cadillacmicheal
27 Tallahassee, FL
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
cadillacmicheal
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Light-hearted but deep thinking, I really enjoy stimulating conversation and unique views on the world. I'm a graduate student, I exercise quite often, and I am generally pretty interested in politics, prose, and bad weather.
What I’m doing with my life
I am currently pursuing a PhD at Florida State University, and I work several other jobs. Broadly, I try to better myself every day (or week, depending on my schedule) without seeming too existential or irritating.
I’m really good at
most things. I'm not great at many of them, but I'm pretty versatile and good at learning new trades and excelling quickly. I also like writing quite a bit, although sometimes I'm pretty verbose or come across as trying too hard, such as when using words like 'verbose'.
The first things people usually notice about me
My eyes and/or intensity. I'm a fairly passionate person, and it can be obvious when someone hears me talk about a topic I care about.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Usually I don't make "favorite" lists, but if forced to choose I'd say Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance makes it, as well as It's a Wonderful Life. I try not to watch television too often, but Arrested Development, The Wire (or anything on HBO), Wonder Showzen, and Mr. Show really get me excited.
The six things I could never do without
I have a hard time not exercising aerobically every day. I also would have a hard time not having access to the news (the good kind, which is usually online, in an expensive magazine or in another country). Other things include: opinions to disagree with, thunderstorms, the road atlas in my car, and comedy (in both the "complement to Greek tragedy" and "I like laughing at stuff" sense).
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Basically everything. It's a blessing and a curse. I like thinking about life and philosophy, but also about shallow things like soup recipes or ideas for clever small businesses that would almost certainly fail within a year but have entertaining business models (e.g. an upscale skateboard shop located atop a hill which sells cheap, imported products but offers a ski lift to the store, on which customers are peddled life insurance policies). Anything involving conflict and chaos really interests me; really anything is fair game, except for lobster fishing. I refuse to discuss lobster fishing or the lobster fishing industry.
On a typical Friday night I am
Working, creating new cocktails, socializing, or some combination of the three. Occasionally, I'll sleep.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've never been romantically involved with someone either 20 years older or younger than me.
You should message me if
You can handle someone who asks a lot of questions; your friends say you're bizarre but overall pretty good company; you're willing to build a canoe from scratch, even if after thinking about it for a few minutes it seems like too much work.
More