Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

brian2092

34 San Mateo, CA Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 22–35
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Dec 14
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Catholicism, and laughing about it
Sign
Cancer, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Technology
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Okay), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a computer programmer by day, and a restless soul at night (or, hmm, considering my schedule, vice-versa). I went to college around here; after a stint in New Mexico for graduate school, I came back ... I love the feel of the area, and couldn't stay away.

I spend a lot of time in front of my computer, so I'm eager to explore stuff away from it. I used to dance regularly (swing, salsa, ballroom, etc); nowadays it's an irregular thing, but one I still enjoy. I spend a few hours a week at the gym, but go through cycles about how happy I am at being there :)

I keep buying video games but not taking the time to play them. I regularly run out of space in my netflix queue. I buy books but know I won't get around to even trying them for months. Pop culture moves too fast!

I do actually read a lot, but I only have time to do so on weekends or when I take the train into San Francisco. On those weekends, I am often curled up in bed reading, or, if the weather is nice, I'll walk to a park and read on the bench. I try to mix up my reading genres and different feels of books, but my main focus -- the section I check at the library and bookstore every time -- is fantasy and science fiction.

My most watched movie genres are probably comedies, and I have an embarrassing weakness for romantic comedies. (I would never describe most of these films as "good", but I'll watch 'em). But action or thriller movies are great distractions when I'm working out, and nobody expresses nihilism like French movies. (Or maybe that's the subtitle authors at work ... my 1-quarter-of-French oral comprehension is basically nonexistent).

I am introverted, introspective, and cliched
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
In somewhat of a waiting period at the moment. I'm looking for a more permanent location on the Peninsula, and in a job I like most days which I've had for a while. I feel like things should change, but I'm not sure exactly in what direction.

I like trying to 'improve myself', so I periodically go on projects where I take online courses, try to write a short story a week, and so on. Some of these projects work out better than others.

I think some days of going back into a phd program.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Various geek things. But in life as in video games, I'm usually not very good at things to start with, but if I persist at something, I can get the hang of it.

I'm not great at it, but I do really like dancing. I've done a lot of ballroom in the past, along with some club dances like west coast swing and salsa. I don't really like competing in dance events, though, so not doing a lot with ballroom at the moment. Socially, I'm mostly doing swing because it's so much about the dancing and the improvisation.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
If it's in a small group on certain (probably nerdy) topics, that I have opinions, and I'm not afraid to express them. In a larger group, they'll probably never notice me at all...
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I really like summer movies. If I were in charge, the Oscar winners would be a lot different.

Mulholland Drive (mysterious imagery, beautiful women, makes almost no sense on the first viewing -- what's not to like?); The Prestige (perhaps my favorite movie post-2000). Musicals are fun -- I like all of Rocky Horror Picture Show, Moulin Rouge, and Sweeney Todd. On the other hand, I really don't like Sondheim's Into the Woods and I *hate* Carousel.

I read pretty indiscriminately within genre fiction, but some of my favorites recently read include The Kingkiller Chronicles by Rothfuss, The Song of Ice And Fire (Game of Thrones, etc) by Martin, and Catch-22 by Heller.

Every few years I subscribe to some magazines before I realize I won't keep up with them and let the subscription expire. I'm currently subscribed to two and ... sure enough, I'm an issue behind on each already.

Music wise, I generally collect music based on danceability. The only genres that I typically avoid are rap and opera (both of which are sometimes good, but too low hit to noise ratio for my preferences). So pop, r&b, blues, swing are all in heavy rotation; I also really like folk and neo-folk.

I love burritos and lasagna. I used to really like Thai food, but I think I overindulged one year and am still recovering ... I enjoy it, but never seek it out any more.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1. My glasses or contacts. Not a fan of being helpless at a distance, after all. :)
2. My Internet access.
3. Something to do. I get bored easily.
4. Hope! :p
5. A placeholder I can use to end a list.
6. Make that two.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Narrative tropes, and how they influence what we do.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Even odds between being at the gym, out dancing, and eating out.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I talk to myself when I think I'm alone.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
anything sounds like it wants a response, or if you just want to get something off your chest, or, you know, you feel an inner impulse to do so.

(I should note in an excess of over-information that I am not fond of driving very much, so while I'd love to meet up with people in the bay area, distance/travel time might be a factor for longer-term relationships)

Add a photo to:

Stay fresh with Instagram

Are you sure you want to delete this album?

Where's your photo?

Drop it like it’s hot

Photos must be at least 400 x 400px
Edit thumbnail
Add a caption

You look fantastic!