Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

brooklynjm

42 M Brooklyn, NY

My Details

Last Online
Today – 8:16am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Other
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Other, but not too serious about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Has dogs and has cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Years of living in NYC and I pushed to conform to a life I didn't want. So I chucked it all and moved to the Caribbean where a pirate's life seems to be more suitable to my temperament. I traded the intensity of the city for the chaos of a third world country and so far, so good. I periodically fly back to NYC for business and supplies.

I'm a well-behaved, respectful mad-man (and not like the show).
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm semi-retired and live on an island of misfits and their toys. I spend much of my time outdoors and in the water - I kiteboard when there's enough wind and ride enduro motocross when there's not and some days consist of a mix of the two. When not out sporting, I read, write and take photos.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Making drunk people look dignified and sometimes epic in photos. This is much harder than I first anticipated....

Naming chickens and dogs.

Finding humor in everyday life though not at other people's expense. Washing dishes. Accepting and enjoying the Rashomons of life.

Being nice to waitstaff and most people who work with the public - even the bitter folks at the DMV and post office.

Piggybacking folks - once carried a very tipsy friend two avenue blocks in a rainstorm so her shoes wouldn't get wet. She held two umbrellas over us deflecting the downpour. Hmmm, maybe there's a call for this kind of service....
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Dimples when I smile and when it's humid, my hair curls.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: East of Eden(big Steinbeck fan), Cryptonomicon, Blood Meridian, Catch-22, Slaughterhouse 5, Working, The Wave, Sound and the Fury, To Kill A Mockingbird, Vineland, The Outsiders, Moby Dick, Managing Ignatius. Authors: Raymond Carver, John Cheever, Sherman Alexie, Pablo Neruda, Jon Jackson, Jack Black(not the actor), Bukowski, HS Thompson, EE Cummings, Jim Harrison, Junot Diaz and many, many more. David Foster Wallace leaves me cold so far (apologies, I'm trying).

Movies: Caddyshack, Coen brothers, The Big Sleep, Pixar movies, Monty Python, 180º South, Time Bandits, Drunken Master 1 + 2, District B13, The Big Blue, Kick-Ass, Point Break (yeah!), Fast and the Furious, Tokyo Drift and so many others.

Tv: Long Way Round, Deadwood, 30 Rock, Breaking Bad, Dr Who(new and old), Justified, old 80s shows like Buck Rogers. Random things on Netflix streaming. I grew up with an odd combination of Flying Circus, Rat Patrol/Adam 12, Electric Company, Mr Rogers, Barba Poppa, Muppet Show, Kung Fu Theater and Creature Double Feature.

Music: A few include Amon Tobin, Kings of Convenience, Coltrane, Rahsaan Roland Kirk, Ralph Stanley, Johnny Cash, Frank Sinatra, Lou Reed(New York, wow), Bill Evans, The Meters. Os Mutantes, Bebel Gilberto. I can be here for days. I lack a snob factor - if I like it, I like it - Karaoke lessens any guilt by a factor of 1000. Soundcloud is an endless fascination.

Food: Any cuisine, with the exception of endangered animals (sharkfin soup, etc) and stunt food like double-atomic wings or 12 pound burgers. I keep to the healthy, "organic" side but won't hesitate to try something new(like bacon fat donuts). I know where food comes from and have been intimately involved with it on many levels.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Besides the usual mix of
Food/water/air/shelter/love
1. Learning/stimulation
2. Physical activity preferably around water
3. Alone time
4. Creative thoughts and actions
5. Awareness
6. humor and wit
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
My future first trip to South America. (coming in 2015, perhaps - wanderlust abounds in island life)

The idea of living in a place where I can surf/kite everyday(check)
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
recovering from a kite session or a ride with beer and good friends followed by food, drink and occasional mayhem.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I lift weights while listening to polka.

I get many, many good books to read from the profiles I visit on okcupid.

I'm also not into answering the sex questions on here. Will say I'm quite open minded and not easily shocked.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 29–45
  • Located anywhere
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you're a kind, well-balanced woman who likes to laugh, seeks adventure(s) and and can share a unique view of this world.