Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

carpenocturnum

40 M Melbourne, Australia

My Details

Last Online
Feb 26
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Often
Drugs
Sometimes
Religion
Atheism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Leo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Seeing Someone
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
WARNING: I'm a geek… NOT in the classic, comic book store guy, loves star trek, does role playing games, spends most of his life in-doors, online kinda fashion. However, I like science & math, career-wise I am a software developer. I get excited about algorithms, and have a significant amount of tech at my fingertips. Having said this, you may find the rest of my profile quite surprising if you are brave enough to read on.

So apart from being a Geek, I have an almost all consuming passion (obsession) for Argentinean Tango. I have been dancing tango now for 12 years. I even spent a year in Buenos Aires learning tango from the masters. I go out social dancing 2 or 3 times a week, and even teach tango from time to time. I consider that tango is part of my connection to the spiritual.

I seem to be able to do left brain and right brain thinking reasonably well, and as such I am very interested in the social sciences, particularly anthropology. I like to write; as well as maintaining a couple of blogs, I have also written some fictional short stories. I love to discuss ideas in politics and philosophy and enjoy nothing better than having my ideas challenged and challenging others' ideas.

Swimming is by far my favourite way of keeping fit, and at times it is almost a meditation. Melbourne has gifted me with a strong addiction to coffee, and a taste for great food, not to mention spectacular wines. I also love live music, Melbourne has some awesome talent. I lived the car-free life-style for 7 years, before my frustrations with the Melbourne public transport system drove me crazy enough to buy myself a motorbike.

I approach relationships from the standpoint of polyamory. I believe that it is not only possible, but amazingly rewarding to have very committed, honest, intense and deeply meaningful relationships that are not sexually nor emotionally exclusive. I also have an understanding that relationships are a lot of work, and if I find someone I want to connect with, I am more than willing to put in the effort necessary to maintain that relationship.
What I’m doing with my life
Wasting too much time on social media sites at the moment, but being a technologist, I sort of have to keep up. Career-wise I am a software engineer working for an awesome independent software vendor writing some pretty amazing software to assist researchers and academics working with qualitative data.

Outside of my work, I am at a bit of a cross-roads trying to decide where to focus my attention and energy. I have a number of small projects that I would like to invest some serious time in ranging from starting a regular tango class, or perhaps writing a phone app, spending some more time writing fiction, or maybe even doing something dramatic with my house. I just need to get one or more of these happening seriously.
I’m really good at
Connection
Tango
Unfinished projects.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy; Cats Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut; Catch 22 by Joseph Heller; The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky; Haunted by Chuck Palahniuk; The House of Leaves by Mark Z Danielewski ... and many many more.
I also read a lot of non-fiction. At the moment I'm reading "The Secret Life of Pronouns" by social psychologist James W Pennebacker.
Movie: Inception; The Tango Lesson; Being Johm Malcovich; The Sum Of Us; The Castle; Two Hands;

Shows: I try not to watch too much tv, but I have some guilty pleasures... The Big Band Theory; Absolute Power (Favourite comedy ever); Drawn Together; Mad Men; Battlestar Galactica

Music: Tango (of course). Other than that, I have a preference for local talent, "The Tiger and Me" are playing as I write this. Others: "This is Your Captain Speaking", "All India Radio", "Milk", "Reverend Funk and the Horns of Salvaltion", "Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds". Non local: "Panther Du Prince", "Massive Attack"... meh, there is much much more, but this is what I'm listening to at the moment.

Food: All kinds.
The six things I could never do without
Negentropy
Coffee
My Laptop
High speed internet connection
Tango
Close Friends
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Life the universe and everything... Society, values, culture, sexuality,ethics, philosophy. If I had a chance to do my degree over again, I'd do Anthropology.
On a typical Friday night I am
Friday Nights are a bit random. Often I'm out for dinner with friends, otherwise I could be tangoing, or just relaxing at home because I've been out too much during the week.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have a pathological aversion to conflict… issues from childhood.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 20–60
  • Near me
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating, casual sex
You should message me if
You are an open minded, genuine person looking for a connected relationship, and is willing to put in effort to create something. I am polyamorous, and this is non-negotiable. I am also a genuine, gentle, caring, loving, accepting and forgiving person, however, I really don't have the time or energy to be messed around.