Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

brandyelf

45 F Marcy, NY

I’m looking for

  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 29–76
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends

My Details

Last Online
Feb 7, 2009
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 2″ (1.57m)
Body Type
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Christianity, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Leo, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Technology
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has a kid
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I am a software engineer. Some days I love my job, some days I hate it. I am very active in the Methodist church. I sing in the choir, and help teach Sunday School. I love to quilt, crochet, and make things with my hands. I also love to read anything and everything.

I am an intelligent, emotional, caring woman who tries to have fun no matter what I'm doing. I think we as a society spend too much time living in the past or planning the future, and not enough time living in the present. Don't get me wrong, I think the past is important because it makes us who we are, and I think planning for the future is important because one day I won't be here anymore and I'd like to know my daughter is going to be taken care of, but I think what you do today is the most important thing.

I am looking for a long-term relationship, mainly, with someone that I enjoy spending time with and who appreciates me. I can always use more friends, though! I have a daughter who is about to turn 7 years old and lives with me full-time. I actually am fairly satisfied with my life the way it is currently. I hope to find someone to share it with, but if I don't, I'm content with the way things are at the moment. I just want more :)

I tend to be a home-body. Given a night to myself, I might go to Barnes and Noble for coffee and a little social time, but then it's back home to work on whatever quilt or afghan I'm currently constructing. I make one or the other (or both!) for just about everyone I know. I also donate them to homeless or women's shelters, and I've made tiny quilts for preemies. Some confuse my desire to be at home and making things with not having a life. There are definitely nights I would prefer to be out doing something, and when those strike, I get out if I can, but many times it's by choice. I like being in my own space :)

I do try to return email everyone who contacts me, but sometimes it takes me a little while to do so. Between working full-time and my daughter and her 8-million activities, my schedule is rather hectic!

The strangely accurate personality test says I am an ISFP.

I am bright, warm, and empathetic
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Most of the time? It feels like what I'm doing is maintaining. My job isn't great (although it has its moments), but it isn't horrible, and it pays the bills. It's improving, though, which makes me happy. I'm happy with my home and my daughter. I am always working on making myself a better person. I do lots of community work through my church, but wish I had time to volunteer somewhere again.

I'm just starting to date again after a long (self-imposed) hiatus. I'm open to emailing and talking to people, meeting people... just putting myself out there again. My daughter and I are a wonderful family unit, but I'm open to finding someone who adds to our circle.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
troubleshooting a problem, and designing a solution. Another strength of mine is breaking down a goal into manageable pieces (as far as software engineering is concerned, anyway) I am also good at explaining things in a way that people can understand. I've been told I am good at cheering people up and making them laugh. I also like to help people feel good about themselves.

I do like to try new things. I went golfing for the first time ever this summer, and liked it enough that I now own my own clubs, and my daughter and I both took a few lessons this summer. We like to go to a local Par 3 and play. We're horrible, but we have a good time playing!

I also recently went bowling again for the first time in... over 20 years, I'd have to say. I'd forgotten how much I like it :) I'm actually not too bad at it, either, although I'm inconsistent. My daughter goes with me, and she still needs the bumpers. Again, though, with us it's more about having fun and doing something together than actually being awesome. We're awesome enough in how much fun we have, I think! ;)
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I've been told the first thing people notice about me is my smile. I smile a lot :) I am also short (5'2"), but I've been told my personality is taller than I am (the tall shoes probably help), and when people realize how small I really am, they're usually surprised.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I love to read. I over-research everything. When faced with a problem, or when I start something new, I buy books. I read relationship books, computer books, quilting books, Christian books... I like to read as many different viewpoints on a subject as I can so I can decide for myself what I believe to be true. For fiction books, I prefer mystery novels with a strong female character such as books by Patricia Cornwall, Sue Grafton, even some Nora Roberts (although her romance novels get a bit much for me) I also love to read Michael Crichton and Tom Clancy.

Movies... I like them :) I prefer dramas ("chick flicks" in particular, I admit it!) and comedies, I don't usually want "heavy" in my movies, although there are times that I do. I love old movies most of all. Some nights I'll just turn on TCM and watch whatever's on.

Music... anything but Rap. My first college degree is in Music, so I have rather wide and varied tastes. My favourite music would have to be 80s (hair bands in particular) or a'cappella music. I also enjoy Christian rock. A friend of mine loaned me a ton of 70s music recently and I listened to that for awhile, but my iPod is currently filled with all sorts of 80s music.

I'm a little strange about food, I suppose. I follow a pretty low-carb lifestyle, so mostly meat, cheese, and vegetables. I love to try new food, though. When I lived outside of NYC, one of my favourite things to do was pick a different ethnic restaurant and try foods I'd never had before. When I lived in Albany, there was a little Jamaican place we frequented that was my favourite place to eat. It's been gone awhile now, though. I also love Indian food, but haven't had it in awhile. My favourite ethnic food is most likely Mexican.

I also enjoy experimenting in the kitchen. One of my daughter's and my favourite activities is "Experiment Night", where she picks an ingredient (broccoli, or chicken, or whatever she's in the mood for) and I'll come up with a recipe that uses that ingredient, something neither one of us has ever had. Some nights, it works well, other nights.... well, suffice it to say the Pizza Man knows us :)
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
off the top of my head, in no particular order... my daughter, coffee, LC rocky road ice cream, computers, my sewing machine, and toe rings.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
life, what I want from it, and how to get myself there. I also spend a lot of time lately being introspective, looking at the person I am, and trying to improve. I believe that we never stop learning, and we never stop growing.

Lately, I've also spent a lot of time thinking about what qualities I want in a potential mate. Intelligence, certainly. I love to talk, and I love to listen. Attraction is also a definite. Without it, you might have a good friendship (and there's nothing wrong with that!) but without that extra spark, that's all it can be. Desire to improve oneself is also important, I'm a huge proponent of personal growth. A sense of humour is also huge. Life can get way too serious without the ability to laugh. I do it often :)

Let's see, what else... I've spent a lot of time thinking about baby stuff, not for the reasons you might think. I work for a small (25 people or so) branch office of a huge corporation, and two of my coworker's wives are expecting, and one other just became a grandfather, so I've been spending a lot of time designing and creating baby blankets lately.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
out with friends and their kids bowling or mini-golfing, or having a family movie or game night at home. On the rare occasions I have a sitter on Friday night, I might be found at the bookstore lost in whatever subject interests me at the moment.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Friends are as valuable to me as finding someone to love. (Ok, I'm not willing to put anything that's all that private here)
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
1) You're a geek, or like talking to one
2) You understand the fine line between giving me the attention (which is a good thing), and stalking (which is a bad thing)
3) You like to laugh
4) You like kids (as I have one)