48 Portland, OR
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I grew up in Baltimore and stopped off in a few places before landing in Portland about 20 years ago. Does that make me a real Portlander? Maybe, but I still get in trouble with my east coast sarcasm. Then again, I left Baltimore when I was seventeen so I guess west is edging out east. Does this matter? Apparently one of the things "I am really good at" is rambling with a keyboard. Let's just say that I love teasing the people I really care about (east) but I know when to shut up and play nice (west).

I enjoy travel and reading. Education has always been a high priority for me but I like to strike a balance between intellectual and visceral pursuits. I am equally happy reading a good book or surfing. While I love the physical experience of a tropical beach, I also crave the cultural stimulation of an urban setting. Luckily, I have friends in Hawaii and New York! Let's not forget Portland, though - the adventure/culture mix here is like a stay-cation every day.

So I guess I am looking for someone who can really enjoy the physical exertion of outdoor adventure and follow up with a discussion about the physics or poetry of that adventure at happy hour.

Then there's the goofy part. Ideally we can pull this off without ever taking ourselves too seriously. None of it is worthwhile without humor and fun. I am a big fan of silliness and I like hanging out with kids. Did I mention my kids?

I adore my two sons but I try not to be an annoyingly over-doting parent. It's hard though, they are very cool people. That said, I like my time with other adults during my "free" half of each week.

I have been divorced for several years. That's significant because the experts say that it takes a couple years for all the dust to settle. I can say I feel pretty confident that the baggage has been organized and securely stowed. Moving forward, I have simultaneous feelings of eagerness and patience. I feel optimism for the future while being comfortable in the present.

I have recently been doing more adventure/activity and it feels fantastic. I'm excited to keep that going; and a few more good conversations would hit the spot. Good fun is always better when shared. I like being really engaged with someone - through conversation, activity, or just proximity.
What I’m doing with my life
I have a fulfilling and enjoyable job as a designer and small business owner. Between this and being a dad, I stay pretty busy. But I am on top of things enough that I have plenty of free time in between.

I also spend a fair amount of time self reflectively. I think I have a pretty good handle on recognizing my strengths and challenges. So - at the risk of sounding new age - I'm practicing awareness.
I’m really good at
Listening when it is time to listen
Talking when it is time to talk.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Vladimir Nabokov, Graham Greene, John Irving, Johnathan Franzen, David Foster Wallace, Jane Austen, Hermann Hesse
Woody Allen, Cohen Brothers, Paul Thomas Anderson
Blues, Funk, Paul Simon, Black Joe Lewis, Soundgarden, Frank Zappa, Soul Coughing, Rickie Lee Jones, David Bowie
Favorite Places: Portland, Copenhagen, New York, SF, London, Monterosso, any tropical beach
The six things I could never do without
a pen
a book or notebook
a good conversation
a project/adventure
a sense of place
(family and friends go without saying)
On a typical Friday night I am
tucking my kids into bed. But I am available three other nights a week!