AV_3
30 San Francisco, CA
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
AV_3
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Something that I learned in high school and which I continue to try to remember every day is to constantly strive for self improvement. Whether it's physical, mental, emotional, psychological, or any other -al, I am always on the look out for what I can be doing better and how to become a better person. Although it's basically a never ending challenge, I see it as an opportunity to grow. And besides, it keeps me on my toes!

A bit of background about me: I grew up in the Chicago suburbs, but went to Berkeley for my undergrad. I've been fortunate to travel a bit over the years, including living in London for a year in college and for three months in 2014. Currently living and working in SF, and life is good!
What I’m doing with my life
If I had to use just one word, I'd go with: Learning

As far as employment goes, I work in business development at a tech company.

Outside of work: I'm working out, going on hikes, volunteering a bit, spending time with friends in the city, and reading (which usually means catching up on last weeks' issue of the New Yorker). Currently contemplating taking some more improv classes (it's all about "yes, and..." right?), and have recently been dabbling in hip hop dance classes.
I’m really good at
naming that song from the 90s, adding to my "to read" stack (always open to recommendations!), and not forgetting to say "please" and "thank you"
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Anything by Salman Rushdie. Some other favorites include Cutting for Stone, Cloud Atlas, Middlesex, Shantaram, and All Creatures Great & Small. Just finished reading Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights, and now reading In the Kingdom of Ice: The Grand and Terrible Polar Voyage of the USS Jeannette.

Movies: Office Space, Shawshank Redemption, Hero, and Inglorious Basterds. I also really enjoy Christopher Nolan's films.

Shows: South Park, Archer, The Wire, Sherlock, and Arrested Development. Just finished Master of None, which was awesome although sometimes a little too on point :)

Music: Some favorites include A Tribe Called Quest, Air, Andrew Bird, Blind Pilot, Drake, Fleet Foxes, Frank Ocean, Girlyman, Guster, John Legend, Kanye, Kendrick Lamar, Kid Cudi, Kings of Convenience, Koop, Nujabes, Rilo Kiley, Sufjan Stevens, Tune-Yards, and Washed Out. I'm always looking to hear something new, and I'm very partial to music with a strong beat.

Food: I know "you don't win friends with salad", but the tea leaf salad at Burma Superstar is fantastic
The six things I could never do without
Aside from family and friends:

* Public transit (even when muni finds new ways to be shitty...don't get me started on the nightly 9:30PM shutdown)
* Physical activity/exercise
* Foam rolling
* Humility
* A sense of humor
* Books
I spend a lot of time thinking about
healthy living, the path to fulfillment, socioeconomic inequality, and lighter stuff like "what's for dinner?"
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Nah this question is more fun to chat about in person!
You should message me if
you want to meet for a drink, an urban hike, or some ice cream/froyo. Meeting in person > endless messaging
More