Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


31 Philadelphia, PA Man


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 25-34
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Yesterday – 5:15pm
6' 0" (1.83m)
Body Type
Not at all
Atheism and it’s important
Working on Post grad
Doesn’t have kids but wants them
English (Fluently), Spanish (Somewhat), Swedish (Somewhat)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I am equal parts nerd, athlete, and activist. That makes it hard to keep up with all my interests, but I do my best to keep learning, stay physically active, and keep rooted in a growing community of friends and family. I am an avid swing dancer, love to hike, camp, and paddle, and play games that bring out the silliness in people. Philadelphia is my home town, and after living in Seattle for 5 years I'm glad to be putting my roots down here. I moved back after the birth of my nephew, who is now four, and my family is a wonderful part of my life.

My values are deeply rooted in having close relationships with friends and family and a commitment to social justice. I want to be with someone who shares those values, who is in touch with her own sense of caring both about those who are close and about the world in general, but who can also be relaxed, playful, and build a close and loving partnership.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
After spending the last four years working as a community and labor organizer I have decided to leave the chaotic life of professional organizing for the hopefully less chaotic life of teaching high school chemistry in the Philly public schools. (This makes me the only person in the city who thinks a less chaotic life is possible teaching in Philly public schools.) I'm in a masters program and student teaching until May.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Taboo, canoeing, playing with children (and adults who are willing), and making super chocolatey delicious brownies. And I'm almost unbeatable at tetherball. Why is it not a respected sport?!
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
It's funny and a little sad to me how many people write exclusively about their appearance here. I think what stands out about me is kindness, my easy going nature, and that I'm interested in listening and getting to know people. That and my dashing good looks.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: People's History of the US, The New Jim Crow, and I completely loved the Harry Potter series!

Music: I find myself listening to a lot of independent music on XPN these days, but have fun singing along to pop music of all kinds. As a swing dancer and DJ I also listen to and love old jazz music like Sidney Bechet, Count Basie, and tons of other big band and dixieland jazz musicians.

I haven't had a tv in ages and I've missed so many movies over the years that my friends organized an intervention this summer. I was a huge Simpsons fan at one point. When I do watch tv it's usually because the Eagles are playing, but I will occasionally get into a tv series on Netflix. As for movies, a few favorites are Lars and the Real Girl, Martian Child, Garden State, and almost anything Mel Brooks or Monty Python ever did.

Foods: I love all kinds of food, especially Mexican, Italian, Thai, the bananas foster french toast I had at an amazing cafe in New Orleans. As any decent Philadelphian should, I also love a good cheesesteak, or a roast pork sandwich from D'nics at Reading Terminal.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Close friends
Time to relax and connect with people
Beautiful places in the natural world
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
How to create the most fun and transformative movement for social justice ever while still having room in my life to do lots of other awesome things.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Hanging out with friends or out swing dancing.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Captainphilly is a nickname I got from a Welsh friend of mine I met as a camp counselor, but I don't really know how it ended up on my profile and I don't think it actually suits me very well. If I could change it without having to pay, I would. Damn capitalism!
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You are kind, low stress, live an active life, and like to laugh and have fun. You care about people and the world around you, and value community. You, like me, think it's upsetting that so many women on this site refer to themselves as "girls." You think I'm an interesting person you'd like to get to know.

Also, it's probably worth saying that in the limited number of OKC dates I've been on I've found that a romantic connection doesn't often happen on a first date. I'm ok with that, and think it's pretty natural for it to take meeting more than once to go from being strangers who met on the internet to people who are genuinely interested in each other. So I don't worry much about there being a spark on a first date, and am happy if it ended with a hug and a sense that I met someone I'd like to know better. Internet dating does not seem to value patiently building a connection with a person when so many other profiles are just a click away, but I find that patience is needed for a real connection to grow.