Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


47 Portland, OR Man


I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 35–49
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Yesterday – 8:09am
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body type
Sagittarius, but it doesn’t matter
Graduated from masters program
Has kids, but doesn’t want more
English, German (Okay), Chinese (Poorly), Danish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I grew up in Baltimore and stopped off in many other places before landing in Portland about 20 years ago. Does that make me a real Portlander? Maybe, but I still get in trouble with my east coast sarcasm. Then again, I left Baltimore when I was seventeen so I guess west is edging out east. Does this matter? Apparently one of the things "I am really good at" is rambling with a keyboard. Let's just say that I love teasing the people I really care about (east) but I know when to shut up and play nice (west).

I enjoy travel and reading. Education has always been a high priority for me but I like to strike a balance between intellectual and visceral pursuits. I am equally happy reading a good book or surfing. While I love the physical experience of a tropical beach, I also crave the cultural stimulation of an urban setting. Luckily, I have friends in Hawaii and New York! Let's not forget Portland, though - the adventure/culture mix here is like a stay-cation every day.

So I guess I am looking for someone who can really enjoy the physical inspiration of outdoor adventure and follow up with a discussion about the physics or poetry of that adventure at happy hour.

Then there's the goofy part. Ideally we can pull this off without ever taking ourselves too seriously. None of it is worthwhile without humor and fun. I am a big fan of silliness and I like hanging out with kids. Did I mention my kids?

I adore my two sons but I try not to be an annoyingly over-doting parent. I exist very comfortably on an adult-to-adult level. But the other adult should be comfortable with my status as half-time dad.

I have been divorced for several years. That's significant because the experts say that it takes a couple years for all the dust to settle. I can say I feel pretty confident that the baggage has been organized and securely stowed. Moving forward, I have simultaneous feelings of eagerness and patience. I feel optimism for the future while being comfortable in the present.

I have recently been doing more adventure/activity and it feels fantastic. I'm excited to keep that going; and a few more good conversations would hit the spot. Good fun is always better when shared. I like being really engaged with someone - through conversation, activity, or just proximity.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I studied political science, german, environmental education and architecture. Yeah, I liked being a student. After school, I worked in large architecture firms for a few years before switching to residential design.

I do spend a lot of time working but I have gotten more free time since I have been single. I spend a lot of it self reflectively. I think I have a pretty good handle on recognizing tendencies that might lead to trouble. So - at the risk of sounding new age - I'm practicing awareness.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Listening when it is time to listen
Talking when it is time to talk.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Vladimir Nabokov, Graham Greene, John Irving, Johnathan Franzen, David Foster Wallace, Jane Austen, Hermann Hesse
Woody Allen, Cohen Brothers, Paul Thomas Anderson
Blues, Funk, Paul Simon, Black Joe Lewis, Soundgarden, Frank Zappa, Soul Coughing, Rickie Lee Jones, David Bowie
Favorite Places: Portland, Copenhagen, New York, SF, London, Monterosso, any tropical beach
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
a pen
a book or notebook
a good conversation
a project/adventure
a sense of place
(family and friends go without saying)
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
tucking my kids into bed. But I am available three other nights a week!