carlystarbird
43 Brooklyn, NY
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
carlystarbird
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
music - photography/old cameras - scottish accents - old German movies and cars - Scrabble - cryptograms - bocce - bowling - beer - the ocean - swimming - traveling - drums - quoting the Chappelle show - tacos - cheese - urban planning - Twin Peaks - Godzilla movies - stop motion animation - anatomical drawings/medical science - dogs - smelling like campfire
What I’m doing with my life
Working, learning, exploring, traveling. Always trying to move forward, not stay stagnant.
I’m really good at
Talking before thinking, being a sassmaster, Centipede, procrastinating, math, turning people on to new music.
The first things people usually notice about me
I have no idea. Maybe my eyes? Either that or my sailor mouth. I've also noticed some people have a thing for freckles, of which I have many.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Food :: Tacos/Mexican and Indian are by far my favorites, but really I like almost anything. Except pickled things. I've been thinking about opening an Indian taco place - a chicken tikka tostada sounds delicious, no?

Music :: Impossible for me to answer - music is a huge part of my life and I love so much of it. I guess I could list some, but it will change on a weekly basis. I can tell you that if it's slow and heavy and/or slow and depressing, I'll love it. If you don't like the Melvins, the Jesus Lizard or the Dirty Three, we probably won't like each other.

Shows :: Twin Peaks, Wayward Pines, Burning Love, Childrens Hospital, Parks and Recreation, Boardwalk Empire, Freaks & Geeks, Bob's Burgers, The Killing, Arrested Development, Sealab 2021, Harvey Birdman, Chappelle Show, X-Files, Six Feet Under, Battlestar Galactica. Whatever is on Netflix (my queue is like 90 movies at the moment).

Movies :: Blue Velvet, City of God, Cabinet of Dr Caligari, Godzilla vs Mothra, Clash of the Titans, Planet of the Apes, Sante Sangre, Dark Days, The Reflecting Skin, Antichrist, The Big Lebowski, Airplane!, Marnie, Beetlejuice, Battle Royale, Mister Lonely....this list could go on forever. I hate movies that rely solely on CGI; I like my effects old fashioned.

Books :: I have several shelves of books with anything from cookbooks to anatomy books to photography books to reference books, with some literature thrown in there. Right now I have a list of books to read, but none in my hands except the one I found in my apartment building free pile.
The six things I could never do without
Music
Animals
Tacos
Traveling
A camera
The ocean
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Thinking or daydreaming? I daydream a lot about moving to the coast of Portugal to a little fishing village where I hang out with salty old fisherman all day and wake up next to the ocean. There is probably a castle involved too. But if we're talking actual thinking....

I also spend a lot of time thinking about what's next in my life. I don't like to feel stagnant and so I'm always contemplating what I can do next that leaves me self-fulfilled. Be it moving, a trip, a change of/change within my job or even just taking a class for something I've always been interested in. I like to keep myself on my toes.
On a typical Friday night I am
Working.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Why the hell would I admit that on here? That wouldn't be very private. Get to know me and I'll share.
More