brettsails
56 New York, NY
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
brettsails
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I find it very difficult to "Summarize" myself, so I'm going to keep this simple, kind of a list I guess, even though that won't give you much of a feel for the things that I love, or my sense of humor (I have a good one, I swear). I'm a self employed Criminal Defense Attorney, a Volunteer Firefighter, and an avid Sailor and Skier. Work is not, and never will be, the focal point of my life. I march to the beat of my own drummer. I haven't driven a car since January 25th, 1987. My last cup of coffee came 7 months later. I've never taken a Selfie. I've never sent a text, and really don't want to. If I like you enough to want to communicate with you, I'd like to hear your voice. I laugh when people who are walking and texting walk into things, unless that thing is me. I think Apple is a Cult. I am incredibly outspoken. I have a soft side, but I don't show it to everyone. I like to Bake, and, if I do say so myself, make the best Man Made Brownies on Earth! I eat Breakfast food for Dinner. I have a TV. I can't stand the tone of voice used by virtually everyone who has ever uttered the phrase "I don't have a TV". I like, respect, and very much would like to meet, Healthy, Outdoorsy type women, Independent, Really Smart, Self-Sufficient, and not Overly Sensitive. I find a wide variety of looks to be appealing, but I really love women with a "natural" sort of look. I was like 40 when I discovered that almost all women color their hair. That discovery nearly lead to the death-by-laughter of one of my female friends as she educated me. I'm not a fan of tats or body piercings (although the belly button thing is pretty sexy!) I really don't want to date Princesses, Smokers (I have Asthma, and truly hate smoking), or Republicans. I'm proud to be what I like to call a Rational Liberal, and I just don't want to be with someone who sees the world so differently than I do. At this point in my life I have no interest in drama. I am close to my family. I'm a Native New Yorker, Manhattan born and bred, and to maintain my sanity I own a home on Fire Island, where I spend a tremendous amount of time, year round. I keep a 19' Flying Scot Sail Boat there, and Sail about 50-80 days a year.
The questions they ask you to answer here are kind of silly, but somehow I answered 175 of them! I kept thinking the next one would be the last, but..... They're really no substitute for a real conversation, which is the only way to get to know someone, I think.
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE stop sending me emails from Eastern Europe!!! The same for anyone not in New York!! I don't want to be a Dick, but I will never respond!!! I'm really not interested in meeting anyone who doesn't live in NY. Sorry, but it's a waste of everybody's time. And I will not reply to anyone who doesn't have at least one,and preferably a lot more than one, picture. And please don't contact me if you've lied about your age. Massive turn-off. Who does that???

I've already seen the profiles of 4 women that I actually know. Yikes!

If you really want to have some fun on this site, click the Moderation Tab!!! Woo Hoo!!!!

I am funny, interesting, and down to earth, and I value those qualities in a partner.
What I’m doing with my life
Most, but not all, of what I want.
The first things people usually notice about me
That my eyes are a very unusual shade of Brown. Actually, I have no idea. If I knew what people notice I probably wouldn't be single.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I'll eat almost anything, except most fish. I love historical fiction, Sci-Fi movies and TV, Americana music, and Jazz from around 1955-65. I can't stand Rap or most Hip Hop, and believe fervently that Rock 'n Roll is the traditional music of My People!!!
The six things I could never do without
1) Fire Island. I NEVER get tired of spending time there.
2) Sailing, which I plan to do till I drop, and Skiing, which I plan to do as long as I can at a high level.
3) My Family and Friends.
4) My Fireplace, which I have spent many beautiful evenings in front of.
5) Service to my Community, which I fulfill as a Volunteer Firefighter.
6) Voting. I do it every year, and have never gotten over the giddy thrill that I felt the first time.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Way too much
On a typical Friday night I am
Relaxing on Fire Island, year round.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm probably not as open to the possibilities of on-line dating as I should be. I need encouragment, ladies :)
You should message me if
You think I sound interesting, and want to meet me :)
More