy/Jason Lytle/Admiral Radley/Earlimart, The Flaming Lips, The Decemberists, Neko Case, Arcade Fire, Built to Spill, Belle & Sebastian, Fiona Apple, Tilly and the Wall, Cursive/The Good Life/Tim Kasher, Those Darlins, Elliott Smith, The Smiths, Weezer, Death Cab for Cutie/Postal Service/All-Time Quarterback/Benjamin Gibbard, R.E.M., Camper Van Beethoven, Camera Obscura, Stereolab, internet radio... especially big band stations like KCEA

Movies: Lost in Translation, The Fountain, Secretary, Almost Famous, 28 Days Later, Hard Candy, Exotica, Anything by Jeunet et Caro, Anything by Hayao Miyazaki, Anything by Pixar, Anything with Audrey Hepburn, Christopher Nolan's Batman Trilogy, Inglourious Basterds, Good Will Hunting, The Girlfriend Experience, The Shawshank Redemption, Trainspotting, Hotel Chevalier, Up in the Air, Midnight in Paris, There Will Be Blood, Rushmore, Winter's Bone, The Science of Sleep, The Goonies

TV: The Walking Dead, Firefly, Mad Men, Game of Thrones, Battlestar Galactica, The Simpsons, The Discovery Channel, The Science Channel, The History Channel, Downton Abbey, Carnivàle, X-Files, Pinky and The Brain, The Colbert Report, classic Twilight Zone/The Outer Limits/etc.

Authors: Vladimir Nabokov, J.D. Salinger, Cormac McCarthy, J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, Alan Moore, Frank Miller, Neil Gaiman, Jim Shooter
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
In no particular order...

- Portland
- local grocery stores
- a German diesel car (I like long road trips too much to go car-free)
- coffee beans/burr grinder/french press
- cheap movie theaters
- pinball
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Cursing the crowds that keep me from wanting to go out, thus making me wait until Sunday - Thursday for public drinking and half-hearted attempts at socializing.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I grew up on a sheep farm in Virginia and got stampeded by a herd of 30 of them when I was six years old.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You like drinking good coffee, Bloody Mary's and/or local beer, playing pinball or chess, eating good food or wasting away the day in the Laurelhurst Theater. Having and/or appreciating a morose sense of humor helps. Oh, and you like doing these things with at least one other person... sometimes.